We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers
Ranked #69 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
TivertonRI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2008

My wife and I stayed at the Royal Orchid Sheraton for Nine nights in October and had a great time. Standard room on the 17th floor had a breathtaking view of the Chou Phrea River, spent hours just watching the view. The room had been remodeled and while not large was very comfortable. The king size bed had a great mattress. The bathroom was large with lots of amenities. We loved the soft robes. The hotel restaurants were very good but a little pricey. Hotel staff would bend over backwards to please us. The hotel tour director was very helpful in picking out very interesting and affordable tours. The only con was the noise from construction starting very early in the morning (8:30) but we understood it is neccessary to keep hotel updated. Front desk was willing to move us lower but we loved the view too much to move. Hotel is close to River Walk shopping area and had a free boat shuttle to the sky train station. Would gladly return to the Royal Orchid Sheraton.

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank MARKATivertonRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,341
    1,421
    316
    78
    39
See reviews for
809
1,896
270
508
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (870)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2008

We stayed in Bangkok for 4 nights and was really glad we chose to stay near the river it just seems that bit calmer and not as humid. It is so easy to get into the centre with the hotel river taxi which is very smart then on the skytrain and to get to the Grand Palace which would def recommend you can get another river taxi near the hotel and def do not believe anyone that say's it is shut or try's to direct you as they tried to send us the wrong way, the entrance is straight on up the road from getting off the ferry. The hotel was lovely it was nice and relaxing around the pools and the room was spacious & nice with a view of the river there was work being carried out but it just woke us up for breakfast & stopped about 18:00 so did not bother us as we was out most of the day but if you was going there to chill in the room in the daytime it can be noisy with the drills. I would def recommend the hotel for the location and the staff where lovely the only downside was the price of food/drinks it was ridiculous to say you can go outside to the stalls, 7 Eleven or River City next door and buy everything for a snip of the price, you do get some free water in the bathroom though.

  • Liked — Location & pools
  • Disliked — The prices for food/drink
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loubea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
231 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 276 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2008

My wife and I selected a number of hotels using Trip Advisor and then discussed them with our travel agent. The Sheraton Royal Orchid Hotel and Towers offered us the best value for money at that time so we booked 6 nights from 25th October 2008.

After a long hectic flight from Perth via Phuket and a bus trip from the airport we finally arrived at the Sheraton. At first I was a bit concerned because the entrance to the Hotel is via a number of back streets but on arriving we were both suitably impressed.

We were escorted to Check In by very friendly staff and was told that because we had booked for more than 4 nights we were going to be upgraded to a Junior Suite (no argument from us).

Check in took about 10 minutes and then we were escorted to our room (2414) and what a room it was. Consisting of three rooms (Lounge, Bedroom and Bathroom) it had sweeping views of the Chao Praya River and Bangkok. The Chao Praya is a working river and there were always boats and barges going back and forth 24/7.

The lounge had the usual chairs and lounge as well as a desk, bar fridge, digital safe, tea / coffee making facilities and a large plasma screen TV. The bedroom also had a large plasma screen TV, huge king size bed and desk. The bed was absolutely fantastic and was one of the best that I have slept in whilst on a holiday. There was also ample closet space and dressing area with a full length mirror. The bathroom had a bath/shower combination as well as a separate shower, toilet and all the usual mod cons and little subtleties that make a 5 Star Hotel what it is.

The hotel has numerous restaurants and bars including an Italian Restaurant, Traditional Thai Restaurant, an outdoor cultural experience themed restaurant, several snack bars, two swimming pools, a huge lobby bar and our favourite Etc Etc Restaurant.

On the first night we ate in Etc's where we had a Thai Smorgasbord comprising every imaginable seafood known to man including huge Tiger Prawns, Lobster and Crabs all cooked to perfection by the staff. After eating our fill we retired to our room to find that the bed had been turned down and complimentry bottles of water had been left for us.

Breakfast was of a similar quality with a huge range of diferent foods from authentic Thai through to bacon and eggs for those not so adventurous.

During our stay we were unable to fault the service, quality and attention to detail of the staff and will certainly go back there again if time and money permits.

  • Liked — The room upgrade and service.
  • Disliked — Very little.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Arthur V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2008

Very enjoyable stay.

Received upgrade on check-in as platinum SPG member but was clearly not the "best available" as per the platinum promise. However, a better upgrade was given on request. Unfortunately, it was so recently refurbished that the room had not been allowed to air and had such a strong paint smell as to give us a headache; moved again to an older room which was OK.

Door staff adequate but not outstanding in greeting and assisting with transport requests. Some polishing required.

The Towers lounge was absolutely outstanding and more than made up for the other minor issues. Breakfast, tea and cocktails all splendid. Special mention for Surawee Phongsuwareeyakul and Natchaya Lekhapanyaporn who were delightful and went out of their way to provide for my children who, understandably, were not permitted in the lounge itself during cocktails.

  • Liked — Club Lounge
  • Disliked — Room allocation on arrival
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank GF158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2008

I have had the pleaseure of staying in two other riverside hotels in addition to the Sheraton and I am sorry to say that the Sheraton was disappointing by comparison.

It is an old hotel now and very large so it lacked any sense of intimacy and in general is looking very tired. Whilst I know the rooms are being renovated I hope the lobby area is also included as it also lacks the sense of grandeur that other 5 star Bangkok hotels seem to capture so well.

We stayed in one of the unrenovated rooms away from the noise of the renovation and we were not disturbed but these rooms are also very tired looking and small by comparison to other hotels in the area. The views however from the rooms are fantasitc.

We ate the breakfast buffet daily and it is very chaotic due to a large amount of people trying to serve themselves from too few stations. The room also has a very low ceiling in parts so the noise build up in these areas is tremendous. I felt for the satff who seemed to be run off their feet. We also ate in the Thai restaurant on site but found the food dissapointing and choose not to try any of the other hotel restaurants. We did cross the river and ate most of major meals at the new Hilton (directly opposite) which was fantastic by comparrison.

The staff at the Sheraton, as always in Bangkok, were superb
and the main redeeming factor for me at the hotel.

So my summary overall, if the rate is significantly cheaper than other five star hotels in the area then stay at the Sheraton, otherwise shop around and see what the Hilton and Marriott have to offer as they are offten the same price and in my opinion offer a better product.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — small rooms in need of an update, average restaurants
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank mrchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2008

Relatively pricey place compared to other decent hotel options but the location is key. Right by the river so fantastic views and great access to the river taxi. I loved being able to visit the temples and markets and get back to hotel without worrying about traffic. I had a refurbished room I believe- it was lovely and quite comfortable- but they are renovating currently, so during the day there was lots of hammering. But not any way else you can do renovating really.
The staff are incredibly warm and helpful. The Thai restaurant there has very good food and atmosphere. Nice gym and 2 pools. Right around the corner is a place called Gallery Cafe. They have good food and a nice small spa with excellent prices (350 bhat for 1 hour massages). I didn't find many other spas for the same prices and relaxed physical space

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Price
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SDM6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
167 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2008

Having read some of the recent reviews of the Royal Orchid Sheraton I confirmed my booking with a fair degree of trepidation. However, given that the conference I was attending was located in the hotel I decided that I’d go ahead rather than travel from one of the other hotels’ in Bangkok where I usually stay like the Hyatt.

Before I go onto describe the hotel, I have to admit to being a complete wimp as I booked a car transfer from the airport through the hotel. Why? Well I once spent two and a half hours being driven around Bangkok in a taxi not knowing that we had gone past the hotel (via various nefarious means) at least five times!

On another slight diversion, I have to say that I do find getting through customs and immigration in Thailand always leaves me with a slightly odd sensation. I think it comes from the omnipresent Thai smile that emanates from everyone, even the boarder guards!

Anyhow, as I exited into the main arrival hall I was met by a representative from the hotel (also smiling) and taken to wait for the car which arrived exactly three minutes later. I was given a very welcome bottle of cold water and a cool wet towel and settled back for the drive to the hotel … accompanied by … you guessed it … a smiling driver.

The hotel is tucked away down a couple of rather dingy streets and so the first impressions are not exactly terrific. I was greeted very warmly and headed to the front desk to check in. I arrived around 5:30PM to be told that my room would not be available for “around 45 minutes”. The front desk was so apologetic and offered me free drinks in the lobby lounge. I declined and settled down with my book. 15 minutes later one of the front staff appeared to check I was OK. Another ten minutes went by and the front desk manager appeared to apologize and offer me more drinks! By the time I got my keys (an hour and ten minutes after I arrived) and headed to my room I was actually feeling like I should be apologizing for having put them to so much trouble! I headed up to the 7th floor only to find the key wouldn’t work so back down to the lobby. More apologies, lots of bowing by both sides and I headed back up to my room.

The rooms are a good size with a rather bland beige décor but are very pleasant and look out over the bustling Chao Phraya River. The bathroom was perfectly OK with one minor detail; no hot water for the bath / shower. I called the front desk and told them the problem. The response was an instantaneous and fulsome apology and less than 5 minutes later a plumber (a smiling one) arrived and fixed the problem.

Breakfast at the “Etc on the river” was a little chaotic due to a flood of people attending the conference but the service was terrific and the food was excellent. Being included in my room rate made it great value.

Given the culinary delights of Bangkok I didn’t eat in the hotel but I have to say that the lobby lounge service is wonderful. The wait staff is attentive and truly helpful. I asked one young lady if she knew of the Blue Elephant restaurant and not only did she give me her view on the food (which turned out to be spot on ) but then got a map and showed me the best way to get to the restaurant without having to use a taxi!

Now, what about the renovation noise? Well I didn’t hear a thing until one morning when I came back to my room to pick up some documents. The noise in the room was unbelievable. There was what sounded like jack-hammers in the room above and I have no idea how anyone could stay in the room with that level of noise when the work is going on which I understand is between 9:30AM and 5:30PM. Granted there was a note in my room apologizing for any inconvenience that could arise from the reconstruction and I have no way of knowing if the level of noise that I experienced takes place everyday. However I’m glad I was in the conference and not wanting to be in the room.

What made all of this manageable were the people. Anyone who has been to Thailand knows that the “Land of Smiles” isn’t just a marketing statement. It is absolutely true. This hotel exemplifies how that attitude can overcome problems that in some other hotels could have been disastrous.

Would I choose to stay at the Royal Orchid Sheraton before the renovation is finished? Probably not but I will certainly go back once it is completed. The smiles alone are worth it.

  • Liked — View of the Chao Phraya River
  • Disliked — Renovation noise
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank The_bald_gourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Millennium Hilton Bangkok
#119 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,972 reviews
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#18 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
The Peninsula Bangkok
#8 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,133 reviews
Silom
Le Meridien Bangkok
Le Meridien Bangkok
#12 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers

Property: Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers
Address: 2 Charoen Krung Road Soi 30 | Siphya, Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#44 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#44 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#53 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#62 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers 5*
Number of rooms: 726
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the legendary Chao Phraya River with exquisite views, we offer a pleasant combination of warm Thai hospitality and world-class service in a modern setting just minutes from Bangkok's business districts, entertainment, and attractions.Enjoy the refined style and modern comforts of a relaxing riverside hotel. Take time out at our two pools or book a spa treatment, discover exciting cuisine in our six restaurants and bars, or experience memorable events in 22 unrivaled function rooms.All 726 of our spacious guest rooms and suites boast spectacular panoramic river views. Revel in the warm, calming, and contemporary ambiance of these well-appointed accommodations, featuring subtle Thai style and the Sheraton Sweet Sleeper™ Bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda and Reservation Counter so you can book your Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel And Towers
Sheraton Royal Orchid
Sheraton Bangkok
Royal Orchid Sheraton Bangkok
Bangkok Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing