We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Sukhothai Bangkok
Nearby Hotels
$220
$135
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$230
$166
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$129
$71
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$131
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$608
$442
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$132
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$70
$59
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dream Bangkok(Bangkok)
$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$263
$200
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$203
$156
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,696)
Filter reviews
2,696 results
Traveler rating
2,018
476
112
56
34
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,018
476
112
56
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschocolate buffetthai restaurantzuk barbeautiful hoteldeluxe suitesathorn roadhealth clubbusy citycoffee machinethe banyan treebusiness districtluxury hotelpool sidef bfour seasonsour honeymoonceladon
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,383 - 1,388 of 2,696 reviews
Reviewed November 13, 2012

yeah, we can call The Sukothai Bangkok is truly 05 star Hotel, room is good size but in old style. However, still well maintain. Carpet on pathway walk to the room is quite old and need to change.

But the best of the best of this hotel is service. They treat everyone as very valued guest. All come with smile and willing to help in any request.

Location is a bit inconvenience. not close to BTS or MRT, the nearest MRT is Lumphini where take around 15-20 minutes to walk. I would recommend hotel to provide complimentary shuttle .

At the end if compare with the price, I am pleased to mark as 5 Star Price, but 4 star valued of Money

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nattawut K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We are very pleased to learn of your impressions on our service. We are also value all your comments and recommendations. We hope to welcome back you again at The Sukhothai Bangkok in this near future.

Best Regards,
Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

As a five star hotel shoud be
A pitty that there where not many guests (low season)
It is a nice modern style hotel with all the amenities you need.

The food is ecxelent with many international food ch

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guapa1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review on Trip Advisor. We and the team are glad that we have delivered your entire stay an impressive one. We look forward to see you again in the near future.

Best Regards,
Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

I last stayed in The Sukhothai in March 2010, at which time I gave it a 5-star rating. I have just been in Bangkok again, after disembarking there from a 3-week cruise on a 6-star ship, and decided to stay again at The Sukhothai; I'm happy to say that it retains all the qualities that made such a positive impression on me the first time I stayed, and making even a 6-star cruise ship seem wanting.

Bangkok is a huge city with diabolical traffic, and one of the nicest aspects of this hotel is the oasis of serenity it represents in the midst of the Bangkok turmoil. This is a result of the gardens and water-features, as well as the open-form architecture. Unlike almost all the other 5-star Bangkok hotels, it actually feels Thai, rather than like a very posh office block. The rooms are elegant, tasteful and spacious, with great bathrooms. Breakfast and lunch in the Colonnade restaurant are a wonderful buffet, and dinner at Celadon, The Sukhothai's celebrated Thai restaurant is superb: the menu is one of those where one is tempted simply to say to the waiter, "one of everything, please". Best of all, the service remains impeccable and truly personal: the F&B Manager saw me walk in one afternoon with a few bananas that I had bought on the street, and gently admonished me because the hotel "has bananas"; the next morning at breakfast she presented me with a small bunch of the tiny, Thai "finger" bananas to take to my room, an entirely unnecessary but typically thoughtful gesture characteristic of all the staff there. Returning to the "real" world after a few days here is a painful experience.

The Sukhothai isn't as glitzy as the Shangri-la, as grand as the Four Seasons, or as opulent as the Oriental, but for me it remains not only by far the best hotel in Bangkok, but it is a strong contender for my favourite hotel worldwide.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank felipeordonez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

Dear Guest,

On behalf of the management team at The Sukhothai Bangkok, we truly appreciated for your feedback on your recent stay with us and sharing this on Trip Advisor. We are really delighted to learn that our hotel serviced and facilities met your expectation and left with you a memorable experience.

Hope we will have a chance to welcome you back again in the not too far future.

Best Regards,
Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

we have stayed many times at this property and it is always a nice feeling to come back.
Green ,lush garden,with lots of small pools and ponds,some with white swans and some with water lillies.Or Buddas..
DESIGN is a key word here,Design elements thrughout the hotel makes you really relax and enjoy.
Great service and one of Asias best breakfast buffets.
The suites and rooms are very comfortable and the bathrooms STUNNING
The pool team,led by mr BIG is also GREAT
The SPA has some very good treatments as well
I can go back anytime...

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tomm F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. Your compliment on our decoration, atmosphere and food are very much appreciated. We have acknowledged your kind words regarding our staff and we’ll definitely share them accordingly.

Hope we will have a chance to welcome you again in the near future.

Best Regards,
Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

excelent room, excellent service, superb breakfast buffet and pool service
very good location , easy acces to everything.greatreception, great check out with complimentary late check out as we had an intercont flight leaving late at night
I can allways recomend.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank babysu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to learn that you have had a pleasant time while staying with us and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Best Regards,
Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews