We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not exceeding expectation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Peninsula Bangkok
Ranked #7 of 881 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Overall this is a good hotel for leisure travelers to Bangkok but not impressive. Located on the other side of the river, the hotel provides boat services to BTS Saphan Taksin station, and Asiatique night market. Rooms are with river view and old-fashion decorated. In room lights control and electric curtains are well designed and easy to use.

However the following niches shall never happen in a Peninsula.
- holes and worn outs on the duvet cover. Not acceptable.
- no staff on the hotel pier to escort guests to the reception for check-in. Have to asked twice.
- requested for Thai herbal tea in room. Given a pot with lemongrass actually. No hot water is poured in but was asked to boil the water myself. Weird room service.
- Breakfast staff are not attentive enough, Have to always ask for my coffee refilled. The staff are also rude to remove the plates in front of my nose without asking.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eternalblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peninsula_BK, Director of Rooms at The Peninsula Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

Dear Eternalblue,

Thank you for the comments, praises and constructive feedback. We highly appreciate them.

We truly apologise for all inconveniences caused during your visit. We have raised this matter to our team to ensure that we improve our service through trainings regularly.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future.

Best regards,
Shane Jolly
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,432)
There are newer reviews for The Peninsula Bangkok
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,543 - 1,549 of 4,432 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2014

This was my first trip to Bangkok and I whenever I return, I will only stay at this hotel. First of all the location is perfect. We had a river view room on the 32nd floor. The view was amazing. The staff was so friendly and professional. We also had the pleasure of taking a cooking class provided by one of the hotel's chefs. The class was held in the kitchen of one of the outside restaurants; a perfect setting.The chef for friendly, competent, informative and very witty. The food we cooked was delicious.

We utilized the free ferry service often to cross the river. We also enjoyed sitting by the river having cocktails and enjoying the wonderful view. Oh, and the Dim Sum in the hotel restaurant was delicious.

I also really enjoy being able to plug my iPhone into the charger and then watch my Rachel Maddow podcast on the TV.

Room Tip: Higher floor, river view.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonywaySF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peninsula_BK, Hotel Manager at The Peninsula Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

Dear TonywaySF,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at The Peninsula Bangkok. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and were able to experience such a nice the variety offering that made us unique—from our location where all of our guest rooms enjoy panoramic river views, our signature Thai cooking class and our sunset cocktails by the river, which is a perfect way to end the day. We do hope that we will have the privilege to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards,
Mark Choon
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Very comfortable beautiful hotel. We had a lovely room overlooking the river with a small balcony. Great views. All the service you would expect. Pool was beautiful. Dinner at the River Cafe was good. Beautiful breakfast buffet. Not sure I would return here or try something with a more accessible location.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank esp8675309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peninsula_BK, Hotel Manager at The Peninsula Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Dear Evelyn,

Greetings from Bangkok. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your time with us, from the river view in your balcony room to your time spent relaxing by The Pool and dining at River Cafe & Terrace. You get the best of both worlds at The Peninsula Bangkok, with our proximity and access (avoid the traffic with our Peninsula Boat and the BTS skytrain station) to the city centre while being located on the shores of the Chao Praya River.

We hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,
Mark Choon
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We had a very nice stay at the Peninsula over New Year's. A comfortable hotel, a big tall building with many rooms, with friendly and competent staff. But somehow not quite special; our room was a bit small and dated, some of the hotel common spaces like the bar and pool were a little limited. But then again this is a city hotel in Bangkok and we were quite comfortable, so no complaint.

The hotel's location is good but idiosyncratic. It's just on the "wrong" side of the river, on the west side away from everything. In a way this is a blessing, it's a nice remove and you have a great view. Also they have a terrific ferry boat service to get across to the BTS Taksin station with at most a 5 minute wait. Just be sure to carry taxi instructions in Thai with you and be prepared for it to take a few extra minutes to get places. Great access to boats and trains once you cross on their nice little boats.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor for the view.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nelson_Mi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peninsula_BK, Hotel Manager at The Peninsula Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Dear Nelson_Mi,

Gong hei fat choi! Happy Year of the Horse! We are happy to hear that you chose to stay with us over New Year's and had an opportunity to try many of our services. I'm not sure if you had a chance to stay in one of our newly renovated guestrooms which provide a more contemporary feeling while staying true to our Thai-inspired designs. We pride ourselves on being Bangkok's true urban resort and you are correct in that being on this side of the river affords us magnificent views of the city. As you experienced, there is nothing more unique than catching one of our Peninsula Boats to the BTS skytrain station, a short ride away from the centre of town.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to The Peninsula Bangkok in 2014.

Best Regards,
Mark Choon
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Nothing fancy or spectacular but an extremely well delivered comfort with impeccable service. The riverside restaurant is perfect. A well oiled machine that deserves its reputation of excellence. A very good choice.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Indochine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peninsula_BK, Hotel Manager at The Peninsula Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Dear Indochine,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us from your recent experience at The Peninsula Bangkok. It is always gratifying to hear such kind words regarding our service levels - I will be sure to share them with our team.

We are looking forward to seeing you again soon, hopefully in the near future!

Best Regards,
Mark Choon
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

What a great hotel. 37 floors overlooking the river in central Bangkok. Check in was easy and fast and you can do your own express checkout via a form they give you the night before. The rooms are spacious and house everything you could possibly want. If you can't find it you just keep looking because it's definitely there. There are brilliant controls at the side of the bed that are so easy to use. Does the lights, TV, radio, opens and closes the curtain which was brilliant. We had great views over the river and these are particularly lovely at night. The pool area is long and divided into two areas which has a quiet end. The pool staff are attentive and it's possible to eat either by your lounger or little tables dotted about.

The hotel has three restaurants. The Thipthara is by the riverside and serves delicious authentic Thai food. It's best to book here as popular. The Riverside Terrace is for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The buffets served here are simply phenomenal for both breakfast and dinner. In fact the best buffet I've ever had and with a massive choice of both western and oriental meals. The hotel also has a chinese fine dining restaurant which is inside but we didn't try it. The Peninsula like most of the good hotels on the river have beautiful little junks that sail back and forth between the two banks of the river and are free. In the evening this is a particularly quick alternative to taking a taxi over the bridge if dining on this side of the river and you only have to walk a few yards the other side to hail a cab.

Room Tip: We were on the 8th floor in rooms 805 and 808 and overlooked the river. They're not at all far...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maynris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peninsula_BK, Hotel Manager at The Peninsula Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Dear Maynris,

We greatly appreciate that you took your time to share so much of your recent experience at The Peninsula Bangkok. It is always gratifying to hear that one of our guests did not only enjoyed our hotel’s ambiance and facilities, but also felt the warm and personalised services from our team. Our Food & Beverage team will be very happy to hear your wonderful comments about the breakfast buffet at our Thai restaurant, Thiptara. During your next visit, you must try our Cantonese restaurant, Mei Jiang, which has just been named the Best Chinese Restaurant in Bangkok for the fifth consecutive year! We hope that the Year of the Horse brings you good health and prosperity. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best Regards,
Mark Choon
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Great hotel with lovely smelling fresh rooms. The staffs were very helpful and spoke great English, which is a good thing because most Hotel executives across the breath of Bangkok, doesn’t speak good English. The hotel was great and offered a spectacular view. Located very close to most of the city’s attraction, one gets to travel around in Bangkok with much ease. Me and my wife stayed here recently at our Bangkok trip, to meet some of our very old friends studying at Bangkok. The riverside restaurant was great and offered some nice food. The menu had diverse international options which served us very well. We had been staying at Bangkok and had been filling ourselves with Asian food. Wanted a break and the restaurant offered us exactly what we wanted.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RiderRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peninsula_BK, Assistant Food and Beverage Manager at The Peninsula Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Dear Mr Rider,

Warmest greetings from The Peninsula Bangkok.
Thank you for your positive comments regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Your positive experience at our River Cafe & Terrace restaurant was well noted. I will be sure to share it to our culinary team. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Best regards,
Marco Schuchter
Assistant Food and Beverage Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#17 of 881 in Bangkok
8,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peninsula Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Bangkok

Address: 333 Charoennakorn Road | Khlongsan, Bangkok 10600, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#5 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#8 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: $195 - $485 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 370
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Developed as one of the finest hotel properties in Bangkok, its riverside location inspired the wave- shaped design, capitalising on the uninterrupted panoramic views from every room and adding a distinctive architectural statement to the Bangkok skyline. The Peninsula Bangkok offers commanding city views, luxurious comfort, sophisticated facilities, extraordinary dining options and the legendary Peninsula service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Peninsula Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Peninsula Bangkok
Peninsula Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing