We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury hotel near.. well, nothing really.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers
Ranked #72 of 881 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed at the Royal Orchid Sheraton for 4 night at the end of our honeymoon. The hotel faces onto the river and our 22nd floor room had very impressive views. You could spend all day looking at books going up and down the river.

The room is very modern in presentation, much like any hotel room in europe or the US in fact. The bathroom was floor to ceiling marble and tastefully finished.

After being shown to our room by the clerk, we do what we normally do - explore our surroundings. Sadly, apart from the River Island shopping centre (don't bother, it's largely devoid of anything interesting), there is literally nothing within walking distance from the hotel. Your options are taxi, river boat (or taxi boat) or the sky train. The concierge will keep you right about how to get to your desired destination.

We took a taxi to the MBK shopping centre and it's ok if you like cheap bargains. For something very special, go to the Siam centres nearby. These are massive shopping centres, wear comfortable walking shoes. :)

We also took the river boat to the Grand palace (about 15 - 20 minutes up the river) and then tried to walk to Wat Pho (reclining buddha) but this was closed due to a Buddhist festival that day. Do check with the hotel concierge before heading out.

The hotel itself has plenty of restaurants inside. We did try the grill on the ground floor over looking the river (I forget the name) and it was nice, the italian on the 1st floor lobby which was equally nice and the thai restaurant also on the first floor which was amazing and an experience. Be warned though, these restaurants do shut at 10pm so late diners beware.

The bar in the lobby provides beautiful cocktails delivered by exceptionally presented waitresses. There was entertainment every night including a group called the Bangkok Beatles, a cover band recreating the fab four's best hits. Definitely worth your time to watch.

Free wifi is available for guests in the lobby but sadly not in the rooms. If you however sign in in the lobby just before going up to your room, you will get a free hour at least.

All in all, this is a huge but beautifully presented hotel with all that most could want inside. Ok, there's very little within walking distances but that's more a symptom of how spread out and vast Bangkok itself is. A taxi journey however is very cheap, just don't let them take you to someplace you don't want to go (e.g. suit or jewellery shops)

Room Tip: All rooms face the river as far as I know.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DaveMcGeown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,552)
There are newer reviews for Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,799 - 1,805 of 4,553 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2013

Ordered our favorite curry of the trip from room service the night we arrived. nom nom nom. The green curry was outstanding. Beware of $75 of Jacobs Creek though. Bring as much wine as you can to Thailand!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NicoleHale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

The hotel is Excellent and great value for your money. The location is great for all your sightseeing destinations as they offer a free boat ride which is runs every half an hour from the hotel pier to the Saphan Tiksam BTS Sky Train and it connects you to the major attractions. Right next to the hotel there is Pier 3 taking a boat ride for 15Baht per person it takes you to the Temples, Yaowarat and other near the Chao Praya River places. I can highly recommend this hotel to every one.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Echiang81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire D, Online Marketing Manager at Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear Echiang81,

I am very glad you enjoyed your stay at the Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers. We are always happy to welcome our guests to make their stay with us unforgettable. Should you travel to Bangkok ever again, it will be our pleasure to welcome you and your loved ones back in our hotel.

Warm regards,
Claire D.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We had a 5 night stay here and really enjoyed it. Bangkok is a noisy, manic city and the hotel, with it's two pools and gardens, was a relative haven of tranquility. We never did get round to using the gym, although it certainly looked to be well equiuped, but we did use both pools and they were ideal, and never too busy. Special mention must go to the breakfast here which is huge. We even took advantage of the many flavours of ice cream that were available.....something normally reserved for the dinner buffets. True, the bathrooms are not as luxurious as many 5 star hotels, but the overall experience is a good one and prices fall some way short of other hotels on the river such as Shangri-la & Peninsula.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anakinWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Well positioned on the river with easy access to the public boat to The Grand Place and Wat Pho.

Friendly service. We tried Giorgio's and Sambal restaurants and both were good. The Italian buffet was particularly well priced. Breakfast in Feast was excellent ranging from dim sum to doughnuts and ice cream.

Our two interconnecting rooms were well positioned on the SPG floor 18 with lovely views of the life of the river. They were to be honest a little dated but spotlessly keen.

On the whole a good choice for our 3 days sightseeing in Bangkok.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JLB763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights 8-9 Aug 13 as an extension to 10 days holiday in Phuket at the Avista Hideaway. On arrival there was a very nice chocolate cake for our anniversary and a good view of the river from our room. What started off well deteriorated from there.
The bed and pillows were comfortable however, a big step to get into the bath and shower was not expected and awkward to get in and out, a throw back to mid 80's style reminiscent to the Hotels age.
Breakfast was a buffet with good selection however,we requested café latte and only received percolated coffee that was of a poor quality, on querying we then received another 2 cups of the poor quality percolated coffee.
There is no free Wi Fi in the rooms (lobby area only applies), a cost of $450 Baht applies daily for room access, considering other 5 stars Hotels in the area do not charge for this and are somewhat cheaper, the cost is considered a blatant rip off.
Had a similar experience to another reviewer in being advised to take a specific taxi that was more expensive than a normal metered one.
We had very early departure Friday 9th and placed breakfast order on door for 4:15 am (which was collected) as the buffet would not be open; we also rang and confirmed the booking over the phone. Breakfast did not arrive and a phone call to check was fruitless and when checking out reception showed no remorse and did not apologise.
I have stayed in many 5 star Hotels around the world and the service level of this Sheraton was well below the expected standard - more like 3 star. The experience has put me off the Sheraton chain, and I would definitely would not stay at this Hotel again - struggle to understand other reviewers high rating.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire D, Online Marketing Manager at Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear Shayne S,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I am glad you enjoyed the chocolate cake for your anniversary as well as the spectacular views from your room.
Going through your comment it appears to me that your experience with our breakfast was not a very pleasant one. We continuously strive to meet and exceed our guests' expectations, therefore I am disappointed to hear that you were not satisfied with the level of service you personally experienced. Please accept my sincere apologies for the shortfalls you encountered. I do wish that this will not deter you from visiting us again and hope to have the opportunity of redeeming ourselves.

Kind regards,
Claire D.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Standing tall by the river, this hotel has the Sheraton appeal in terms of the upkeep and the hospitality it extends.

Humble and forthcoming staff, well appointed rooms, happy environs of the lobby and the good eating options make it quite worthy.

Room Tip: high floor rooms facing the river are great
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samit-Garg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire D, Online Marketing Manager at Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear Samit-Garg,

First of all let me thank you for such a nice comment regarding your recent stay with us. We are happy you enjoyed the hotel restaurant and services and hope to see you back at the Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers.

Best regards,
Claire D.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Millennium Hilton Bangkok
#126 of 881 in Bangkok
5,458 reviews
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#17 of 881 in Bangkok
8,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
The Peninsula Bangkok
#7 of 881 in Bangkok
4,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers

Address: 2 Charoen Krung Road Soi 30 | Siphya, Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#44 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#47 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#53 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#65 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: $90 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers 5*
Number of rooms: 726
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the legendary Chao Phraya River with exquisite views, we offer a pleasant combination of warm Thai hospitality and world-class service in a modern setting just minutes from Bangkok's business districts, entertainment, and attractions.Enjoy the refined style and modern comforts of a relaxing riverside hotel. Take time out at our two pools or book a spa treatment, discover exciting cuisine in our six restaurants and bars, or experience memorable events in 22 unrivaled function rooms.All 726 of our spacious guest rooms and suites boast spectacular panoramic river views. Revel in the warm, calming, and contemporary ambiance of these well-appointed accommodations, featuring subtle Thai style and the Sheraton Sweet Sleeper™ Bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel And Towers
Sheraton Royal Orchid
Sheraton Bangkok
Royal Orchid Sheraton Bangkok
Bangkok Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing