We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxury all over the place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Peninsula Bangkok

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Peninsula Bangkok
Ranked #8 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Luxury all over the place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

During our honeymoon we were in Bangkok twice, both times we stayed at this wonderful hotel in the city center, next to the Chao Praya River. The hotel is a wonderful, modern building with all the amenities and luxury. All rooms overlook the river and have every comfort imaginable: television (of course), but also music (with hotel's own soundtrack), fax, and even DVD players. Also the hotel has several restaurants with some of the strangest fruits and meats (you can try the alligator meat) Even today, when it comes to hotels I always compare every hotel with this one. Stunning luxury overall.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MacMartin99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,333
    589
    140
    38
    34
See reviews for
751
1,910
223
389
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (760)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

Having stayed in the Peninsula Hong Kong, we decided to try the Peninsula Bangkok and weren't disappointed.The hotel has those old world standards of excellence.The service was incredible, from the concergie desk down to the delighful young man on the ferry. All seemed genuinely friendly and were unfailingly helpful. Our river view room was lovely, big in size and elegantly decorated. The restaurants and facilities were excellent and I think we tried them all! If you have time, we would highly recommend The Peninsula Academy options. These were brilliant and allowed us to do things we would not have had the opportunity do otherwise. Would I go back? Absolutely!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Nomoreschoolfees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
Level Contributor
43 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

An oasis of calm in a hustling bustling active city. Free boat rides across to Sky train & the Oriental don't make you want to leave as the ambiance of orchids lined grounds and attentive staff makes you float into a magical world of the Peninsula,
This hotel has exceeded expectations on all fronts: customer service and staff interaction, room views, size, and turn-down service, hotel breakfast and in-room service, hotel location, amenities and transportation arrangements.
The breakfast by the river is not to be missed. Their attention to detail seeps even into their buffet.
The Peninsula Bangkok remains to be the best hotel I have stayed in.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank atul_mukhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

Having stayed here many times I am happy to report that the rooms continue to be very comfortable and well maintained. In particular housekeeping is excellent. On the other hand the atmosphere is just a little less personal than before. Unlike the Mandarin Oriental across the river no staff members EVER use one's name, which is no big deal really but it did use to be a feature and contributed to the impression of tip-top service. The real sore point was breakfast. The quality of breakfast is superb. Enormous and fabulous. The problem is tables, or lack thereof. Standing in a queue for ten or fifteen minutes in the heat (the queue for indoor seating was even longer!) and then be shown to an uncleaned table just isn't in keeping with the Peninsula brand image. The staff are massively overworked and do not have time to clean tables or even to replace cutlery or serve tea. When they get to you they are perfectly nice and helpful, just very overworked.

Sad to say the next Bangkok stay may be across the river at the MO or at the new Sofitel.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely and face the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lebaronb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

I had an enjoyable 3 nights here for my first time in Bangkok, and without a doubt the hotel has the Peninsula brand polish - the bedrooms are beautiful with a great view over the river back towards the city. The breakfast is wonderful as expected, and the drawback of its location (the other side of the river to the action) is mitigated by a handy river shuttle service to the nearest train station. The pool area is special, and is a fantastic way to spend a late afternoon after sweating it out visiting temples.

However the service manager has some work to do in upgrading the skills of its staff - the waiters/attendants have varying levels of competence, but a little patience and insistence usually gets you through (as with the most of Asia). And one particular concierge made a thoroughly disastrous recommendation of a thai restaurant (which i would have thought was in their expertise) leading to a very embarrassing and ordinary evening. Of course my own research would have helped in hindsight, but you can get lulled into a false sense of security in what is otherwise a great 5 star hotel.

Room Tip: I believe most face towards the river, but just make sure. Also dont miss catching the hotel ferry s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Plife30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
208 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

peninsula never seems to dissapoint. and they passed the bangkok test for me,
the hotel is very rich in cultural aspects and yet contemporary at the same time

the service is really great so is the food and lobby lounge.
its defnitly one of my favourite spots now , in Bangkok , with magnificent river view

and price is extremely reasonable

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xxbcxxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
226 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

This is the second time we stayed at The Peninsula Bangkok. Next to the river, opposite to Mandarin Oriental and Shangri-La, 45 minutes to the airport by car, they have shuttle boat to the Skytrain station, it takes less than 15 minutes from this station to the Bangkok City shopping area, e.g. Central World, Siam Paragon. We are happy to stay away from the crowds, love to relax inside the room after returning from the city's hustle and bustle activities, looking at the scenery from the big windows, sipping some wine, which is the best thing to start an evening. We really like the swimming pool which is facing the river too. Buffet breakfast is good, lots of choices. There's are hotel tuk tuk which will take you for a free ride around the hotel. Needless to say anything about the service as it is the Peninsula's standard.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CelloB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#18 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,792 reviews
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dusit
The Siam
The Siam
#1 of 849 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peninsula Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Bangkok

Property: The Peninsula Bangkok
Address: 333 Charoennakorn Road | Khlongsan, Bangkok 10600, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#4 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#5 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#8 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 370
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Developed as one of the finest hotel properties in Bangkok, its riverside location inspired the wave- shaped design, capitalising on the uninterrupted panoramic views from every room and adding a distinctive architectural statement to the Bangkok skyline. The Peninsula Bangkok offers commanding city views, luxurious comfort, sophisticated facilities, extraordinary dining options and the legendary Peninsula service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Peninsula Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Peninsula Bangkok
Peninsula Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing