We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Satisfying place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel
Ranked #40 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
333 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Satisfying place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2011

The location of the hotel can't be beat. And the public areas of the hotel are very well done. It's an elegant place, without doubt.

If you can, opt for access to the club lounge, which is a very relaxing place to unwind. It's one of the best decorated spaces I've seen in a long time. The food in the lounge, however, leaves something to be desired. So, if you're on a diet, maybe that's a good thing.

I found my room, on a Starwood Preferred Gold level floor, to be rather drab and uninteresting. It was comfortable enough, but also very plain. There was some mold between the tiles in the bathroom, which, like my room, didn't look like it had been renovated in quite some time.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diploconcierge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooLeng_Goh, General Manager at Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel, responded to this review, September 29, 2011
Dear DiploConcierge,

Thank you for staying at Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel and for posting your comments on TripAdvisor. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated the great location of the Hotel. I am also glad that you liked the Club Lounge size and its great set-up, food, design and comfort.

Regarding the cleanliness of your bathroom, we must apologise for the unpleasant experience. Kindly be assured that this was an isolated case and that all necessary measures have been taken to prevent any reoccurrence. Please rest assured that your feedback is valuable to us and we will communicate with the team accordingly.

We are grateful for your support and look forward to welcoming you back to the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel, in the future.

Kind Regards,

ChooLeng
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,825 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,204
    458
    112
    24
    27
See reviews for
235
469
211
643
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2011

I truly great 3 days stay. Excellent service, really comfortable. I hardly left the hotel, and used it for 20+ business meetings. Everybody made me feel very much at home. Will surely be back. Breakfast buffet is excellent. And especially the executive lounge is superb. Very friendly staff, who make you feel very welcome.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacinta H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2011

Really great hotel - everything super 5 star. Service and staff friendly, helpful and un-intrusive.

A little away from the centre of the city or Pad Pong, but getting to the hotel by taxi or tuk tuk is part of the fun.

Food service was excellent. Room was good - not stand-out as in best I have ever stayed in, but really good and well done.

No hesitation to recommend although not sure I'd pay for a personal trip instead of going there on business.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RR_SYD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2011

The sumptuous brunch at Plaza Athenee is truly a feast! Amazing variety in every department, from the mini Wagyu Beef Burger with Foie Gras to Middle Eastern Kebab to fresh lobsters, frog-legs and oysters. Also noted gravlax of very hight quility. Noticable was also the creative touch of serving individually smoked snacks under, with smoke billowing out from the glass cover! And a cocktail frozen in liquid nitrogen, also individually prepared and seved at your table. Very inpressive and entertaining. Excellent service, following up on both food and wine (free flow), and also clearing away of dishes etc. All in all a memorable Sunday brunch that I would recommend to anyone with a hearty appetite!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windhoek
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2011

I visited Bangkok for from August 27 to September 3rd. I was pleasantly surprised by the reception I received at Plaza Athenee upon arrival. Hotel staff were pleasant and accomodative. They knew how to take customer service a step further. I have visited manyplaces before but this was by far my best exsperience and I must admit it made my stay in Hongkong so much more pleasant. I can safely say this is the type of place that you can call home away from home. Yes I will be back for sure.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2011

Hotels change staff all the time, it's the nature of the business. The great hotels make these transitions seamless to the guest. So it was this summer when I again stayed at the Plaza Athenee. It wasn't until after I had checked out that I learned of the "new" GM among other managers.

I never would have known - my stay this year was as wonderful as my stays in years past.

This truly is my favorite hotel in Bangkok.

Room Tip: Join the starwood loyalty program, SPG.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Emmyx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooLeng_Goh, General Manager at Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2011
Dear Emmyyx2,

Thank you for staying at Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel and taking the time to post this very inspirational review on Tripadvisor.

It is always encouraging to receive feedbacks especially positive ones. Our guests are our upmost priority and we make every effort to ensure that every guest has a very enjoyable time at the hotel every time. Rest assured that your comment will be communicated to the team which continues to motivate them to do even better than before.

Thank you once again and we hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back to Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel soon.

Kind regards,

ChooLeng
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2011

Stayed for a couple nights after our holiday in Koh Samui and enjoyed our stay.

Really enjoyed the following:

1) Really comfortable bed. Enjoyed it so much that we actuallly asked if we could purchase the linen seperately.

2) The breakfast was really great with a lot of selection of foods. Was impressed with the Jamon section and the varitey of breads and waffle/crepe section. The breakfast for 2 alone would be almost worth the price we paid for our stay!

3) Location. The hotel is conveniently located near a BTS station as it is a 5 min walk although had to experience some construction going on in the building to be opened next to the BTS station.

4) Friendly staff: As we were realy late to the airport after being stuck in the BTS station due to a heavy rainstorm, the concierge staff kindly helped us grab a taxi after individually recieving permission from each guest of the hotel waiting for a cap. Due to their hard efforts and the kind understanding of the guests, we were able to arrive at the airport on time. Thank you! Also thank you to Akiko at the front desk for her assistance and the housekeeping staff for their hospitality!

Things that we didn't like: Not much except that the rooms in the hotel is a bit outdated but can't complain for the price and the many positives of this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wookieyoo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
JW Marriott Hotel Bangkok
Sivatel Bangkok
#67 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel

Property: Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel
Address: 61 Wireless Road (Witthayu) | Ploenchit Skytrain Station, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Pathumwan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#36 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#40 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#40 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#86 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 374
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a leafy boulevard in the city centre of Bangkok, the hotel is a short walk (3 minutes) from Ploenchit BTS skytrain station and the new Central Embassy luxury shopping mall and close to the city's other premier malls, including Central World, Siam Paragon and EM District. The hotel is also renowned for warm and attentive service and modern facilities including the sumptuous newly remodelled lagoon-landscaped Swimming Pool + Fitness Athénée. Choose among 374 sumptuously remodelled guestrooms + suites in exquisite contemporary Thai colonial style conceptualised by an award-wining Thai designer with royal heritage elegance and deep-rooted environment awareness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA and Booking.com so you can book your Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meridien Bangkok
Plaza Athenee Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing