We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel
Ranked #30 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We spent a week at Plaza Athenee and couldn't fault this hotel. Clean, tidy, excellent customer service, great spa, lovely pool area and its in a great location. We ate at Reflexions, a French restaurant and can honestly say its the best meal I've had. Would definitely recommend this hotel and if we visit Bangkok again we will stay there without a doubt.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 336Zoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaAtheneeBKK, General Manager at Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear 336Zoe,

Thank you for sharing your review on TripAdvisor and for staying with us in the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel.

It is an absolute delight to know that your stay with us was faultless and that you had the chance to enjoy so many of our facilities. Our award winning Reflexions venue certainly does offer some exceptional French Fine dining and Chef Daniel and his team are thrilled that you feel that it is the best meal you’ve ever had.

Once again thank you for your kind feedback and recommendation, we looking forward to welcoming you back to the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel during your next visit to Bangkok.

Kind regards,
ChooLeng Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,012 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,352
    493
    115
    25
    27
See reviews for
251
501
227
750
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We checked in at the club floor. The service was excellent. Mr. Arm Natt and his colleagues served us at the club lounge everyday. They always made us feel very welcomed. The room was very comfortable, everyday they provided us fresh fruits, WI-FI worked very well in our room. We hightly recommend to visit their restaurant - Smooth Curry. It was really delicious and of course with excellent service. Definitely we will come back again on my next trip to Bangkok.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angèle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaAtheneeBKK, General Manager at Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Angèle L,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us in the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel and for sharing your review on TripAdvisor.

It is truly inspiring to know that Mr. Arm, Ms. Natt and the team in Le Royal Club provided you with excellent service that made you feel very welcome. I am also delighted that you had a chance to try our award winning Smooth Curry venue which serves Royal Thai cuisine, I will be sure to share you kind praise with the team to further reinforce all their efforts.

Once again thank you for your kind feedback and recommendations. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel on your return to Bangkok.

Kind regards,
ChooLeng Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
121 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

In October 2013; I spent 5 nights for a business meeting in the Plaza Athenee Hotel. Everything was impeccable during this stay.
room on the 18th floor are spacious and clean. There is a bath tube and a shower in each bathroom. The toileries were generously replaced twice a day... The spa is pricey but woth it. The massages are delicate and the staff very efficient.
The breakfast and lunch buffets were exquisite with a variety of high quality cuisines from Thailand, China, Japan, India, France and even good Italian expresso! It was a pleasure to eat. The thai restaurant at the 3rd floor was good too.
The hotel from le Meridien chain is a very good fusion of Thai high service and French touch...
It is conveniently located at PloenChit sky train station, so it is easy to take the subway to popular shopping malls like MBK, Paragon and Central World!
Everyone was very helpful, efficient and Professional. It was a true pleasant sojourn, I wish to renew next year!
Definitively I recommend the Plaza Athenee for business and leisure trips.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpicyCinderella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaAtheneeBKK, General Manager at Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear SpicyCinderella,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

It is indeed a true privilege to receive such positive feedback from you. You certainly have touched on several areas in our hotel where our team strives to provide our valued guests with a memorable experience. Whether it be dinning in The Rain Tree Café and Smooth Curry or having a relaxing massage in our Athénée Spa it is great to know that you thoroughly enjoyed our Thai service with a French touch. I will certainly share your kind compliments with our team.

Once again thank you for your kind feedback and recommendation, we look forward to welcoming you back to Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,
ChooLeng Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

Top notch property with excellent staff.
The service was extraordinary / breakfast buffet one of the best I've ever had. Room was large and modern.
Nice touches like fruit of cookies left for me each evening.
Laundry was free for SPG Platinum and the WiFi worked very well. More power outlets would be nice but a minor complaint.
I Highly recommend!

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Chris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaAtheneeBKK, General Manager at Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Chris E,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor and for staying with us in the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel.

It certainly is a pleasure to receive such positive feedback from a valued guest such as yourself.
Our signature Le Méridien Breakfast Buffet does indeed provide a wide variety of cuisine and we are thrilled that you appreciated it along with the excellent service our associates provided. Should you require more power outlets in your room during your next stay with us, please let our concierge know as they would happily provide you with an extension strip with several power outlets.

Once again, thank you for your kind feedback and recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back soon to the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel.

Kind regards,
ChooLeng Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
243 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

The local name had originally made me think it was a local hotel.
Yes it is run by the people at Le Meridien.
Yes, the standards of all facilities at the property from doorman to reception staff (even at a 1am check-in) to breakfast to porters are all very good.

I was made to feel very welcomed.

It is close to a the BTS Skytrain which makes it convenient to get away to some other location if there was a traffic jam just outside due to rain or whatever Bangkok throws at you.

Room Tip: What can I say, all rooms seem nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edster88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaAtheneeBKK, General Manager at Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Edster88,

Thank you for sharing such kind feedback on TripAdvisor regarding your stay with us in the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel.

Our hotel is indeed managed under Le Royal Méridien Brand and we are delighted that you felt that our facilities and service were all very good. More importantly, we are thrilled that our associates made you feel very welcome as exceptional service is what we strive to offer all of our valued guests. Our close proximity to the Ploenchit BTS Station certainly does provide a quick alternative to the sometimes heavy Bangkok Traffic and I am glad that you were able to may use of it.

Thank you once again for your positive review. We look forward to welcoming you back soon to Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel for another memorable stay.

Kind regards,
ChooLeng Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

After leaving Bali in the midst of the airport closures due to APEC and leisurely afternoon flight being turned into a sleep deprived 3am flight, the Plaza Athenee was an oasis of calm. Early checkin was no problem and the whole checkin was seamless. A thousand thanks to the staff at this point!! The service from staff never faltered for our entire stay, nothing was ever too much and this made our first stay in Bangkok much easier to enjoy. Rooms and amenities are excellent including fitness and pool area. Than you again, we will be back

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Scott E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaAtheneeBKK, General Manager at Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Scott E,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us in the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel.

International travel can at times prove to be quite stressful and tiring and I am delighted that my team went the extra step to ensure your stay with us was that much more comfortable and enjoyable. I will be sure to share your feedback with the team to recognize their efforts. Our lagoon styled swimming pool does indeed provide a fantastic area to relax in and we are delighted that you appreciated it.
Thank you once again for sharing such positive feedback. We are all looking forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to your oasis of calm in the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,
ChooLeng Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zhuhai, China
Level Contributor
91 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

A magnificent property. Lucky I get to check in on the club floor, wonderful experience in the hotel having kept a profile and really taking an interest in wanting to know whats going to make your stay great!

Its the attention to the detail and to the benefits of p members that I really like, they don't skimp and why should they for the small amount of money for "sweet dream" chocolates, the upgrade to the suite if they aren't being used, the fabulous club lounge and its cocktail hour, the best breakfast in any hotel I've stayed. I love this hotel for its revitalizing mode I leave it in, the hour in the hour in the squash court, the gym the swimming pool.

this property has got a great team, its not often you come across hotels these days with teams you can say are great from top to bottom. This one for the time being is the great one!

As this is not my first review of this property this year, i have taken the time to add some photos that i haven't previously,

The gym here is very well equipped, its got all the gear for great workout!

the pool is great for really good laps, its not short like most.

The restaurants are great as always, try the thai restaurant

Room Tip: upgrade to suite!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel_enhancement
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaAtheneeBKK, General Manager at Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear mike m,

First of all we would like to thank you for your continued support of the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel and for sharing such a kind review on TripAdvisor.

Receiving such positive feedback from a valued guest like yourself is indeed inspiring. I feel privileged to work with such a great team and your kind comments provide a true testimony to all the efforts they put forth each day. We are thrilled that you thoroughly enjoyed using so many of our facilities here in the hotel, such as our lagoon styled swimming pool, our extensive fitness center as well as our award winning Smooth Curry by Chef Jasvier which serves authentic Royal Thai Cuisine. We would also like to thank you for posting so many photos of our property, as they say, a picture speaks a thousand words!
Thank you once again for sharing such positive feedback, the team and I are all looking forward to welcoming you back soon to the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel for another memorable stay.

Kind regards,
ChooLeng Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pathumwan
InterContinental Bangkok
InterContinental Bangkok
#15 of 858 in Bangkok
3,114 reviews
Sivatel Bangkok
#64 of 858 in Bangkok
1,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel

Property: Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel
Address: 61 Wireless Road (Witthayu) | Ploenchit Skytrain Station, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Pathumwan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#28 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#40 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#40 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#85 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 374
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien is a luxury hotel located in the commercial heart of Bangkok, steps from Phloenchit skytrain station. Offering 28 function spaces, it is favoured by businessmen and Thai society alike, for hosting one-of-a-kind events, meetings and weddings. With sustainability being in the core of the hotel DNA, it became the first in the world to achieve an ISO 20121 certification for Sustainability Event Management System. Not only does the hotel offer 5,600 sqm of creative, flexible function spaces, each of the 374 guestrooms and suites boasts a neo-colonial inspired design which recently won a Five Star Asia Pacific Property Award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meridien Bangkok
Plaza Athenee Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing