We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Peninsula Bangkok
Ranked #8 of 851 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

This hotel was perfect. Literally the best place I have ever stayed which is sad because it was a business trip and something I defintiely couldn't pay for myself!!

This was like a dream hotel! Lots of space in the room, fresh fruit everyday, beds turned down, slippers waiting for you by the bed so you don't have to travel even an inch to get them! The breakfast buffet was amazing, the freshest mango I have ever had along with other great fruit, juice and amazing pastries!

The gym facilities were great and often the spa and steam room were not busy at all so it was like an amazing private facility! Spending a day by the pool, a snack is brought round before lunch, miniatures ice creams or fresh pineapple, amazing either way! Cool towels in the afternoon as a lush refresher - all small touches that just make all the difference!

The little boat service is amazing and means you can explore street food, markets etc in only a short distance!

All in all, the Peninsula sets the standard for the rest of the hotels across the globe!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hannah s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,381
    601
    143
    40
    35
See reviews for
774
1,939
225
392
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (767)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

The Peninsula in Bangkok stands out because it maintains high standards of service and cleanliness in a very difficult tropical environment, it is a beautiful facility (the pool and garden areas are stunning), and it offers the quietist refuge from a very chaotic city. Some question its location accross the river, but you can quickly access the city delights and travails by catching the frequent and enjoyable free boat service to the other side of the river. To us the location is a big advantage because it makes the hotel a better refuge from this crowded city. A trip to the lobby of the Mandarin will illustrate my point. There are too many people going in and out of the lobby.
The pool area is breathtaking in the early evenings. The view accross the river is wonderful and the cocktails and mocktails are first rate. The pool area is beautifully designed with a thirty meter adult pool for lap swimming and other pools leading down towards the river.
The service isnt perfect at this hotel but i think that it is very good for Bangkok. We all hear how accomodating the Thais are and that may be true. But my experience is that while the people are very nice, service is always a bit sketchy here.
A big plus for us was that the management answered all of our emails instantly. So from that standpoint we think the service is outstanding and reassuring. We received no response from the oriental.
One note for travelors to Thailand. Taxis tend to be very difficult at any tourist location in thailand. Metered taxis in busy areas will try to charge you 500 baht for a 50 baht metered ride. So once you leave your hotel and go to a big shopping area or a temple, be aware that the taxis and tuk tuk operators will most likely try to take advantage of you. The only way to avoid it is to walk away from crowded areas or schedule a hotel pickup. Furthermore, both taxis and tuk tuks will try to take you to diamond sellers or other merchants on the way to your destination. Just say no and insist on going to your destination. The taxi situation from hotels is fine. But after travelling the world, the taxi drivers in thailand rank with the very worst.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skyetrader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

it was a memorable experience, but its location is a little far from every thing. Service good, the bed is excellent...
we were there in December with the kids a the pool was a little cool for young kids.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cindy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

Typically, I won't choose this type of property for a Bangkok stay (I prefer a more vibrant location & stylish property) but since I was there on business this hotel was allocated to me. I must say the service did not disappoint but then it is expected from such a well established brand name. I enjoyed breakfast by the river and wonderful views from my room. A good respite before my meetings. As a solo lady traveller taking cab from the city centre to the hotel was a bit too long for my own comfort but a bit of street smarts should get you around quite easily.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank qellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
143 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

In all the world, The Peninsula stands above all hotels, in consistent quality, service, elegance driven by a relentless desire to anticipate, exceed expectations. In Bangkok, the pinnacle is exemplified by thoughtful, talented & skillfully trained staff & management that delights. Stunning location on the River, water taxi to get to your in-town shopping, marvelous, savory global, food choices only add to the luxurious accomodations.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Healthy94920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Level Contributor
192 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

We moved here from the Mandarin Oriental over the river. What a difference. This hotel is a true Peninsula, beautifully decorated, professionally run, quiet sophistication.

We had been to see it the day before because we wanted to move and were shown a suite for the same price as our Deluxe room at the Mandarin. What a suite we got. Four windows with views. A desk area, a living room area with a table for eating if you wanted to. A top of the range stereo and TV in the living room. A large bedroom with another stereo and TV. Large walk in cupboard, a huge marble bathroom with separate shower and even a television in the bathroom. There was also a separate "guest" toilet.

Every area of the hotel is tastefully decorated and comfortable and peaceful. The swimming pool is beautiful and the service there excellent. The breakfast buffet is one of the best with a super variety and loads of fresh fruit (yummy mangoes).

We used the excellent hotel limousine service to take us most places - the Grand Palace, the temples, out for dinner in the evening and our driver was extremely helpful in every way. We requested the same driver for our outings.

Sadly the restaurants were not up to scratch. The Chinese restaurant lacks ambience and the food is not what it should be in a Peninsula Hotel. The Thai restaurant is very casual and the service and food very disappointing.

The location of the hotel is more or less in the middle of nothing, although the views on the river and the hotel shuttle boat are a big plus. We decided, after five days, to move into the center of town.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank casden8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

17 years ago my husband ran the fit out at the Peninsula so when we decided to visit Bangkok this year it seemed right that we spoil ourselves at the Peninsula.

We were fortunate enough to be upgraded to a deluxe suite (without asking – we didn’t actually tell management that he had worked at the hotel) – perhaps a long term mistake as I loved it so much I wanted to barricade myself in the room and never ever leave.
Perhaps my favourite part was the little boat that takes one from the hotel to the other side of the river.
What separates this hotel from others is not only price and amenity, but the staff. They were always polite, keen to help and thoughtful. No staff member is ever on their mobile phone or chewing gum or disinclined to help.
Breakfast was a banquet – steamed eggs with chives and the peach smoothie were my favourite.
I used the gym every day and it was like an elegant spa.
On the first night my husband requested some ice and from then on every evening our ice bucket was replenished without asking for it. His shoes were cleaned and our discarded clothes folded.
Upon arrival we were shown our room and checked in whilst the concierge was in our room – delightful not to wait about at a desk!
We also decided to use the transfer service to and from the airport. I thought we didn’t need this. But.
But when we left Bangkok for Hanoi a man from the Peninsula met us at the airport and helped us through check in and it was so luxurious not to have to think about which counter to go to, which escalator to take and which queue to join. He also helped us with claiming the VAT back on our (my) purchases.
I don’t like airports; the waiting, the navigating, the changing of gates, the walking, the endless passport and security checks, but having our man from the Peninsula help us made it almost enjoyable!
I’m already planning my next Peninsula trip – Paris? New York? But Bangkok will always be my first!
Thank you to all the staff at the Peninsula Bangkok for looking after us so well, we felt relaxed, rested and ready to climb the hills of northern Vietnam after our stay at your establishment.

Room Tip: The higher floors have a lovely view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CateHodder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#20 of 851 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,905 reviews
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dusit
The Siam
The Siam
#1 of 851 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peninsula Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Bangkok

Property: The Peninsula Bangkok
Address: 333 Charoennakorn Road | Khlongsan, Bangkok 10600, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#5 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#8 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 370
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Developed as one of the finest hotel properties in Bangkok, its riverside location inspired the wave- shaped design, capitalising on the uninterrupted panoramic views from every room and adding a distinctive architectural statement to the Bangkok skyline. The Peninsula Bangkok offers commanding city views, luxurious comfort, sophisticated facilities, extraordinary dining options and the legendary Peninsula service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Peninsula Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Peninsula Bangkok
Peninsula Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing