We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Sukhothai Bangkok

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Sukhothai Bangkok
Ranked #29 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
bangkok
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Very good hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

We stayed one night. The hotel was very good,one of best hotel in Bangkok.
The hotel architecture was Thai style. Bed room was great and comfort, good amenity.
Location very good and near MRT easy for traveling in Bangkok. Breakfast was great.
Many big tree on hotel entrance and they have residence condominium for sale!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chokdeebangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear chokdeebangkok,

Thank you very much for your great review on Trip Advisor.

We are glad to hear that you recommend us as one of the best hotel in Bangkok and you also enjoyed our buffet breakfast as well as the decoration of rooms and our unique amenities.
We are looking forward to welcome you back to The Sukhothai Bangkok in the future.

Best Regards,
Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,702
    416
    95
    48
    26
See reviews for
287
987
237
363
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

We spent one night at The Sukhothai on our way from Europe to Bali and had a good stay. Being a Leaders Club member, we got upgraded to executive suites which are stunningly big, in particular the bathrooms. They must have been state of the art when they were created, but could do with a careful facelift by now.

We had dinner at Celadon, still one of my favourite Thai restaurants in Bangkok, with perfect service and good food - and a really nice setting, specially when sitting outside.

I had an excellent massage and slept well. We had early breakfast at 6.30am and then headed to the airport in a hotel limousine. Breakfast has a great choice and the quality is good, but I've had better in Bangkok.

All in all, I think the hotel offers good value for your money.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ralf H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear RalfH,

Thank you very much for your excellent review on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our luxurious and specious Executive Suite. We also happy to learn that you have tried our spa treatment and you were relaxed after an excellent massage and also had an amazing culinary experience at our award-winning restaurant Celadon.

We would like to welcome you back to The Sukhothai Bangkok soon.

Best Regards,
Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

Stayed 3 nights there and it always felt like coming home into an oasis after a hectic day in loud and overcrowded Bangkok. Park like ambiente and small buildings dont make you feel like staying in the center of a 18 million metropole. Breakfast ist great, but not as good as in Lebua. The pool is really nice too!

The one thing that felt really really strange though was the kind of guests hanging arround in the pool area the whole day. Mostly elderly european guys with young thai boys which they exchanged from day to day. It was an amusing sight, but with so many of them hanging arround in the hotel, it kinda gave me the impression of a dating hotel for old rich guys looking for young toy boys...

I am totally fine with everyones preferences, but they should at least keep it by themselves and not show off like that and express it in public like that. I wonder, that the staff there did not intervent at times...

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TimMunich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Dear TimMunich,

Thank you very much for your review on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to learn that you had a pleasant 3 nights stay with us at The Sukhothai, an oasis in the heart of Bangkok. We are also pleased to hear that you found time to relax at our 25-metre outdoor swimming pool.

At time of your visit the pool may have been busy accommodating our other guests and their friends. Apologies if this has caused you discomfort.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Sukhothai Bangkok again very soon.

Best Regards,
Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

Make sure to get breakfast included with your room and enjoy! We traveled through many countries in Asia and this hotel breakfast was the best. Not the most variety and not the biggest , but it had quality where it counted. Having a french pastry chef pays off BIG in their world class croissants and other baked goods done onsite. They also have a high-end chocolate buffet which I hear many Japanese visitors go there for. We didn't try it, but it looked amazing. Our hotel room was very good. Only knock was it smelled a bit moldy. The spa onsite was also very good. Overall customer service was excellent all around. The grounds are a quiet oasis in a bustling city.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aridon99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Aridon99,

Thank you very much for your splendid review on Trip Advisor.

We are glad to learn that you enjoyed an array of our tasty international buffet breakfast which we are serving only the best qualities of food at Colonnade. You were also pleased by our luxurious rooms and indulgent spa treatment at Spa Botanica.

We are looking forward to your returning to The Sukhothai Bangkok in not too far future.

Best Regards,
Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

I can't say enough good things about the hotel:

- beautiful rooms (very well appointed)
- well organized (ever interaction was smooth, efficient and courteous)
- beautiful grounds!!
- superior breakfast (I'm getting hungry thinking about it)
- did I say the room was beautiful! It was!! Very modern amenities, and one of the most comfortable beds I've ever slept in!

It may not be right in the heart of downtown, but I recommend it highly!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanya H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Tanya H,

Thank you very much for your magnificent review on Trip Advisor.

It is our pleasure to serve you the best Thai hospitalities at The Sukhothai Bangkok. You were satisfied by our well-appointed rooms, unique service of our staff, our shady gardens, our delicious international buffet breakfast at Colonnade and undoubtedly, our amenities and the most comfortable bed in town.

We look forward to welcome you back to The Sukhothai Bangkok soon.

Best Regards,
Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is the epitome of luxury. As soon as you arrive you are greeted by their friendly and accommodating staff. You are treated like royalty from the moment you arrive to the time you depart. Once in your room your luxury experience continues - fruit & chocolate await you on the table, beds are exquisite & very comfortable and the bathroom is immaculate. I would definitely stay there again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lashana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Lashana,

Thank you very much for your superb review on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to learn that you were pleased with the flawless service of our staff and in-room amenities and our comfortable bed and spacious bathroom were impressed you very much.

We wish to your return to The Sukhothai Bangkok in the future.

Best Regards,
Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

An elegant but still casual hotel. We loved it. The pool was amazing, the best we have been to so far. The room overlooking the pool was great, a life of luxury. Food is on the expensive side thoug but highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shane_Amsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Shane_Amsterdam,

Thank you very much for your review on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to hear that you had an amazing experience while staying with us at The Sukhothai Bangkok. You also enjoyed relaxing by the luxurious pool and tasting our delectable food at our award-winning restaurants.

We are looking forward to your return to The Sukhothai Bangkok soon.

Best Regards,
Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
COMO Metropolitan Bangkok
Silom
SO Sofitel Bangkok
SO Sofitel Bangkok
#17 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,820 reviews
Pathumwan
Anantara Siam Bangkok Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#26 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,930 reviews
The St. Regis Bangkok
#14 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sukhothai Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sukhothai Bangkok

Property: The Sukhothai Bangkok
Address: 13 / 3 South Sathorn Road | Thungmahamek, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Sathorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#20 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#21 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#27 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sukhothai Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
COLONNADE, all-day dining restaurant features live cooking stations, Carving Trolley and a wide selection of Western and Asian favorites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TravelClick and Hotels.com so you can book your The Sukhothai Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sukhothai Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Sukhothai Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Sukhothai Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing