We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“World Class” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Peninsula Bangkok

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Peninsula Bangkok
Ranked #7 of 834 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“World Class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

This is probably the best hotel I've ever stayed in. It meets or exceeds 5 star expectations in every respect.

I spent four nights in a Grand Deluxe Suite. The checkin process, the room and the checkout process were perfect. The staff did everything they could to make my stay enjoyable and they were very good at anticipating rather than just responding.

The hotel restaurants, especially the Chinese, are excellent but book the Thai if it looks like it's going to rain. The under cover part of the restaurant easily fills up.

Did I have any complaints? The only difference between a Grant Deluxe Suite and a Deluxe Suite is that the former is on floors 11 and above. My suite was on floor 11 and I'm not sure that the additional view compared to floor 10 was worth the extra money but someone has to have the floor 11 rooms I suppose.

It's not a cheap hotel but I think it provides good value for money. I don't expect to be in Bangkok again any time in the near future but I would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,720 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,994
    538
    124
    36
    28
See reviews for
679
1,696
197
360
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (690)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Stayed 4 nights in June. Loved that there was a Naturally Peninsula menu and kids menu. Pool and spa were great. Airport transfers were great. Rooms felt clean and well maintained for such a large and busy property. Concierge desk offered great service. Great AC which made for a solid night of sleep after lots of traveling in SE Asia. Will be back.

Room Tip: We had a suite and it was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HonoluluRS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

This is our 3rd stay at the Peninsula Bangkok and I have to say this is the best hotel in Bangkok by far. Superb service, food is great, service is excellent! I originally booked the standard Deluxe room, but they upgraded me to a Suite with nearly 180 degree of the river view, simply amazing!

I got a little impatient during check-in as it was Friday, quite a lot of people at the front desk, and hotel didn't have a good queuing system that some people was trying to jump the 'queue' (there aren't any queue actually, people just standing waiting), so I think that's the only downside which I had feedback to the management already.

Breakfast selection was great, especially the Thai fruit selection was awesome!! Love mango!

The pool is a perfect place to relax and just get a different taste of Bangkok if you have already been to Bangkok many times like us, and you just want to have a relaxing break without seeing the crowd, this is the place you want to spend your morning/afternoon.

We tried their spa for the first time, again, simply amazing! They had a special promotion for spa + afternoon tea, great value! The moment we stepped into the spa building, I felt like I was in a different world, the décor is so relaxing, the smell, the music.... just great! We've tried many spa/massage places in Thailand, from street massage to some individual spa to spa in luxury hotels, even we tried the Mandarin Oriental spa before and many people said they are the best spa in Bangkok, but I have to say that the spa in Peninsula is far better!

The afternoon tea served at the lobby restaurant was great, we treated as our late lunch actually. They offered Thai style afternoon tea set (Thai food basically but in smaller portions) and the traditional English style. Good environment with live jazz music.

Look forward to our next visit very soon!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigbigeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed here on our final night in Thailand.
The hotel was nice, polished, beautifully decked out. Service was impecable, and the concierge was extremely helpful. Breakfast there was incredible, eating a huge selection of food looking out over the river. The decor was very classic-old-school luxury, but a bit over the top for our taste.

The only negative - and this was a big one - was value for money. I don't mind the cost of the room, it was expensive, but that was to be expected. But the food and drinks were - after staying at 4 other hotels in thailand (one that was more expensive) - a monumental rip off. They were charging between double and triple the most expensive price I saw at the other 5 star hotels I stayed in in Thailand.
The prices are roughly on par to what you would pay in a similar 5 star hotel in Australia - which given the range of options and prices in Thailand makes it ludicrous.

After that negative - the people were lovely and helpful, and as I said - the accomodation side of things you felt you got value for money. The room was outstanding, it was just a dissapointment that the food and drinks were so genuinely outrageously expensive.
So if you go, enjoy it - but eat and drink out! The food in thailand is great, so you're spoilt for choice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mishgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Coast of California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for the second time for 4 nights at Peninsula. Rooms are fantastic, large and very well furnished. Bed is fantastic and very comfortable. Service is exceptional. Needed to print some documents for a meeting and they opened the business center early for me to use. Had the high tea for first time in lobby. Nice jazz trio playing, food excellent. Boat ride to other side of river where there are more interesting shopping options and other excellent hotels to visit (Oriental and Shangri La). One of the best hotels I have ever stayed in.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelling_Berry_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Originally I wonder if Riverside would be inconvenient to get to city center, but end up it's nothing to worry about! The shuttle boat to and from the Skytrain station is very frequent and hotel staff helped carry the luggage ever since you are on board the boat (since I took the train from the airport), and also after checked out. Food is excellent, including buffet breakfast and dinner at the famous restaurant MeiJiang. The pool by the River side is awesome and offered a nice view both day and night. I also got an upgrade to room with River View which was decent and spacious. I waited for about 10 mins without a space to sit down when check-in, I got a bit impatient but before I complained about it a senior management staff (not the general counter staff) came over to assist my check-in immediately! This is the kind of service I appreciate and you will find plenty of these in Pen!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mehmehsheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navi Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The hotel is situated right on the bank of the river and the locale was really excellent. The breakfast can be had facing the river giving a real morning freshness. The rooms are quite good and well maintained. Service was really courteous (we were a big group and might have worked in our favour). They offer a free ferry to the other side of the river.
The food was excellent. They had a good continental food with a large local flavour also.
Overall, the stay was excellent and I will go to this hotel again!
The ambience is good and will be an excellent location for the families as well.

Room Tip: Book a room with a view on the river front. It is excellent with windows on three sides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gopinath K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#24 of 834 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 stars 6,878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#23 of 834 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 stars 5,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peninsula Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Bangkok

Property: The Peninsula Bangkok
Address: 333 Charoennakorn Road | Khlongsan, Bangkok 10600, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#4 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#5 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#8 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 370
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Developed as one of the finest hotel properties in Bangkok, its riverside location inspired the wave- shaped design, capitalising on the uninterrupted panoramic views from every room and adding a distinctive architectural statement to the Bangkok skyline. The Peninsula Bangkok offers commanding city views, luxurious comfort, sophisticated facilities, extraordinary dining options and the legendary Peninsula service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Peninsula Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Peninsula Bangkok
Peninsula Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing