We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com$103
Tripadvisor$103
travelup.com
Booking.com$103
Priceline$103
Hotels.com$103
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,997)
Filter reviews
5,997 results
Traveler rating
5,005
703
189
45
55
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
5,005
703
189
45
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rain tree silk road smooth curry the royal club lounge raintree cafe housekeeping team wireless road central embassy dim sum breakfast buffet business trip house keeping thai restaurant bts station marisa khun concierge
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4,261 - 4,266 of 5,997 reviews
Reviewed August 30, 2012

The Plaza Athenee is the place I called home for my two weeks of stay alone in Bangkok. I have all my needs and requirements fully taken care by the passionate staff from the front office to the club lounge. I especially love my cool morning breakfast at the club lounge where I am pamper by the gracious service rendered by Mr Mono and his team Mr Tom, Ms Noi and Chef Yada.
The staff are all very graciously professional & multi lingual, sincere, attentive, friendly, patience and understanding. A great place with total care like home.

Room tip: The room are especially spacious and comfortaBLE.
Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank NG N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaAtheneeBKK, General Manager at The Athenee Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2012

Dear Ng N,

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor following your recent stay at Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien.

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and was able to call our hotel ‘home’ for the duration of your stay. It is encouraging to know that you had a great experience at the club lounge and found our associates provided you a professional service. I am sure our team will be thrilled with your feedback.

Once again, may I thank you for your favourable comments. I truly appreciate them and I hope you will have another opportunity to visit us again in the future.

Kind regards,

ChooLeng Goh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

One of most luxurious hotel I ever been to. Everything is really impressive about the room and the reception areas. The people working here are all really professional and well-trained and speak good English. Only problem was the price but if you have plenty of money (or your company is paying) I recommend staying here.

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

The location is good and pretty much near the main action. 5 mins walk to the BTS. Shiny lobby and functional rooms. I was staying at the Starwood levels hence the interior seems to have been refreshed. The pillows are too soft for me and I requested for foam pillow the next morning.

The breakfast buffet every morning is great and we look forward to it each day! Especially love their blueberry muffins but had only been able to have it once.

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank JieheWang
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_01846, General Manager at The Athenee Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Dear Nahhh,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on TripAdvisor following your stay at Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel. We truly appreciate and value your feedback.

I am thrilled to know that you found the facilities at the hotel to be of a good standard. I would also like to thank you for your comment on dining services we provided and I am glad you enjoyed our breakfast buffet especially blueberry muffins and hope we can welcome you again very soon to taste your favorite muffins.

Regarding to your comment on the pillow, for your information, the list of pillows is provided in the room for guest’s selection or please do not hesitate to highlight to us your pillows preference upon reservation or check in on your next visit.

Thank you once again for your favorable comments and do hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

ChooLeng Goh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed for three days, the hotel is nice. Rooms were ok size. Breakfast is ok types, dinner was also average. the swimming pool is on the fourth floor. the rooms are very clean. it has smoking and non-smoking floors which is quite good. over-all nice hotel to stay.

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ArpitU
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

The hotel is located on embassy-road. US embassy & it's ambassador's residence is just down the road. So this is a slightly upmarket property considering the surroundings. Witnessed a minor protest at the US embassy during our stay but it was small scaled with not much traffic disruption.

The hotel has a grand entrance and it seemed like they are always hosting some high society event at their premises. For a start, cleanliness was very good and you get the feeling of a 5 star hotel upon stepping in. Unfortunately, the 5-star is just a feeling, once you take into account the service quality you'd get disappointed.

We requested for a twin bedded room at check-in and was told it would be ready when the other guests had checked out & the room cleaned. We were fine with that since we were heading out for some shopping anyway. That was at about 11am. By the time we return from our shopping at about 5-6 pm, the room was still not ready and was told that it'll take another 15 minutes. So we waited & waited & waited, after more than an hour and 4 telephone calls, the room was finally available. And we had to personally head down to the reception to get the key. Impression on our first day was dashed. On the second day, the in-room safe was not functioning. Anticipating their slow response, we decided to ask for help to fix it at the front desk as we went for the buffet breakfast at 8am. Told them they could go ahead & come into our room to carry out the repair while we're having breakfast and we'll be out for the rest of the day too. Upon our return in the evening at about 9-10pm, the safe was not fixed. We gave up on asking the hotel to follow-up on the matter. Eventually, it was fixed because we had asked for a DVD player (which came within 15 min, surprisingly!) and concurrently asked if the service staff could also looked into the safe problem.
For the remaing days of our stay there, the passenger lift seems to have broken down with half of them working. Swimming pool on the 4th floor was fine, nothing fantastic since this is a city hotel. The most odd experience I've ever had ordering beer from the poolside was that the beer came 2/3 full! It sure looked like someone had drunk some of it before being served. It's puzzling as to why couldn't they find a correct size beer mug or just fill it up if they're going to use the slightly larger glass.
Anyway, we wouldn't be considering coming back to this hotel the next time because there's plenty of better quality hotels in Bangkok for about the same price. By the way, getting to other parts of Sukhumvit road from this hotel would entail higher taxi charges because of the way the roads are designed, the cab would have to take a longer route as compared to when getting back to the hotel.
One more issue, that's not related to the hotel. Be very careful with the taxi drivers in Bangkok, especially those who offer fake watches & jewellery. These are potential conmen. We made a mistake of not ensuring the taxi went by meter, assuming the hotel concierge had told the driver to go by metered fare. So we were asked to pay much more than necessary & to top it off, the driver did a switch of money on us claiming that we gave him only Bht60 when we actually gave him Bht 300. Preyed on our unfamiliarity with the look of their currency.
Bangkok is great for food & value shopping but be careful of unsavory characters who will strike when you're temporary off-guard.

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jayewp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_01846, General Manager at The Athenee Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2012

Dear Jayewp,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien and taking your time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are extremely sorry for the unfortunate experience that you encountered in various areas during your stay with us. Your comment about service attention or the beer glass is certainly an unacceptable standard.

This is absolutely not the experience we aim to provide our guests and I am truly sorry that this happened to you. Our goal is to provide our guests with an attentive + personalised service and I regret that we did not meet your expectations.

Once again, thank you for taking your time to share your thoughts and I am truly sorry for any inconvenience caused. I hope that the experience will not deter you from choosing Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel for your next visit in Bangkok. Please feel free to contact me directly so that I may assure you of my personal attention.

Kind Regards,

ChooLeng Goh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews