We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hotel With Amazing Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Peninsula Bangkok
Ranked #11 of 887 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Peninsula Bangkok in December 2012. We just loved it. Amazing service, amazing food, great room, etc. They greet you so nicely and treat you like your kings and queens. We got SO lucky to get picked up by Frank at the airport. He ended up being our Thai angel the whole trip and drove us around everyday. Highly recommend requesting Frank. I had read a few reviews saying it's hard to get across the river to the "good" side, and we didn't find that to be true at all. The Peninsula has their own boat (which was super nice and convenient) that will take you across anytime. We probably waited at the most five minutes. The breakfast that came with our room was amazzzzzing. Thailand has the best fruit I've ever had. Just great service and wonderful people here. My hubs and I are super picky and we just loved it. PS try the "authentic" Thai restaurant a few properties over from the Peninsula... with the live Thai dancing. It's so cool!

Room Tip: We got a room with a view of the river and it was super nice to have that view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Val S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,532)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,972 - 1,978 of 4,532 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2013

It makes me sad to write this as I truly adored the Peninsula Hotel and stayed there countless times since it opened. It used to have a wonderful, friendly team of staff, many of whom I grew to know well. Sadly, perhaps through economic necessity, it has become a favourite for corporate events and the dreaded 'team building' programmes so popular in Asia. Great location for these events, but sadly not compatible with guests looking for a couple of days of quiet luxury by the river. Also not what most travelers who are familiar with Peninsula hotels would expect.

It is also true that the rooms are now becoming rather tired and beginning to look almost tatty in places.

A million miles from the Peninsula Tokyo which is simply breathtaking in every regard!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank Olga888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

My partner and I stayed at the Peninsula for 4 nights in late November. The hotel is beautiful and everything you would expect from a Peninsula. Honestly though it is starting to show its age. Although beautifully maintained, you can now start to see some wear on the property. We also stayed at the new St Regis for a night and if the Peninsula wants to maintain its top status they should think about a renovation.

The concierge arranged a private tour to all the temples and I must say that this was money extremely well spent. I would say that it was the best way to see and learn about all of the Wats.

We went to the spa for an afternoon. There is a reason why this hotel and spa are rated so high. The services and setting are truly just amazing. The massage I had was excellent and the treatment room was so over the top beautiful and relaxing. Plus the prices there are not exactly cheap, but about half of what you would pay for the same services in any 5 star hotel in the USA.

Breakfast is amazing there! Service is always outstanding and very personable for a very large hotel. Being on the other side of the river was a bit of a trek, but having no set time table to get anywhere it was very enjoyable taking the junk across the river to the BTS Skytrain station.

Room Tip: Definitely upgrade to a Deluxe Room as the bathrooms and set up are worth the few extra dollars! Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShaneandJoey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

This is a great place to stay in Bangkok. A peaceful hotel by the river. Staff were warm, helpful, and friendly. Room were beautiful, with great views of the river. Great oasis from the crazy city. Convenient location right near skytrain station. Always a ferry there to take you across river. Great service. Amazing breakfast and dinner.

Room Tip: Make sure you book a room above the 15th floor for the view! So worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mihai42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Pretty much exactly what i expected after reading previous reviews. The Peninsula is a very nice hotel with a very high level of service, but of course you pay for it!

Only stayed one night during a stopover through Bangkok so didn't have time to do much but the Thai restaurant and river Cafe were both of a high standard and the rooms were excellent. Prices were pretty high compared with other restaurants / bars etc outside the hotel but that's to be expected in a 5 star hotel.

We had a corner suite room which has a huge amount of space, the seperate living room area had a great view and the bathroom was also very impressive! The wife has always wanted to sit and watch TV whilst ordering room service...all without having to get out of the bath lol!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AtlantanHaggis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

I was really impressed to be met by the hotel staff immediately upon our arrival at the entrance of the hotel. That was especcially valuable as we travelled with three small kids and elderly parents. We were taken to our rooms where we finalized all the details of four stay. There was nothing particular about this hotel but the service was quite impressive. And at the end of the day all the 5-star hotels are similar but what matters is the service.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

I am rarely at a loss for words, but it is hard to assess the Peninsula in other than superlatives. A friend familiar with Bangkok commented that among 5 star hotels, it would rate a six. The staff were unfailingly helpful, and the room, spacious, and exceptionally well-designed and equipped, even to the provision of small items (such as a shoehorn) seldom seen in other hotels in this category. The food in the hotel’s restaurants was also superb. Expensive by Thai standards, but worth every penny.

Room Tip: Pay for a balcony room overlooking the river. Fabulous view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank myrgatroyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#22 of 887 in Bangkok
8,550 reviews
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peninsula Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Bangkok

Address: 333 Charoennakorn Road | Khlongsan, Bangkok 10600, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#7 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#8 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#10 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: $221 - $513 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 370
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Developed as one of the finest hotel properties in Bangkok, its riverside location inspired the wave- shaped design, capitalising on the uninterrupted panoramic views from every room and adding a distinctive architectural statement to the Bangkok skyline. The Peninsula Bangkok offers commanding city views, luxurious comfort, sophisticated facilities, extraordinary dining options and the legendary Peninsula service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Peninsula Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Peninsula Bangkok
Peninsula Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing