We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Athenee Hotel, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Ranked #18 of 887 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2012

I stayed quite a few times at this hotel over a period of six years. It is a great hotel in a very good location. Rooms are spacious with all amenities. The pool area is large with lots of green and a garden. Pool good for swimming, seldom busy. The hotel lobby is big for Bangkok standards, the cafe downstairs can get busy. Best here is the Royal Club Lounge on 26th floor. Lots of space, plush furniture and great skyline views. Evening cocktails are great (Mai Tai), phantastic food, often with a japanese touch. Afternoon tea has scones with clotted cream and nice cake. Staff ist friendly and attentive. I will come back...

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steurea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,364)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,516 - 1,522 of 2,364 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2012

I have stayed at Plaza Athenee numerous times and always appreciate services from all friendly staff members (front desk, executive lounge, and Rain Tree for breakfast). This hotel is located at the heart of Bangkok, close to BTS (Sky train) and shopping areas. Breakfast selections are abundance. Executive lounge is unmatched from my SPG stays in the U.S. and Thailand. With their excellent services, there is no doubt that many high profile weddings are held at this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TripleP-Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

I have been in Bangkok many times and this was my first experience with the Plaza Athenee. From the beginning I was impressed by the Lobby entrance as well as by the Staff who always had a great customer focus and a very kind and natural attitude. Their smiles are natural, not false, and they truly show the desire to help you and make you happy.
Everything at the hotel was perfect, the room, bathroom, facilities, Business center, restaurants, outside smoking areas and location.
The hotel is just one block from the Skytrain public transportation system and from all main shopping areas and restaurants.
Don't waste time looking for a better option, this is the right place...and the Buffet Breakfast is fantastic! much more superior than any breakfast offered by those 5 stars hotels by the river.

If I may mention an area for possible improvement; that's the Taxi Service. I found difficult to get a public taxi from the porter when I need it.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roccox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

For our coming Holiday Stay in 13 May 2012....my wife insisted that we must stay in this Plaza Athenee Bangkok... the resason being the hospitality of the two staff your hotel has on her. For recollection of name of two staffs they are Ms Posri Karayak and Ms Pranee Phoyen.
Hope to see both of them in Your Hotel. Well done ladies for the good impression both of you have made on my wife. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RayLynLyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

Stayed here a week, half pleasure half business. Food excellent, leisure facilities excellent.
To sum up...excellent

Stayed: May 2012
Thank Steve_G_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

This is the second time for me and my family to stay at Plaza Athenee for three days. The breakfast was so great and so many selections. The afternoon tea and evein cockail were none of the second to talk about because the menu was changed everyday, good quality and fresh. I and my wife were so enjoyed with good wine with unlimited for two hours complimentary.The staff at the club were so friend and helpful. Even there were many guests at that time but they have never let our dry.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Akiksho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

Considering it's age, the hotel was in fantastic condition. It's fronting Wireless Road, which is like Embassy row in bangkok. Very lush and green (by bkk standards).
I would certainly recommend it esp if there is a special as otherwise it is expensive.

The check in service was good, and they signed me up for their SPG rewards without fuss on check-in... in comparison, I had so many problems with Accor's A-Club programme after my stay at Sofitel HCM previously.

Athenee's breakfast each morning was great... good selection and decent quality . Staff were generally friendly. The room was also comfortable and wifi worked well..

In terms of luxury, it wasn't quite as good as the Grande Sheraton we stayed at last visit. This pool area was very sunny and hot in the day, whereas the grande sheraton was an oasis.

We also wanted to use the spa, but the fact that treatments for tourists cost 2x more than what thai residents pay kind of put us off.

Location ... there is not much in the immediate vincinity of the hotel however, though I can recommend the Hyde & Seek gastro bar for decent food and lots of beer choices ... Pinky Tailor on the way to the BTS station which is well regarded, and the mexican food place (la quistos something...? It's near the tailor) .

The BTS station is not immediately visible, but a 10min walk away.

Room Tip: the higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank keltzar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#22 of 887 in Bangkok
8,555 reviews
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Silom
Le Meridien Bangkok
Le Meridien Bangkok
#12 of 887 in Bangkok
3,635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Athenee Hotel, a Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Athenee Hotel, a Luxury Collection Hotel

Address: 61, Witthayu Road | Lumphini, Pathum Wan, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Pathumwan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#17 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#40 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#40 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#85 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: $157 - $414 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Athenee Hotel, a Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 374
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of central Bangkok just steps from Phloenchit BTS skytrain station, The Athenee Hotel, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Bangkok is built on the former site of Kandhavas Palace and is one of Bangkok’s most fashionable places to stay and play host. Each of the 374 guestrooms and suites provides impressive views of Bangkok skyline and showcases a Thai-colonial design blending historic Thai culture with the most modern conveniences. Guests looking to relax have an array of facilities to enjoy, including a choice of eight award-winning food and beverage venues, rooftop lagoon-style swimming pool, and spa treatments curated for every blood type, to name a few. Family-friendly options include a choice of Family Room or Family Suite, child-friendly swimming pool, and amenities tailor-made to make your child’s stay more memorable. With the recent completion of a remodeling project, the hotel has been awarded the prestigious Five Star Asia Pacific Property Award 2015-2016 in the category of “Best Hotel Interior Thailand.” The hotel is also the first hotel in the world to achieve an ISO20121 certification for sustainable operations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Athenee Hotel, a Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meridien Bangkok
Plaza Athenee Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing