We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel at average location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Peninsula Bangkok
Ranked #8 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Malaysia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great hotel at average location”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

This is a great hotel in terms of room, breakfast and nice thai restaurant next to the river. As for location, it is at the opposite side of the river - need to spend more time on the road. However, the hotel does provide boat to the nearest train station.

Room Tip: Ask for river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,459
    615
    147
    41
    35
See reviews for
794
1,976
231
404
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (784)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights before I went on a tour of SE Asia.

Great start with the pickup and transfer from the Airport to the hotel.

Assistance from the hotel in booking restaurants around town and then directions to them all on the night. Also arranged a city tour through the hotel and it was really good. Thiptara restaurant at the hotel is a great place to dine right on the river.

The ferry service across the river runs all the time and is very easy to use as well as convenient with the connection straight on to the rail system.

All staff are very pleasant and eager to assist with a smile on their faces.

I have stayed at The Peninsula in Hong Kong and was very pleased to find that the same pleasant stay I had there was replicated here.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view over the Chao Praya river and Bangkok itself but obviously the higher the bett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank El_Greenholio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
88 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

2nd time we have stayed here, first time 7 years ago, the standards have not changed. Lovely balcony room, gorgeous bathroom. Lovely spa, had 2 massages - well worth the money. Only downside is exactly the same as last time.....the reception staff somehow do not exude the same warmth and greetings as the staff in the rest of the hotel - they have an air of superiority about them. Great location.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welsh Borders, UK
Level Contributor
215 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

The Peninsula (pronounced Peninsulaaaa for Thai ears!) is situated on the "wrong" side of the river, so has fine views of the city, not shared by the hotels on the "right" side. The hotel's free shuttle boats provide a frequent, elegant and enjoyable service to the Skytrain station at Sathorn and the Mandarin Hotel and probably elsewhere on request. Sathorn is also the starting point for public boats up-river to the Grand Palace, Wat Pho and many other cheap and wonderful excursions.
Previous reviews express what a fine establishment this is. It is sober and relaxed compared with the Mandarin, and has no need to show off. The guest rooms are spacious, quiet, and perfectly equipped; likewise, the bathrooms. The breakfast buffets (cold food in an air-conditioned room and warm food freshly made, in the fresh air) provide exquisite choices for every taste. If you order tea, it comes in a generous pot; but if you order coffee, it is poured by the servers into your small cup and you sometimes struggle to get a top-up when you want it. You enjoy breakfast on the river terrace, watching the barges and river boats go by. A magnificent buffet is also available in the evening, and is a better bet than the two full-service restaurants. The Thai restaurant is good, but not outstanding. The Chinese restaurant, claimed by the concierge to be the best in town, did not live up to its billing.
The swimming pool area, very long and narrow, is a delight.
A taxi to the airport costs 400 Baht and is as quick (or slow) and almost as comfortable for 2 people as the limo services that cost 3-5 times as much.
For relaxation and sightseeing, The Peninsula is probably the best choice. For night-life and shopping, you may prefer one of the downtown hotels.

Room Tip: The balcony rooms have restricted views and are smaller. All are magnificent and priced by size and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Witshub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

My family, including 2 young children, stayed in April, 2010 (I finally got around to writing reviews).

We stayed in a suite with a view of the river. The hotel staff and the room were amazing. My kids liked the TV next to the bathtub, and enjoyed swimming in the pool during the hot, humid days of Bangkok.

During our stay, a K-Pop group called the "Big Bang" checked into the hotel. This brought about lots of crazed female fans with cameras, but the hotel staff did a commendable job of making sure that the fans did not interfere with the guests' enjoyment of the property.

One day, when we asked to be seated for dinner at one of the restaurants, we were told that there were no tables available, even though I could see through the window that there were 3 tables in a row that were empty.

When I told the restaurant manager that we were guests at the hotel, he promptly seated us at one of those empty tables. It was then that we saw the K-Pop group the Big Bang being seated next to us, and realized that the two tables on either sides were being kept empty for them.

This hotel lives up to the reputation of a Peninsula brand.

The only downside is that it is a bit of a trip to get to the shopping malls on Sukhumvit as we had to first take the hotel's boat across the river, then walk to the skytrain station to get there (Sky train is the fastest way to get from point A to point B due to consistently heavy traffic in Bangkok). This wouldn't have been so hard, except when you combine the heat and humidity with 5 and 9 year old children.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TripForFour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Haag
Level Contributor
85 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

My parents in law and us had booked two standard de luxe rooms at Peninsula. When we arrived we asked for a upgrade to next level - the Balcony rooms. They were sold out, so were next step the Grand Balcony Rooms, but they had two De Luxe Suites available for 58 USD extra per night. This was a very good choice. Fantastic suites - probably the best we have stayed in to the price. 75 sqm and very very nicely furbished. 2 toilets - nice bathroom, living room, office, bedroom, walk in and TV in bath, bed, living room. Huge hi-fi system with all gadgets and electric master control in all rooms with access to adjustment of aircon and electric curtains. No access to executive lounge - but access to all facilities in the very elegant hotel. The staff probably one of the best we have met - and at level with Mandarin Oriental staff at the hotel opposite the Peninsula. Very large breakfast buffet in great location with a view to the busy river. The most flexible boat service we have ever seen, and we managed to be picked up at all times - in all locations. No time table - just service. Fine small pool area - and again with a service much higher than we have met elsewhere. Cold water and cold towels kept coming and the staff were discreet and very service minded. This hotel is really stunning - and the staff is in a special league. We might chose Peninsula before Oriental. Perfect last night in Bangkok after 2 weeks in Bangkok, Phuket and Hua Hin. We will return !

Room Tip: It might be because we only stayed 1 night - but the extra 58 USD to get upgraded from standard room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kommandousen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
488 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

I don't believe I have ever stayed at a better hotel. And I probably have stayed 500. Awesome service, beautiful rooms, incredible location ... the best of the best. Even reasonable ... all things considered. This hotel was $248 per night; could have been $1000+ in Paris.

Room Tip: Riverside view is intriguiging. Take the water shuttle anywhere, everywhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spoonball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#18 of 858 in Bangkok
8,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Dusit
The Siam
The Siam
#1 of 858 in Bangkok
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peninsula Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Bangkok

Property: The Peninsula Bangkok
Address: 333 Charoennakorn Road | Khlongsan, Bangkok 10600, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#5 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#8 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 370
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Developed as one of the finest hotel properties in Bangkok, its riverside location inspired the wave- shaped design, capitalising on the uninterrupted panoramic views from every room and adding a distinctive architectural statement to the Bangkok skyline. The Peninsula Bangkok offers commanding city views, luxurious comfort, sophisticated facilities, extraordinary dining options and the legendary Peninsula service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Peninsula Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Peninsula Bangkok
Peninsula Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing