We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Le Royal Club Lounge was fantastic!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel
Ranked #42 of 851 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Le Royal Club Lounge was fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

We have been here for three nights already, and we have been drinking here every night. The people working at the 26th floor were very kind and especially Nittah who served us during our stay here was fabulous! Wish coming back here in the winter time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KMakino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,860 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,232
    465
    112
    24
    27
See reviews for
239
479
214
656
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

Great rooms and very professional , kind saff! Lovely and pleasant stay and wonderful time.definetly recommend for a short or a long stay . Great restaurant ambience with delicious food! Complimentary internet.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nest0rMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

I have been here for three nights already, and I have been drinking here every night. The people working at the Glaz Bar are the most prettiest people in the world. WArintorn was the one that stands out the most. She is absolutely beautiful and friendly. And all of the other staffs are also very friendly and customer friendly oriented. I highly recommend this bar to people who want to have a quiet, unwinding drink experience. It is absolutely relaxing to stop by and have a drink.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Jj6969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaAtheneeBangkok, General Manager at Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Dear Jj6969,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on TripAdvisor.

I am pleased to hear that you had a soulful and unwinding drink experience at the Glaz Bar and that you appreciated the attentive service and friendliness of our associates. Your comments are greatly appreciated. I look forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien and to visit the Glaz Bar for another delightful evening once again.

Kind Regards,

ChooLeng Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

This is based on my experience during our brief stay last week.

Stuff I liked about the hotel ---

1. The staff was genuinely friendly, cheerful, courteous, and eager to be of assistance. The front desk staff were patient and accommodating. The concierge was knowledgeable and promptly answered our queries and requests.
2. The room was spacious and very clean. The bed was very comfortable. Each bed had 2 pillows--one fluffy as a cloud, the other firm. The bathroom was immaculate. All knobs, levers and locks were functioning.
3. Water pressure in the bath was strong, which is always a good thing.
4. The rooms had a torch light, an iron/ ironing board, a bathroom scale, salon-grade hairdryer, an electronic safe, bathrobes and room slippers.
5. There was a bowl of fresh local fruits in the room and a generous supply of complimentary bottled water (5 bottles on Day 1 alone as compared to the 2 complimentary bottles provided by most hotels, if ever)
6. I liked that they already provided a bottle opener/cork screw, a variety of glassware--brandy glasses, wine glasses, water glasses (apart from the 2 other glasses in the bathroom). They also provided a good supply of table napkins, a selection of coffees and teas and an electric kettle at the minibar.
7. The aircon, clock and lighting controls are located in a central desktop console by the bedside table. Super convenient! Love it!
8. Breakfast buffet provided varied choices. Besides the usual cheese and cold cuts section, cereal station,and the baskets upon baskets of freshly baked breads, there was an egg station, a waffle/pancake/crepe station, an asian noodle soup station, a japanese takoyaki balls station, fresh local fruits, and a variety of asian and continental dishes--sausages, stir fried veggies, quiches, fried noodles, fried rice, etc. Besides the fresh fruit drinks (not canned or from concentrate), they offered soy milk, and yoghurt drinks. While guests are doing the rounds of the buffet, a coffee press is brought to their table!
9. The gym was small but adequate. During our stay they were installing brand new equipment at the gym. Sadly, was unable to stay longer to try them out. They have a jogging path adjacent to the pool. The pool is small but charming.

They do have a spa. For a hotel based-spa, the prices are affordable. Did not have the chance to try it out but i've read some good reviews about it. They currently have a promo for a 1 hour aromatherapy massage priced at 1,500THB nett from 10AM-3PM daily until August or September (can't recall).

Stuff I did not like---

1. Seemed to me the bathroom walls were rather thin. From the bathroom, we could tell when the folks next door were flushing, using the showers, and the faucets.
2. The elevator service was rather slow. However, there was a letter of apology already waiting in our rooms upon check-in explaining that the inconvenience was due to the ongoing elevator upgrading.
3. I'm not sure how often they change the menu for breakfast. Although the food is tasty, I noticed that they served the same stir-fried peppered beef strips, sauteed mushrooms, fried noodles, and fried rice on subsequent days...
4. WIFI is not readily available in the guest rooms. Such a service has to be arranged with the front desk clerks. Perhaps, this should be a standard provision for business hotels, considering the age we live in.

All things considered, I love this hotel. The hotel is in a safe, quiet neighborhood (across from the US ambassador's residence and the US embassy). Its a 5 minute walk to the Ploenchit BTS, below which you find a row of street food vendors (it seemed popular with the locals) a 7-11, and a Dean and Deluca coffee place, etc. And a 15-20 minute walk to the malls near Chidlom and Siam BTS stations at one end and the Lumphini Park at the other end. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tmblweed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaAtheneeBangkok, General Manager at Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear tmblweed,

Thank you for staying at Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel and for sharing your valuable feedback on TripAdvisor.

It is encouraging to learn that you enjoyed your stay and found our associates delivered excellent services hence I will certainly share your reviews with them as everyone works especially hard to provide a professional service. I am also glad to learn that you appreciated our breakfast buffet, the hotel’s prime location situated in the heart of Bangkok and within a walking distance to BTS station. Your kind comments are greatly appreciated.

Apart from your positive feedback, I would like to thank you for your comment about the elevator service. As you are aware that we are currently in the process of upgrading the elevator service and this is expected to be complete in October 2012. With regards to the bathroom wall, for your information, we are currently in the process of soft refurbishing guestrooms in order to ensure that our guests continue to receive the high standard of the facilities.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel.

Kind Regards,
Choo Leng
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

We've been there for 3 nights. The hotel is very elegant. Everything is clean. Very nice toilet with black and white ceramics. Their breakfast was incredible! My husband who loves seafood had salmon, sushi and shrimp for breakfast and it was the best between 3 other hotels we've been too. The location is excellent. We were 5 minutes away from the malls and sky train by walk.
Two things just bothered me: Items in the cooler like drinks and stuff were very expensive and the fruit platter you get it just on the first day.
Overall it's a very good hotel to stay in.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaAtheneeBangkok, General Manager at Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Dear Christine C,

Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful feedback on TripAdvisor following your recent stay. It was a pleasure to note how much you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you were pleased with our seafood selections during breakfast, the bathroom features, and great location of the hotel. I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your continued support and for choosing to stay at Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel.

In addition to the kind comments, kindly accept my sincere apologies with regards to the shortfalls you mentioned. You may rest assured that the matter will be taken into consideration for future improvements.

In closing, may I thank you, once again, for taking the time to review us. We are grateful for your support and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards,

ChooLeng Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyon, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

Great service, super team at Smooth Curry restaurant. Second time we go to this hôtel, the team greeted us as we were family, so nice people.
One bad point : business center with Internet not opened 24h/24h, closed on Sunday, a real problem for air ticket check-in.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frederick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
159 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

The good:
- very comfortable beds
- great breakfast
- great recreational facilities
- most important, ; excellent location next to ploenchit sky train station
The bad:
- bathrooms are in need of refurbishing. There was some mould growing in btw the tiles, the shower head was so low, I had to bend to take a proper shower. Bath towels were rather old and hard.
The ugly:
I requested via e-mail for a quiet room away from the lift landing, and with no connecting door. Requested the same upon check in, the check in agent totally ignored e and gave me a room actually sharing a wall with the lift. Back to the checking area, room changed, and this one had a connecting door, could hear what was going on next door. The floor was entirely booked by a China group tour. They. Ace noise till 5 am. But I was too tired to raise the issue again. Was give a decent room the next morning.

Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank AngmohofArabia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaAtheneeBangkok, General Manager at Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Dear MichaelofArabia,

Thank you for taking your time to share your feedback in TripAdvisor following your recent stay at Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien and for letting us know that you appreciate our recreational facilities, the great location of the Hotel and the comfort of our signature Le Méridien bed. Indeed, it was encouraging to learn how much you impressed with our breakfast which we are proud of with the quality and great setup.

Apart from your positive feedback, I would like to thank you for your comment about the bathroom conditions, please be informed that we are currently in the process of soft refurbishing guestrooms in order to ensure that our guests continue to receive the high standard of the facilities. In addition to your comments about the room assignment and the noise disturbance. Please accept my sincere apologies that we failed to meet your expectations on this occasion. Kindly be informed that I have taken your comment very seriously and immediately taken necessary actions to prevent a similar inconvenience in the future.

Once again, thank you for taking your time to share your thoughts with us. We would much appreciate an opportunity to welcoming you back again in the future. Should there be any further feedback please feel free to contact me directly.

Kind Regards,

ChooLeng Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
JW Marriott Hotel Bangkok
Sivatel Bangkok
#62 of 851 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel

Property: Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel
Address: 61 Wireless Road (Witthayu) | Ploenchit Skytrain Station, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Pathumwan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#38 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#40 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#40 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#85 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 374
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a leafy boulevard in the city centre of Bangkok, the hotel is a short walk (3 minutes) from Ploenchit BTS skytrain station and the new Central Embassy luxury shopping mall and close to the city's other premier malls, including Central World, Siam Paragon and EM District. The hotel is also renowned for warm and attentive service and modern facilities including the sumptuous newly remodelled lagoon-landscaped Swimming Pool + Fitness Athénée. Choose among 374 sumptuously remodelled guestrooms + suites in exquisite contemporary Thai colonial style conceptualised by an award-wining Thai designer with royal heritage elegance and deep-rooted environment awareness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood APAC, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meridien Bangkok
Plaza Athenee Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing