We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My best ever hotel experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Peninsula Bangkok
Ranked #11 of 884 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 22, 2012

The Peninsula in Bangkok is, by far, my best ever hotel experience. My wife and I stayed there for a couple of days in May, 2012, while on a multi-stop tour of Malaysia and Thailand. This is a tall (maybe 25 floors) building entirely dedicated to the hotel. The service at this hotel was beyond amazing. Breakfast comes with the room and the array of food choices literally catered to ALL ethnic backgrounds. The room we stayed in was on the 12th floor and we looked out over the city and the river. The hotel sits right on the river and one can catch the hotel boats to cross to the other side where you can catch the sky-tram into the city or the city river boats that run up and down the river with multiple stops. The hotel grounds include a wonder swimming pool, a spa, and a great bar and restaurant that is positioned right along the river front. It was fun and entertaining to sit at the bar or in the restaurant watching the boat traffic on the river and enjoying the scene. If you are looking for a place to hang out in exotic Bangkok that is truly relaxing, give The Peninsula a try. The rates were amazingly low for such a wonderful hotel.

Room Tip: Definitely get a room that is on the North-facing side of the building so you can look out over the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,470)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,185 - 2,191 of 4,470 reviews

Reviewed May 22, 2012

We have stayed at this property on numerous occasions and now won't even consider anything else - It is absolutely faultless! I'm aware that during the planing process that there were reservations on whether it would work on this side of the river bank but with the boat service which runs, there is no issue whatsoever, and actually quite enjoyable to make the boat crossing. Many people (I believe) think they're settling for the best by opting for the historically grand dame across the river, The Oriental, but I believe that The Pen' easily leaves her behind.

Room Tip: Be aware that certain rooms are adjacent to the lift shaft and at times the lift can be heard. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank stoddart97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

I appreciate the services of this hotel very much. Especially the services of staff at shuttle boat and, swimming pool. I asked the staff of shuttle boat how to take the public transport boat to go to Ananta Samakhom Throne Hall and they gave me a map with my plan written in Thai. As you may also be aware that not all Thai people could speak/read English. For the swimming pool staff, I noticed that they serve iced water to guests, refill the water frequently and sometimes serve small glass of juice or iced towel for the refreshing of guests.

Room Tip: I stayed in Grand deluxe room because of the higher level then deluxe room. I was allocated a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pkullbhkg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

I was overwhelmed from the moment we landed in Bangkok. We decided to book transport from the airport with the hotel BMW, to avoid the hassle of having to look for a taxi and negotiate the fare after an intercontinental flight. Consequently, we were given an upgrade, and got a spacious room on the 27th floor. On arrival we did not even had to do the check-in at the reception desk, but we were accompanied straight to our room.

The room had a sitting area, a desk and chair on the corner with large windows, and a roomy entrance, besides a large double bed. The view on the river and on the city was great. The bathroom was also very large with two washbasins, separate shower and toilet and bathtub. This was more like a studio flat than a hotel room.

Breakfast was delicious, and breakfast room nicely arranged for such a big hotel. It is also possible to sit outdoor but given the humidity, perhaps sitting inside was a better option. The Peninsula is located on the river and offers transport with the hotel boat to the opposite riverbank. Therefore, it is very easy to catch a boat for excursions to the temples area upriver and also to the sky train, to go to city centre.

It is better to avoid the chaotic traffic, but if you must catch a taxi, ask for taxi with meter. The fare is around 70 Bath from the city centre, otherwise taxi drivers might ask you up to 300 Bath.

On departure, we were escorted to the airport and helped with the check-in and stamps for tax refund.

Only a spoiled person could find something wrong with this hotel. I loved it and hope to go back.

Room Tip: On 27th floor view is breath-taking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dierregi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

My daughter and I stayed here in August 2011 for a few nights before going to Koh Samui and what a wonderful experience it was. From the moment we arrived at the airport we were greeted by two of the hotel staff who took our bags and led us to the chaffeur driven car. We were met by one of the reception team and whisked off to our suite on the 22nd floor where all the check in details were done in an instant. The suite was lovely, traditional in decor, very classy and spacious with beautiful views from the lounge and the bedroom over the river below and the whole of Bangkok.
The service in the restaurants, bars, reception, concierge and spa were all first class and all were accompanied by those lovely Thai smiles. Nothing was too much trouble.
Its positioned across the river from many of the other hotels but its not a problem with its own regular boat service connecting you with the public water taxis and the monorail both of which are directly opposite.
We couldn't fault our visit and left for the airport with the same impeccable service, being greeted at the airport to help us with our bags and show us right to the airline checkin desk.
I wouldn't hesitate to recomend this hotel for anyone visiting Bangkok, its a true 5 star experience.

Room Tip: a corner suite on one of the higher floors. We were able to benefit from one of their regular specia...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2012

I love this hotel but this stay was somewhat disappointing. It started on arrival. Our room was not available yet and we were told to come back in 15mins after checking back several times it was close to an hour. No problem as it was 2pm but we would rather have been told up front so we could have eaten lunch. The pool area is amazingly slippery. Very serious safety issue that has not been addressed over the years and seems to be getting worse with time. The pool bathroom reaked of sewer gas and was out of clean hand towels and the lemongrass scented oil burner was dry so the smell was even stronger. Also the pool temp was super hot which was less than refreshing. Service at both meals was also lackluster. I hope this was just an unlucky couple of incidents but they kept happening. Even the sand dragged in form our shoes used on the beach in phuket was not cleaned from the rooms foyer after 3 days.

Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
2  Thank JoeyQuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2012

We stayed for two nights at the Peninsula Bangkok as part of our honeymoon trip. From the moment we entered the main driveway, we knew this would be an amazing hotel. Check-in process was very quick and easy. We had asked for a higher floor and this was allocated upon check-in.

Our Deluxe Room was spacious, beautiful, with design that just works. I particularly like the unique layout, especially the octagonal bathroom with double sink. There's also a small "door" where every morning they place our newspaper and we can place shoes to shine. Very smart!

We had read previous reviews about the breakfast at this hotel and were looking forward to experience it ourselves. And it did not disappoint. Served at the River Cafe & Terrace, breakfast was always a delight and both mornings we took our time to enjoy the various foods available. Amazing selection of breads (the sourdough was delicious), homemade jams (try their mango & passionfruit), fresh fruits (mangoes every morning), to hot breakfast including eggs, pancakes, Asian selections, you name it! We thoroughly enjoyed it and could not have felt more relaxed...

The hotel provides a complimentary boat that goes back and forth dropping guests at Saphan Taksin BTS station. The ride takes about 5 minutes and this is a part of the stay that we enjoyed. Riding on the boat crossing the Chao Phraya River was simply relaxing.

All in all, we would definitely recommend this hotel to those who are visiting Bangkok. We knew we wanted to stay near the river as opposed to at Sukhumvit area, which is just chaotic. Returning to the hotel after a long day of shopping or sightseeing was always nice and welcoming..

Room Tip: All rooms have river view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank classic_bobster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#21 of 884 in Bangkok
8,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peninsula Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Bangkok

Address: 333 Charoennakorn Road | Khlongsan, Bangkok 10600, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#4 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#7 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#8 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#10 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: $206 - $498 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 370
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Developed as one of the finest hotel properties in Bangkok, its riverside location inspired the wave- shaped design, capitalising on the uninterrupted panoramic views from every room and adding a distinctive architectural statement to the Bangkok skyline. The Peninsula Bangkok offers commanding city views, luxurious comfort, sophisticated facilities, extraordinary dining options and the legendary Peninsula service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Peninsula Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Peninsula Bangkok
Peninsula Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing