We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second time here, and exceed expetation ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Athenee Hotel, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Bangkok
Ranked #21 of 879 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

The service is verry kindly, and careful. The breakfast, and brunch is with amazing choice of kitchen styles, and every one is authentic.club lounge great offerings important : You cant miss to vist the pool

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Steli1305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaAtheneeBKK, General Manager at The Athenee Hotel, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2014

Dear Steli130,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay with us in the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel.

We are glad that you enjoyed dining in The Rain Tree Café, our signature Le Méridien breakfast does indeed feature a wide variety of mouthwatering cuisines and our popular Sunday brunch certainly is a highlight in the culinary calendar. We are also delighted that you appreciated the service of our associates as well as all the benefits and facilities offered to guests who stay in our Royal Club, I will be sure to share your kind feedback with the team.
Once again, thank you for your kind feedback, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,
ChooLeng Goh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,217)
There are newer reviews for The Athenee Hotel, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Bangkok
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,041 - 1,047 of 2,217 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2014

This hotel made us enjoy our time in Bangkok. We were highly welcomed. The breakfast has great variety and is simply delicious! The hotels location is perfect for easy transportation as it is right next to skytrain station! Enjoyed the pool in the middle of the sky rises!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaAtheneeBKK, General Manager at The Athenee Hotel, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2014

Dear Rana K,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel and for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor.

It is truly inspiring to know that we were able to make your time in Bangkok enjoyable. We are thrilled that you found our new signature Le Méridien breakfast to be delicious and that you appreciated our central location, only minutes walk from the Phloen Chit BTS station. Our lagoon styled swimming pool does indeed provide a haven for relaxation and we are delighted that you took the time to enjoy it.
Thank you once again for sharing your kind feedback. We are all looking forward to providing you with another memorable stay with us in the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel during your next visit to Bangkok.

Kind Regards,
ChooLeng Goh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

After a short night (Flight from India) i reached Bangkok ynd arrived at the plaza Athenee Bangkok. The welcome was very friendly and uncomplicated, everybody was used to do his best and helped me to feel more than comfortable. The location is perfect, in 3 minutes you can reach the BTS and you will all possibilities to enjoy the city. The Club Lounge is perfect as well as the rooms from the Hotel
All in all I would say. "A peferct place to relax"

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gecko007Munich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaAtheneeBKK, General Manager at The Athenee Hotel, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Dear Gecko007Munich,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us in the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel and for taking your time to share your experience on TripAdvisor.

It is an honour to know that you feel that our hotel is “A perfect place to relax” and I am also thrilled that our associates made you feel welcome and comfortable. Our Le Royal Club Lounge provides a haven for relaxation and we are delighted that you appreciated it along with our central location, only minutes walk from the Ploenchit BTS station.

Thank you once again for your kind comments. We look forward to welcoming you back for another enjoyable stay with us in the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel.

Kind regards,
ChooLeng Goh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Everything about my stay with above-and-beyond. From the unsolicited cake delivered to my room on my birthday, to the assistance from the staff in booking spa treatments (english is not widespread in many establishments, so this was truly a gift) and the superior all-around service: I would not stay elsewhere in Bangkok.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AntiAmbivalence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaAtheneeBKK, General Manager at The Athenee Hotel, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Dear AntiAmbivalence,

Firstly, I would like to wish you a belated happy birthday and hope that you have a fantastic year ahead. Thank you for choosing to stay with us in the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel and taking your time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor.

We believe in going the extra step for valued guests such as yourselves and we are thrilled that you appreciate it. Thank you for highlighting the good English communication skills of our associates, I will definitely share it with the team. Spa Athénée does indeed provide some exceptional treatments like our signature blood type therapy and I am delighted that you took the time to treat yourself in the Spa.

It is truly an honor to receive such positive feedback and we look forward to having the opportunity to provide you with another above-and-beyond experience during your next visit to the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel.

Kind regards,
ChooLeng Goh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

After walking into the lobby and having seen the photo of the hotel pool area, I probably have too much expectation for the room. While the room is nice, I have stayed at much nicer rooms in Bangkok area that are less expensive. A nearby Renaissance Ratchaprosong is closer to shopping area( and less expensive with a nicer room ). I also got better upgrade there as Marriott Gold compare to here as a Starwood Platinum. May be, I was spoiled by the stays at royal Orchid Sheraton And Le Meridien immediately before plaza athenee where I was upgrade to spectacular 2 rooms suite at both properties.
The plus side here is the lobby area, the wonderful pool, and the club lounge that look nicer than the other 2 starwoods hotel but you will get a better value and better SPG recognition elsewhere. The location is convenient to Ploenchit BTS station using short cut to the back of the hotel. Next BTS stop is Chitlom where you can walk to Central Word, Siam Paragon via Ratchaprasong skywalk. One of a hotel restaurant, Silk Road has good Dim Sum although I like Feiya at Renaissance Ratchaprasong better which has a really good Peking Duck.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PP2603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaAtheneeBKK, General Manager at The Athenee Hotel, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Dear PP2603 ,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay with us in the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel.

We are delighted that you liked our grand lobby, lagoon-styled swimming pool and our exclusive Le Royal Club Lounge. Please note that this year we are initiating a refurbishment of our guestrooms to ensure that our valued guests continue to receive the highest standard of facilities. Your feedback is of great importance to us as it allows us to continuously monitor and improve our service offerings, thank you once again for sharing this.

We are thrilled that you had the chance to experience our Silk Road restaurant and that you enjoyed the Dim Sum. Please be sure to try Chef Kam’s signature Peking Duck on your next visit, it certainly delights even the most discerning of diners. In addition to this fantastic Cantonese Restaurant on the 3rd floor, we also feature a traditional Thai Restaurant called Smooth Curry; a modern French Restaurant called The Reflexions and a traditional Japanese restaurant called Utage.

Thank you once again for your feedback, we hope there will be another opportunity to welcome you back to the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,
ChooLeng Goh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

have stayed at this hotel many times and it continues to bring me back. Location is ideal with a 5min walk to sky train(which is key given Bangkok traffic!), excellent facilities in the gym and an oasis of the pool, great breakfast with huge choice.Typically get a club room and the evening drinks and cocktails are provided with great service, with a special to Paul. Staff are very quick and reliable to assist in any questions, recommendations, issues you may have. Overall cannot fault this hotel and given value for money very hard to surpass.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank christor71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaAtheneeBKK, General Manager at The Athenee Hotel, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Dear christor71,

Thank you for your continued support of the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel and taking time to share such kind feedback on TripAdvisor.

It is always encouraging to receive such positive feedback from a loyal guest such as yourself. Thank you for your kind comments on our associates and for highlighting Paul in Le Royal Club, I will be sure to share this with him and the team as it certainly reinforces all their efforts put forth. We are also thrilled that you appreciate so many of the leisure facilities available, such as our lagoon styled tropical swimming pool and our extensive gym. During your next stay with us, please be sure to try some of the new breakfast specialty items that we now have available on our signature Le Méridien breakfast buffet in The Rain Tree Café.

Thank you once again for your positive review, we all are looking forward to welcoming you back soon for another enjoyable stay at the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel.

Kind regards,
ChooLeng Goh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

A wonderful class hotel. Entrance is large, very spacious and beautiful. The space gives the feeling of breathing in clean air. The outside has lots of greenery and gives a peaceful atmosphere. The rooms are very clean. This time we stayed twice in this hotel, once we were upgraded and given rooms on 25th Royal Club floor and second time on 22nd floor. Both times we got rooms with excellent views of the city and park. The rooms have all basic equipments like Pressing Board and iron, electric cattle, Tea and coffees, safe box, toiletries, hair dryer, dressing gowns, sandals etc. Royal floors had several bottles of water as complimentary everyday. The rooms are spacious, well lit and so are the washrooms. The restaurant offered wide varieties of food during breakfast time. We really enjoyed the tropical fruits and continental, oriental, Thai food for breakfast in the very widely spread out restaurant. The whole ambiance was awesome. Next to the restaurant on the ground floor lobby area was the well decorated bar. We had our complimentary Coffee there.
The hotel is very close BTS station Ploen Chit. Taxis are also readily available. The very well mannered staff are always there to help. We had wonderful sojourn for some days in busy Bangkok city at Plaza Athene.

Room Tip: Top floors are better
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaniz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaAtheneeBKK, General Manager at The Athenee Hotel, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Dear Kachipata,

Thank you for sharing such kind feedback on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us in the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel.

We are fortunate to be centrally located with such a fantastic setting surrounding the hotel and we are thrilled that you appreciated it along with so many of the facilities that we have available. Our signature Le Méridien breakfast in The Rain Tree Café does indeed provide an extensive selection of mouthwatering cuisine and we are delighted you enjoyed it. We are also happy that you had the chance to experience The Glaz Bar, our chic and cosmopolitan bar which provides an intimate venue for enjoying an illy cup of coffee, creative cocktails, local and international beers, and tantalizing tapas. Thank you for your feedback regarding our associates, I will be sure to share it with the team.

Thank you once again for your positive feedback. We hope that there will be another chance to welcome you back to the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,
ChooLeng Goh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#17 of 879 in Bangkok
8,401 reviews
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Silom
Le Meridien Bangkok
Le Meridien Bangkok
#12 of 879 in Bangkok
3,560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Athenee Hotel, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Athenee Hotel, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Bangkok

Address: 61 Wireless Road | Phloenchit Skytrain Station, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Pathumwan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#20 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#40 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#40 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#85 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: $152 - $375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Athenee Hotel, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 374
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of central Bangkok just steps from Phloenchit BTS skytrain station, The Athenee Hotel, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Bangkok is built on the former site of Kandhavas Palace and is one of Bangkok’s most fashionable places to stay and play host. Each of the 374 guestrooms and suites provides impressive views of Bangkok skyline and showcases a Thai-colonial design blending historic Thai culture with the most modern conveniences. Guests looking to relax have an array of facilities to enjoy, including a choice of eight award-winning food and beverage venues, rooftop lagoon-style swimming pool, and spa treatments curated for every blood type, to name a few. Family-friendly options include a choice of Family Room or Family Suite, child-friendly swimming pool, and amenities tailor-made to make your child’s stay more memorable. With the recent completion of a remodeling project, the hotel has been awarded the prestigious Five Star Asia Pacific Property Award 2015-2016 in the category of “Best Hotel Interior Thailand.” The hotel is also the first hotel in the world to achieve an ISO20121 certification for sustainable operations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Athenee Hotel, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meridien Bangkok
Plaza Athenee Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing