We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A paradise in an active city such as Bangkok” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sukhothai Bangkok

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Sukhothai Bangkok
Ranked #34 of 823 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Sta Rosa, Laguna
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A paradise in an active city such as Bangkok”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

I had a such a wonderful and stress-free stay in Sukothai. Excellent customer service; quick check-in; check out activities; staff were accomodating; well-maintained room. Great food selections specially during breakfast. I also had afternoon tea in its pastry shop & likewise, a perfect experience. It was all worth it!

Room Tip: Try their specialty restaurants too, during dinner. Great food selections.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aleli v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience while staying at The Sukhothai Bangkok recently. We are truly delighted to learn that you enjoy our service found that our staff were accommodating. Hope to see you again in the near future.

Best Regards,
Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,056 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,536
    369
    81
    45
    25
See reviews for
253
895
218
323
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

The Sukhothai is a serene, beautifully appointed hotel that offers a wonderful escape from the grime, noise, heat and congestion that is Bangkok. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Rooms are quiet, spacious, with very comfortable beds and luxurious bathrooms. Every day a fresh plate of fruit was waiting for us when we returned to our room. and every evening our beds were turned down in preparation for the night. But the highlight of our stay was the scrumptious buffet breakfast served daily in their beautiful, elegant dining room. The dim sum was delectable and the won ton soup made to order with homemade noodles and other fresh ingredients was incredibly delicious. The American fare such as made to order omelettes, pancakes and waffles were also among the best we've ever tasted. Highly recommended if you are staying in Bangkok!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luv2travl49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your optimistic review on Trip Advisor. We are thrilled to learn that your recent stay at The Sukhothai Bangkok was a pleasant one. We are very much appreciated your compliments on our room, turn down amenities and service from our staff. Last but not least, it’s lovely to hear that our various selections of breakfast buffet line have reached your satisfaction.

Hope we will have a chance to welcome you back again in the near future.

Best Regards,
Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

The Sukhothai is five-star luxury all the way. You'll know what to expect--immaculate and well-designed rooms (and our room was the smallest type and overlooking the courtyard, but was still plenty large), excellent breakfast buffet, welcoming staff, all at prices that are high for SE Asia but much lower than high-end properties in the west. You'll even get slippers and some extra towel fluffing at turn-down! The pool is particularly nice with a full-service menu, and like all the hotel's restaurants, the food and drinks were outstanding. It's worth mentioning that in this reviewer's opinion the location problems noted in other reviews is overstated. Yes, the hotel is on a major street but there's a crosswalk nearby (follow local residents when they cross), and after a short walk on the other side of the street you get to a street that takes you to a skytrain station, and from there it's easy to get to much of Bangkok. If you need to take a cab, it was a short drive to the skytrain. We stayed here at the end of our SE Asia trip because we wanted to be looked after in luxury after two long weeks in Thailand and Cambodia, and we weren't disappointed.

Room Tip: If you get a courtyard view room you might have an event in the courtyard at night, but the room has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank D_Puppet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the management, thank you for taking your time writing this wonderful review. It’s a pleasure to learn that we can make your SE Asia trip end up smoothly and turn into a memorable experience. We are appreciated your compliments on our spacious room, buffet breakfast, location and most importantly our staff. Hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards,
Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level Contributor
255 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Never been in Bangkok nor in Thailand before, but my staying at The Sukhothai was the best choice !
I was on business trip and stayed for 4 nights there with a thought that it would be just a regular stay in a 5 stars hotel.
What I experienced was beyond that thought!
All the staffs were friendly, and soon they remembered my favourite drink and meal during breakfasts and asked whether I would like them to get some more meal or drink for me!
The breakfast menu was delicious, I love the green noodle and fresh carrot+guava juice so much!
Everynights after long working day I found complimentary dark chocolates and a plate of fresh fruit ! And they put the slippers beside the bed!
Communication with the taxi driver is not a problem as all the staffs were willingly giving direction to taxi driver about my destination. The room boy, Bas, was making my stay was more colorful. Kob kun kaaa....

The hotel is located in business district, was peaceful because quite far from shopping malls. But if you want to go outside there is Q building in the corner of Lumpini and Sathorn Road where you could buy some stuffs like drinks, meals, books, etc.
You need to go by taxi if you want to go to shopping areas which few blocks away and might take you 15 minutes drive in Bangkok's traffic jam.

Surely with the room rate I paid, it was the best value of money I spent for accomodation!

Room Tip: I got room #434 with the view directly to the inner garden. There's a coffee machine in the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aang174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the management, thank you very much for sharing this wonderful review on Trip Advisor. We are grateful to learn that your stay at The Sukhothai Bangkok has been a pleasant one. We truly appreciated your compliments on our service and also on our breakfast at the Colonnade restaurant which will be shared to our team accordingly. We hope to welcome you back in this near future for your own leisure trip.

Best Regards,
Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
205 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Definitely a must-see and a go-to destination in Bangkok. Great service, beautiful rooms, awesome breakfast (best in BKK) and just a get-away from the chaos of Bangkok. Yet a stone throw from the action. A little Baby-Babylon for the ones in the know. A definite if you are in Bangkok.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FRParadise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor. We are so glad to learn that you have had an enjoyable stay with us at The Sukhothai Bangkok and the hotel facilities and services can make to your liking. We hope we will be able to welcome you back again next time.

Best Regards,
Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Hands down, the best hotel I have ever stayed in. Absolutely stunning rooms! You MUST upgrade to at least an executive suite. It is HUGE! There is lovely silk everywhere, the grounds are breathtaking, and the service is second to none. You get a bowl of fresh fruit everyday, yummy truffles, and the beds are extremely comfortable. While its location isn't the best (a bit out of the way) it is close to transportation, and taxis and cars are at the ready. Absolutely fabulous. I would choose it over the Four Seasons.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emery M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor. We are glad to hear that you love our decorations, scenery, in-room amenities and especially our comfortable bed. We look forward to the chance having you stay with us once again in the near future.

Best Regards,
Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

It was very quiet in this hotel. Hardly anyone at their restaurants, pools or lobby. I think most people go elsewhere for food and drinks. I paid AUD$240 per night. Rooms are what a 5 star hotel should be. Pool is nice and the staff were very friendly. Concierge were helpful. Front reception were not as friendly. They did not know many places I asked to go to although these places are in the top attractions in Bangkok. Most only had limited English which also made it a bit difficult.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to hear your wonderful comments regarding our rooms, pool and service from our concierge team. However, we have taken well note on your comments regarding our front office staff and will make sure we will pass this on to our management team for further improvement. We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause you. We look forward to the chance having you stay with us once again in the near future.

Best Regards,
Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
Metropolitan by COMO, Bangkok
Silom
SO Sofitel Bangkok
SO Sofitel Bangkok
#19 of 823 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 stars 3,150 reviews
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#22 of 823 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 stars 4,988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Peninsula Bangkok
#10 of 823 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 stars 3,545 reviews
Silom
Le Meridien Bangkok
Le Meridien Bangkok
#13 of 823 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 stars 2,933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sukhothai Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sukhothai Bangkok

Property: The Sukhothai Bangkok
Address: 13 / 3 South Sathorn Road | Thungmahamek, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Sathorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#20 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#21 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#31 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sukhothai Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
COLONNADE, all-day dining restaurant features live cooking stations, Carving Trolley and a wide selection of Western and Asian favorites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your The Sukhothai Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sukhothai Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Sukhothai Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Sukhothai Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing