We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a great choice for Bangkok”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel
Ranked #20 of 881 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 1, 2008

In short although the reception is impressive, the rooms are bland and nothing special. Its a typical corporate style chained hotel room which makes you feel like you could be anywhere in the world but nowhere in particular. There are plenty of far nicer hotels in Bangkok, so i wouldnt waste your money here. Try the Peninsula or the Conrad for better value for money and a feeling of being in the far east!

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Lulublue32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,217)
There are newer reviews for Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,704 - 1,710 of 2,217 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2008

Got and excellent deal here back in 2004 for only $75 per night booking directly from the hotel. Stayed in a very large room on a high floor that had an excellent view of the city.

Hotel was absolutely fantastic! The lobby itself is quite impressive with an amazing included buffet breakfast. Definitely one of the best buffet breakfasts I have ever had.

Highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed: November 2004, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank tfieldin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2008

My Husband and I stayed at this hotel for the first 3 nights of our honeymoon in December. We requested the airport limosine service which was well worth it, and a lovely way to arrive in Bangkok for our first time. The hotel staff were really friendly and helpful throughout our whole stay. Our room was incredible, we had a Royal Club room which gave us access to the Royal Club Suite for complimentary drinks and snacks. It is very close to the Skytrain which was very useful. Such a perfect hotel to come home to after a long day in Bangkok, I would definately stay there again if I was ever lucky enough to get the chance!

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank CarolyneW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2008

Plaza Athenee is a nice hotel conveniently located next to All Seasons Place. Staff is friendly. My arrival to the hotel was around 1:00am due to the airlines schedule. Although I booked a couple weeks in advance, on arrival only a 2 bed upgrade room was available, no suites Did not feel like it was an upgraded room, since it compares to so many regular rooms at hotels all over the US.. Room was so so, got a better upgrade room at the Royal orchid sheraton and the Sheraton Grand Sukumvit. Rates usually lower at the Royal Orchid Sheraton. The plus is that you have access to the executive lounge, which provided a nice breakfast, but again the breakfast at the other Sheratons are so much bigger and include much more different selections. But it was worth it to check it out and although there are so many other luxury places to stay at, I give it another try if the rate is good. The experience of enhanced benefits of being a starwood frequent guest is more at the Sheratons in Bangkok.

  • Stayed: January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alank1101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalMeridien, General Manager at Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2008

Dear Guest!

Thank you very much for your review on TripAdvisor. I appreciate your comments about the friendliness of our associates, however I was sorry to learn about your disappointment with the SPG benefits you received.

When you checked in at the end of January we were sold out for several days and could not provide an upgrade to a suite as we usually do for SPG Platinum members as all suites have been sold in advance. However, please be assured that we do our outmost to provide a suite on your next stay as well as access to Le Royal Club Lounge on the 26th floor with associated benefits such as breakfast, afternoon tea and evening cocktails. If you like, you can also have breakfast at Rain Tree Café on the ground floor with a much wider selection which would also be included in your benefits.

We would very much welcome the opportunity to regain your confidence in our services for SPG Platinum members and are looking forward to welcoming you back soon to Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel!

With best regards,

Georges Baurin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2008

We have stayed at the Plaza Athenee several times and feel it is the top hotel in Bangkok. The staff is exceptional and the club floor food and service is outstanding. Additionally, having three computer terminals available for the use of guests at no charge is extremely helpful. Also, during this same trip we stayed at one of the other top rated hotels in Bangkok - Must be a new GM there - entirely different from previous experiences and would not return.

Stayed: January 2008
1  Thank onemoreplace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2008

My husband and I stayed here for 1 night. Was a very nice, tradtional hotel with a huge lobby and sweeping staircases. The rooms were nice - no complaints.

Location was good - in walking distance the the Central Shopping Centre and a very short walk to the Skytrain station.

A good reliable hotel. Professional but nothing out of the ordinary. If youre looking for something a little different or more exciting,(and for a better price), I would check out the Dream Hotel, Bangkok.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank SaffyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2008

We stayed at this hotel 23rd Dec 2007 to 1st Jan 2008, as part of a longer trip that included Abu Dhabi and Dubai. We have been to Thailand a few times before but only ever stayed in Bangkok for a couple of days and decided this time to see all that Bangkok had to offer. We travelled as a family of four - two adults, two children and booked two interconnecting Royal Club Rooms. We booked the hotel through Dial a Flight and paid less than £100 sterling per room per night - we thought this was reasonable considering it was peak season (Christmas and New Year). As we were there for 9 days, we chose this hotel as we wanted to be central and in a good location that was slightly quieter, and had a great pool.The hotel is on Wireless Road near to many embassies and Lumphini Park. The sky train station (Ploen Chit) is 2 minutes walk from the hotel which provides easy access to the malls, markets, main sights etc, but taxi's are cheap and plentiful from the hotel. We arrived at 9am after a night flight from Abu Dhabi and got an estate car taxi from the airport to the hotel - easily fitted us all in, as well as 4 large cases and hand luggage. Cost was 600 baht - took approx. 25 minutes.

Lobby area - very spacious and beautifully laid out. We were immediately directed to the Club Lounge for check in as we had booked Royal Club Rooms.

Club Lounge - this is on the 26th floor. Large and spacious, beautifully furnished. Has plenty of sofa's as well as tables and chairs. Plenty of newspapers and 'coffee table' style books to browse as well as games for you to play - chess, backgammon etc. Also has computers for club guests to use with free internet access. We found the service from the club room staff to be superb. Breakfast is from 6.30am to 11am - brilliant spread - not just a cold buffet/ continental - includes bacon, eggs, french toast, pancakes etc. Chef is on hand to cook your eggs anyway you like. You have the choice of having breakfast in either the lounge or the main breakfast restauarant on the ground floor - we tried the main restaurant one day, but preferred the lounge. Quieter and more personal service and you didn't get that much more choice downstairs than the lounge. Free soft drinks, tea, coffee etc. all day. Aftenoon tea is 3-6pm - great club sandwiches, mini bagels with roast beef, chicken etc. Also, freshly made scones with clotted cream and jam and other 'mini' style deserts like eclairs. Evening cocktails and canapes are from 7-9pm. There is a cocktail menu as well as wine, spirits etc - whatever you fancy really. They are also very good at offering refills - whether you are having an alcoholic drink or not. The canapes are great - it's more like a dinner! You could eat and drink for free in the club lounge without needing to go for a meal later! We never found the club lounge that busy, apart from New Years Eve, and the personal service we received from the staff was fantastic. The only negative point about the club lounge is that it closes at 11pm! We have stayed in hotels throughout the worl with club lounges and this is the only one that closed so early. As we had our children with us, we did not often return to the hotel that late, but on occassion it would have been nice to sit and have a drink before bed! If the manager from the hotel is reading this, then change your early closing time! Most other 5 star hotels with club lounges are open 24 hours!

Rooms - we had two interconnecting Royal Club rooms on the 28th floor (the hotel has 29 floors). Beautifully furnished, with immaculate bathrooms. - fantastic views and they were enormous! As well as the large bed (the children had two beds in their room), there was a sofa, desk and chair and large plasma TV (great choice of channels including BBC and movies). We had free bottled mineral water that was regularly replenished as was the fruit bowl. There was also tea and coffee (instant and filter) making faciities in each room, complimentary morning newspaper. There was an ironing board and iron and hairdryer that you could plug in anywhere - I hate it when they provide a fixed one only in the bathroom. They even had large umbrella's - useful if you are there in the rainy season! Bathroom had walk in shower and separate bath. Toiletries were superb - even included toothbrush and toothpaste and shaving kits. Nice robes and slippers. Rooms were kept immaculate by the cleaning staff and turndown service was good. On Christmas Day each of the children found on their pillows a stocking with some presents! On New Years Day we received some beautiful confectionery.

Swimming pool - this is on the 4th floor. We used it nearly every day as we had blue skies and sunshine every day. The pool is really beautiful and surprisingly large. It's hard to tell you are in the middle of Bangkok! It's really well laid out, with a shallow pool for children. Lots of greenery, trees so you feel like it's a little oasis. There is also a garden and jogging track. I love to sunbathe, and there were plenty of sunbeds which had the sun all day. But there was also plenty of shaded areas for those who don't. Service by the pool was excellent - staff brought you as many towels as required and were quick with drinks and food. There is a restaurant attached to the pool area which serves light lunches/ snacks.

Spa/ gym - we went and had a good look at these, but didn't actually use these services. Spa is beautiful, gym small but more than adequate. They also had squash courts.

Concierge - as a previous reviewer found, we did not find the concierge helpful at all when we were asking for information for sightseeing etc. When we mentioned this to the manager of the Club Lounge, she was extremely symapthetic and did raise the issue with front desk management. From then on, we just asked the Club Lounge staff to assist us - which they did wonderfully. By way of recompense, the Club Lounge manager gave us free late checkout, which was great.

Would I return to this hotel? In an instant. Great location and facilities - would highly recommed the Royal Club Rooms - the Club Lounge alone makes it worth it.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank eastbarnetgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#17 of 881 in Bangkok
8,401 reviews
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Silom
Le Meridien Bangkok
Le Meridien Bangkok
#12 of 881 in Bangkok
3,560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel

Address: 61 Wireless Road | Phloenchit Skytrain Station, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Pathumwan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#19 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#40 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#40 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#85 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: $152 - $376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 374
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of central Bangkok just steps from Phloenchit BTS skytrain station, The Athenee Hotel, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Bangkok is built on the former site of Kandhavas Palace and is one of Bangkok’s most fashionable places to stay and play host. Each of the 374 guestrooms and suites provides impressive views of Bangkok skyline and showcases a Thai-colonial design blending historic Thai culture with the most modern conveniences. Guests looking to relax have an array of facilities to enjoy, including a choice of eight award-winning food and beverage venues, rooftop lagoon-style swimming pool, and spa treatments curated for every blood type, to name a few. Family-friendly options include a choice of Family Room or Family Suite, child-friendly swimming pool, and amenities tailor-made to make your child’s stay more memorable. With the recent completion of a remodeling project, the hotel has been awarded the prestigious Five Star Asia Pacific Property Award 2015-2016 in the category of “Best Hotel Interior Thailand.” The hotel is also the first hotel in the world to achieve an ISO20121 certification for sustainable operations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Starwood APAC, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meridien Bangkok
Plaza Athenee Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing