We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“incredible, luxurious. We will most definitely stay again.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Peninsula Bangkok

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Peninsula Bangkok
Ranked #8 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“incredible, luxurious. We will most definitely stay again.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2010

We stayed at the Peninsula Bangkok for a brief 3 nights on our first trip to Bangkok this past September. Our expectations were exceeded regularly. Despite our international flight arriving over an hour early (5:30 AM) our previously arranged driver was at Suvarnabhumi Airport to greet us and whisk us by comfortable luxury sedan to the stunningly beautiful Peninsula.
Upon arriving at the hotel, we were greeted by a guest service representative and shown to our beautiful room on the 19th floor. There was a fruit and pastry basket waiting for us with a note welcoming our early arrival. Our room itself had a sweeping view of the Chao Praya river and was spacious, elegant, and well appointed. The location of the hotel was great--a short 2 minute ferry ride by the hotel shuttle boat takes you across the river to the Sky Train station, making the entire city instantly accessible. Cabs are cheap and plentiful and easy to direct back to the hotel.
Even though the Peninsula Bangkok comes with a price tag you'd expect from a five star luxury resort, we found it a great value. We took advantage of a promotion offering a complimentary night's stay, making our visit more affordable. Additionally, we were given several gift certificates to use for the hotel restaurants and spa during our visit.
The Peninsula Bangkok has frequently been voted one of the best hotels in the world, and it's easy to see why. The wonderful guest service, beautiful property, and luxurious amenities make it a peaceful haven in the vibrant city of Bangkok. We'll definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GroveP2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,333
    589
    140
    38
    34
See reviews for
751
1,910
223
389
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (760)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Walnut Creek, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2010

My wife and I were married in Thailand last year, and a friend gave us a night at the Peninsula as a gift. It only took one night at the Peninsula and we were both hooked. As a result, when we visited Thailand again this year we made it a point to return. The fantastic reputation of this hotel is well deserved. From the minute you arrive until the minute you leave, you will be impressed with the unbeatable service you receive. Everything they do they do extremely well. Don't forget to enjoy the amazing buffet breakfast every morning too. The hardest thing about staying at the Bangkok Peninsula is leaving! For me, a visit to Bangkok will never be complete without some time being spoiled at the Peninsula.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greg1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2010

You can't go wrong with a branded 5-star hotel. It's Penisula! It is so far a memorable experience to us in this year, and we definitely wanna come back for a weekend. The room is luxury and spacious with stunning river view. The housekeeping is well done by their detailed staff. Yes, this hotel is always over-booked. They asked us if we want to pay a special price for an upgrade to the Balcony Room at the check-in. Yes, it is very busy at breakfast that you might have to wait for a table. However, it is a highlight of your stay that you don't want to miss. Overall, it was a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyHitomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2010

You just might be looking at the best hotel in Bangkok.
5 star all the way.
If you wanna live the suite life,start there.
I Want to thank them for an excellent stay

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Motorizer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2010

Stayed at the Peninsua for 3 nights in September 2010, upgraded to a Grand Deluxe Room overlooking the river and in particular, the Peninsula shuttle boat deck which at night is a pure treat.
Service, decor, food, wine and all things colonial is what you can expect at this hotel. It's a 5 star resort in a large city. Access to Bangkok city itself is by free river boat from the hotel to the other side of the river, where taxi or tuk-tuk can be found to take you into town. You can also get the free boat to the rail station and take the sky train to the shopping malls (5 stops 30 baht one way).
What you will find at this hotel, is what you won't find at other 5 star venues, CLASS.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank john_richards22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2010

The breakfast is wonderful, the staff is nice and friendly, the bed is so comfortable, the swimming pool is relaxing, the Thai food ... yummy yummy. Can't imagin where else can get the same service for 3D2N package from HK with <US$400 inc tax.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank helen_mama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2010

We stayed at the Peninsula with my wife and some friends for few nights during last summer. After staying in number of different five star hotels in Bangkok our expectations for Peninsula were high. Our stay was full of small problems in a way that you would definitely expect in a five star hotel.

When we arrived to the hotel around 4pm we were told our rooms were not ready. We had informed the hotel that we would arrive at that time and still we had to wait for over 30 minutes without any refreshments and barely got an apology for this. After the wait hotel lost our friends luggage between the lobby and their room and it took them two hours to locate it after numerous calls. We faced a number of similar small issues and for example had to wait for about 25 minutes to be seated for a buffet breakfast which was a first in any good hotel. The hotel might have been full even in the middle of low season, but they obviously don't have the capacity to handle full house.

Lack of attention to detail was evident in many more details, like not having more than two small bottles of water in each room and having room AC that was blowing cold air directly to your face when you were sleeping.

On the upside the pool was great, food in all restaurants excellent, location is pretty convenient with connecting river boats and rooms very nice. It was not a really bad experience, we were just expecting much more attention to detail when the hotel is twice as expensive as it's five star competitors in the city.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#18 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,792 reviews
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dusit
The Siam
The Siam
#1 of 849 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peninsula Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Bangkok

Property: The Peninsula Bangkok
Address: 333 Charoennakorn Road | Khlongsan, Bangkok 10600, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#4 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#5 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#8 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 370
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Developed as one of the finest hotel properties in Bangkok, its riverside location inspired the wave- shaped design, capitalising on the uninterrupted panoramic views from every room and adding a distinctive architectural statement to the Bangkok skyline. The Peninsula Bangkok offers commanding city views, luxurious comfort, sophisticated facilities, extraordinary dining options and the legendary Peninsula service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Peninsula Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Peninsula Bangkok
Peninsula Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing