We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Candid opinion”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Sukhothai Bangkok
Ranked #33 of 863 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“Candid opinion”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

On check out from this hotel a note is put in your bill folder requesting the guest might write a review on tripadvisor. I have stayed in every room category in the sukhothai over a 10 year period on more than 10 occasions. This was probably one of the most disappointing .

The check in procedure left much to be desired. I was met at the entrance to the deluxe studio section ( not the main lobby) and brought straight to the room. Nothing was explained. Ap art from that here are my observations on the experience.

The rooms poolside (at least the one I occupied) showed its age. The shower is dated and not user friendly. In all past visits ( I mean all) a nice feature of the turn down service was some nice chocolates were left each night. This has ceased. Something a customer took in the past as standard now gone.

A lot of the charm and friendliness once experienced seemed perfunctory tasks. I had room service on 2 occasions once dinner in the evening which was good. Sadly the breakfast I had on the last day was worse than shocking. Presentation taste etc was awful and it was cold. I didn't make an issue although I mentioned it. In most hotels in the luxury category it would have been removed from the bill no questions.

I trust that the studio rooms will receive a makeover in line with the excellent job done on the superior rooms. I hope so. The manager with regard to F/B seriously needs to look at quality control with regard to room service. Bring back the chocolates it was a nice touch. Bangkok has many choices in this price bracket. Thanks to paul for his can do approach

Room Tip: Superior rooms more enhanced and less expensive than the poolside ones
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Paul026,

We acknowledged your posting on Trip Advisor and rest assured that your feedback is being addressed by the team.

We will contact you directly as it relates to your experience at The Sukhothai and hope that we will have an opportunity to restore your confidence in our hotel.

Best Regards,

Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,792
    437
    98
    50
    30
See reviews for
304
1,021
255
386
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
1 review
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Excellent welcome & reception, very comfortable beds (there is even a pilow menu), fantastic breakfast and Thai cuisine.
I did find one nasty looking creature in my shower (cockroach ?) but apart from that, the hotel is very clean and the service impeccable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Chantal D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all let us apologize for the creature you have found in your room. We are terribly sorry and we will ensure that this situation will not occur in the future.

We are very relieved to see that despite this fact you have enjoyed and liked our facilities.

Thank you very much for reviewing The Sukhothai Bangkok on Trip Advisor.

We are looking forward on accommodating you again soon.

Best Regards,
Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviewed July 19, 2013

The Sukhothai is like an oasis in the middle of the city. As you pass through the grand entrance, you are greeted by staff members who are calling you by name. You really feel like your comfort is their only concern. The rooms are gorgeous with lots of amenities including a "pillow menu", bath salts, chocolates and fruit changed daily...and the list goes on. I can't say enough wonderful things about this beautiful hotel! Make sure you plan the "chocolate buffet" and a trip to the reasonably priced spa...excellent! I went to 5 countries in S.East Asia over this vacation, and this was by far the best hotel experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Carol Winn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Firstly let us thank you for writing this review.

We are really glad that you enjoyed the facilities and amenities of The Sukhothai Bangkok. Let us also say that our customers’ comfort is indeed our only concern.

It would be a pleasure for us to accommodate you again soon.

Best Regards,
Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed at the Sukhothai on the first day of our honeymoon. We arrived after an 11 hour flight from London and were both fried. The staff were great from the beginning, ensuring our check in was fast and painless. We were asked if we would like to upgrade to a suite for 1000bht, which we agreed to.

After the check in clerk showed us to the suite we realised we had made the right choice. A vast suite with a huge separate bathroom with deep bath and large walk in shower. There were also two separate toilets which was nice.

Being famished from our flight we ordered room service, which was well priced, delivered promptly and tasted good.

To get us over the flight we then went for a couples massage in the Spa which was well worth the price too. It really got us over the flight and woke us up a bit to boot.

The room included breakfast which was a buffet affair with plenty on offer for all tastes. The breakfast room was large, airy, well lit and decorated. You really felt you were in Thailand, albeit a luxurious one.

The hotel itself is quite large and in the middle of Bangkok. Somehow, though, it manages to have a very calm, placid and quiet environment. Very relaxing.

As I said, we only stayed one night, but I'm glad it was at the Sukhothai.

Room Tip: Pay the 1000bht to upgrade to a suite. Well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YannLePentrec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for writing this review at Trip Advisor.

We are really glad to see that our rooms and facilities made you and your couple rest and relax from your long flight.

Furthermore, we are happy to see that you enjoyed our famous Breakfast buffet at Colonnade.

Thank you for choosing The Sukhothai Bangkok.

We are looking forward on accommodating you again soon.

Best Regards,
Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Every aspect of our stay far exceeded our expectations from check-in all the way to delivering our luggage to the check-in counter @ the airport. As soon as we arrived, we were greeted by smiles and addressed by our names (how they knew who we were still baffles me) then taken on a tour before taking us up to our room where we were given another tour of the room and how everything worked ie. light switches, how to operate coffee machine, cupboard for stemware, whom to call for what and how, etc. before checking us in (in the room). Before the staff member left, we asked about Celadon (best Thai food rest in Bangkok) and she quickly asked when we wanted to have dinner and took care of making the reservations. After she left, we noticed that there were fresh chocolate truffles and a basket full of exotic fruit for us which, throughout our stay (4 nights), was refreshed every day. After unpacking, we headed down to the bar for a pre-dinner drink and ordered our typical grey goose martini's (straight up, really shaken, with a twist) and that's exactly what we got (The bartenders at the rooftop bar at Lebua have a little learning to do). After our drinks, we headed to the restaurant and it was AMAZING! We had the fixed course and their wine list was extensive, wines from all over the world. After an amazing meal, we decided to have an after dinner drink and went back to the bar. The bar was perfect since it was never crowded, great music, comfortable furniture, and the staff always attentive. Getting up the next morning was difficult since the bed was amazingly comfy and the down pillows were perfect (not too soft w/the perfect amount of fill and no, we weren't hungover). We went downstairs for breakfast and was pleasantly surprised with the variety and quality of food. Options to suit many differing tastes from typical American bacon & eggs to European breads, jams, a variety of cheeses, dim sum, curries, miso soup, noodles, fresh fruit, juices, coffees, espressos, an omelet stand, etc. went back to the room to get ready for the day and as we were making our way to the lobby to meet our guide, we were first greeted by staff to let us know our guide was already in the lobby waiting for us (again, how did they know since we arranged for our guide privately and not through the concierge). The next day was my birthday (not one to make a big fuss over it) and carried on with our day as usual. When we got back, we asked the concierge to make reservations at Lebua for dinner, but the earliest was @ 10pm (that wasn't going to work since we've spent half the day in a car to go ride elephants). He quickly recommended Breeze, which is a few floors below (57th floor, i think) and took care of reservations and also arranged car service. When we got to the room, there was a handwritten card and a birthday cake complete with a candle and matches! I don't remember ever giving them my birthday, but must have took note when I handed them my passport at check-in. We got ready and came back down and again greeted by name and escorted to a waiting car. After dinner, the car was waiting and took us back. The next day, staff members addressed us by name and wanted to know whether or not we enjoyed our dinner @ Lebua?! Just a quick reminder, the morning staff and evening staff are different. It's almost as if a staff meeting goes on before every shift to go over which guests are doing what. We enjoyed another 2 days of fantastic service and was not looking forward to leaving. On the day of departure, we reserved car service to the airport and did not lay a finger on our luggage from the moment we closed them to the moment it was on the baggage carousel @ the airport. Staff loaded the car, was driven to the airport where we were greeted by a hotel staff member that then wheeled our luggage to the airport check-in counter. All-in-all, we enjoyed the experience so much that we are looking forward to coming back in a few months.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajalmazan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Firstly, thank you very much for providing your time in writing this impressive review for The Sukhothai Bangkok.

It is really a great pleasure to know that our team work in every section of the hotel is so appealing to our customers and we are really pleased that you have enjoyed every single moment of your staying at The Sukhothai Bangkok and that all of our attention to detail made you feel like home.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in a few months.

Best Regards,
Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
2 reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2013

One of my favorite hoteals in Bangkok. Not too close to the central areas but close enough. The italian restaurant is simply amazing and overall experience at the hotel was at a very high standard. Had a pool facing room and used the gym regulalry. Staff is very attentive and anything I needed I got it quick

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Vinay K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review of your great experience at The Sukhothai Bangkok.

We are very delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your staying with us and that our facilities and staff made you feel so impressed.

We are looking forward on acommodating you again soon.

Best Regards,
Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
855 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 444 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Had lunch by the pool at the Sukhothai Hotel on Saturday and I can't begin to say what a disaster it was. If I wasn't there as someones guest I would have just walked away.
The waiters spent the time standing inside ignoring people outside and our table looked straight on to one of the messiest service areas I have seen in a hotel.
My bowl of soup noodle arrived luke warm and had been sitting for so long that the noodles had soaked up all the soup and just become mush and thus no soup. And the price was skyhigh. Of the 4 people at out table 3 dishes were left uneaten and no question was asked by the wait staff.
When the wait staff were asked what was the selection of ice cream and sorbets on the menu the answer, after along pause was, Vanilla.!!! and that's it.
I don't know what was such a good place to have lunch by the pool has allowed to become so bad. Obviously the head waiter and restaurant manager doesn't care.
This is ana avoid at all cost venue.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pemblin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#28 of 863 in Bangkok
6,218 reviews
Silom
SO Sofitel Bangkok
SO Sofitel Bangkok
#14 of 863 in Bangkok
4,074 reviews
Sathorn
COMO Metropolitan Bangkok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
The Peninsula Bangkok
#7 of 863 in Bangkok
4,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sukhothai Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sukhothai Bangkok

Property: The Sukhothai Bangkok
Address: 13 / 3 South Sathorn Road | Thungmahamek, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Sathorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#20 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#21 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#31 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sukhothai Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
COLONNADE, all-day dining restaurant features live cooking stations, Carving Trolley and a wide selection of Western and Asian favorites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TravelClick, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Sukhothai Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sukhothai Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Sukhothai Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Sukhothai Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing