We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel to provide a great combination of a relaxing getaway but with easy access to the city when you want it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Peninsula Bangkok
Ranked #10 of 891 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 19, 2010

We wanted to have a short getaway to a relaxing warm location with a bit of luxury and the chance to experience the Bangkok citylife when we had the energy to do so. The Peninsular delivered exactly what we wanted. Our room with a balcony was lovely - it was a good size, very comfortable and provided everything we needed plus some more. Having a bath watching live English football on the television set into the wall above the bath was one version of heaven.
The hotel staff were all very friendly and helpful. The restaurants were all very good offering excellent quality food, served in a very friendly and efficient manner.
The pool area is very attractive and it was easy to spend two days around the pool just relaxing.
The Spa was also very good - with free access to sauna, steam room and hot and cold plunge pools. I thoroughly enjoyed my first Thai massage and can recommend that experience to anyone - I felt great afterwards. My only slight criticism was that the quoted prices for the Spa excluded the compulsory 10% service charge but after it had been added to the bill I was asked to sign, it was also made quite plain that a gratuity was expected as well. The service was excellent but I feel you should either accept that you will pay a set service charge or you should be left to determine what gratuity you wish to pay - to have both seems unreasonable.
The location was perfect - on the right (quiet) side of the river with extremely easy access to the city via the hotel water transport which was frequent and great fun to use.
Even though we were there at the same time as the red short demonstrations the hotel was an oasis of calm and we never felt anything but completely safe and well looked after.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kmkEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,618)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,653 - 2,659 of 4,618 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2010

We stayed in the Peninsula hotel for 3 days in Feb. Oasis in busy Bangkok, definitely the best hotel for its facilities, services and location. We had a grand deluxe room, which has a large bathroom and a door separating bedroom from the entrance. Love the boat going cross the river and everything at the hotel. The dinner buffet at the Riverside restaurant is fantastic, so much food and so well presented (see photos attached). Swimming at night is absolutely beautiful and romantic. I also tried the Peninsula Spa, the atmosphere and environment is first class, the treatment I still prefer my therapists at home. We will stay again in our next trip to Thailand.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank You_Ke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2010

I've stayed at the Peninsula Bangkok a lot of times by, so I just wanted to share with fellow travelers my views about this hotel. Quite simply put, the Pen is in my humble opinion the best hotel in the world.

Yes, as others have pointed out, the hotel won't blow you away immediately. The hotel is somewhat older, and if you're accustomed to all the bling you typically see in the newer Four Seasons, Mandarins and Banyan Trees in other parts of the world (probably not in BK because they're even older than the Pen), you may be disappointed initially. But a great hotel is much more than fancy design -- it's about comfort and service. And that's where the Pen is unsurpassed. The service is absolutely perfect, yet personal (eg., the concierge could even help me buy contact lenses while we're out shopping). The room, while not the biggest or the fanciest, is extremely comfortable. All the light switches, electronics, etc. are completely intuitive and right by the beside -- no fiddling around to turn off all the lights before you go to bed at night (surprisingly, I've been to many hotels that are far more expensive and fancy with these bedside controls don't actually control all the lights for some reason). The entire property is absolutely spotless -- not a scratch or a stain could be found on the carpet or any furniture (they never give you wrinkled magazines in the room, which is a pet peeve of mine) -- and the view from every room is gorgeous. True - there is no bling in this hotel. But the entire property oozes understated elegance.

Most recently, I stayed here with my wife as the last leg of our honeymoon. Even though we just stayed at much newer and fancier resorts that are 3 or 4 times the price of the Pen, I still felt that the Pen was the best. Not to mention, upon learning that we're on our honeymoon, the hotel (even though it was nearly fully booked during the CNY peak period) immediately gave us a room upgrade, and when entered the room, there was a bottle of champagne, fresh orange juice, a box of chocolate and some desert waiting for us. Service just doesn't get much better than that.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TenchiNini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2010

Was there on honeymoon. We normally stay in 4-5 star hotels in the US (where we live) 8-10 times a year. The quality of service and rooms are the best we have ever seen! We stayed in the grand deluxe 1bedroom suite with a price of about 22,000 baht (about 800-900 USD) a night. Lots of free stuff on check in inc discounts to hotel services. The am breakfast was of high quality (on par with a 5star hotel in the country). They have a river boat service which was very useful. Only issue with the hotel was that the bar drinks were a bit weak by US standards, the cost on par with a 5star hotel in the US.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank orangeSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2010

The Peninsula Bangkok is really hard for me to review. It was an amazing hotel. The staff got us into our room even though we arrived at 9am. Everyone was very helpful. The hotel itself is kept up and super clean. The rooms were typical Peninsula, very classic. Not the most modern room (no flat panel TV, the phone looked right out of the early 90's), but because its a classic luxury hotel, that was fine. The pool area was very nice. The boats that take you across the river are great fun, we actually enjoyed staying on the other side of the river. And the breakfast was awesome, although pricey for Thailand. But I just can't give it 5 stars after staying at the Four Seasons Chiang Mai. The Peninsula just wasn't as nice and didn't blow us away in the same way. The Peninsula seemed big and not very personal after stay at the Four Seasons. There's nothing wrong with the Peninsula at all, but it didn't re-define my idea of luxury the way the Four Seasons in Chiang Mai did. That being said, I would certainly stay at the Peninsula if I'm lucky enough to visit Bangkok again.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D-ro24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2010

Stayed for one week and loved it. Service is amazing - the staff are friendly and attentive. Its very clean and the we ate at all the hotel restaurants. All offered different styles of food. Top quality. Rooms are spacious, we had a great river view. Love the extra touches like the remote control curtains and a tv inset into the marble bathroom!
The Spa will hit your walletr hard, but you can use the fitness suite anytime at no extra cost. This includes the steam room, sauna and jacuzzi. The outdoor swimming pool is the best I have seen at a city hotel!
I would recommend this hotel to you!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank diamondworldwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2010

The room and the service was outstanding. I travel 26 weeks out of the year, and this Hotel stands out among all the rest

Stayed: March 2007, traveled on business
1  Thank sarlotta52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#20 of 891 in Bangkok
8,741 reviews
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peninsula Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Bangkok

Address: 333, Charoen Nakhon Road | Khlong Ton Sai, Khlong San, Bangkok 10600, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#7 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#8 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#9 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: $215 - $588 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 370
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Developed as one of the finest hotel properties in Bangkok, its riverside location inspired the wave- shaped design, capitalising on the uninterrupted panoramic views from every room and adding a distinctive architectural statement to the Bangkok skyline. The Peninsula Bangkok offers commanding city views, luxurious comfort, sophisticated facilities, extraordinary dining options and the legendary Peninsula service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Peninsula Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Peninsula Bangkok
Peninsula Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing