We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great stay in Bangkok”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers
Ranked #70 of 866 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A great stay in Bangkok”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We had a 4 night stay after arriving from Heathrow for our honeymoon and were warmly welcomed following a 12 hour flight.

The hotel itself is of a very high standard, the lobby and all public areas are very nice and well maintained. There were two levels of spacious public areas with computers and internet access. It also just nice to be able to sit in the public areas.

The food in the hotel was good, the breakfast had a wide range of items including things that you would not normally see. We ate in the Thai restaurant on our first evening and the food and service was of a very high standard.

We had a deluxe river view room on the 21st floor and it had a lovely view of the river and the west of the city. The super king size bed was very comfortable and the room had everything that you would expect. It was also nice that the hotel supplied 6 free bottles of water in the room every morning.

The safe in the room was big enough for my iPad and all of belongings and the mirror in the bathroom was heated which meant when showering it did not steam up.

Every member of staff that we encountered were truly helpful and helped make our stay special. As we only has 4 nights in Bangkok the Royal Orchid was a great place to crash when returning from a day of adventuring.

The location was great only a few minutes from Chinatown etc.

The Royal Orchid is a great hotel and everything that I would expect from the Sheraton brand. Whether business or pleasure this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KieHugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,490
    1,519
    339
    86
    42
See reviews for
886
2,014
283
533
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (921)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel 4 times now and plan on staying here again in 2014. We always stay here for the last 4 nights of out holidays to Thailand. After travelling on ferries, night trains and visiting breath taking beaches its always a perfect ending to stay here.

The Location is perfect, its easy to get one of the hotel river boats down to the sky train station. The rooms are clean spacious and have lovely room service. The breakfasts are great as is the Thai restaurant and room service. After a busy hot morning sight seeing its great to spend the afternoon chilling by the pool then off out for dinner.

Any down sides, no.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Axis34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hants
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We are currently sitting in the bar of this hotel and felt moved to right a review. Following 3 lovely nights at the Kowloon Shangrila in Hong Kong, we are here for 2 nights before moving on to the Centara Grand in Hua Hin. The public areas of the hotel are fine, not marvellous but not dreadful and the bar, concierge and reception staff have all been extremely pleasant and helpful.

However, our room is awful....having paid for a deluxe river view, we do have a limited river view (huge green roof in the way) but the room is very, very far from deluxe! Tatty old veneered furniture, with scratches and dings all over it. Bedside tables and shelf headboard were covered in dust when we arrived. Bathroom was fine and clean but lacking luxurious touches......no bath robes and wifi is at a price but free for 1 hour in the reception/lobby area.

Breakfast (Sunday) the service was poor, arriving at 10:10am (breakfast ends at 10:30) we were immediately told that breakfast ends at 10:30 and got the impression that the staff were desperate to start setting up for the Sunday brunch, starting at 11.

All in all we will be happy to leave tomorrow and hope the Centara in Hua Hin is more like the Kowloon Shargrila.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phillipsmist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire D, Online Marketing Manager at Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear phillipsmist,

I sincerely regret that your stay with us did not live up to your expectations. I appreciate your feedback as it enables us to improve our services and would like to take this opportunity to apologize for any inconvenience you experienced. We have taken note of your recommendations for our improvement and thank you again for your feedback. I hope to have the opportunity to make this up to you in the future, should you decide to return to Bangkok.

All the best,
Claire D.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights before travelling to Hua Hin for in Southern Thailand on the first country stop of our round the world honeymoon. Fantastic hotel, extremely friendly staff, and great location! The hotel was a quick and cheap transfer from airport and on arrival at the hotel we were greeted in a very welcoming manor. There is a trip organiser in the hotel whom organised for us to see a show, we also visited the Royal Thai place and the famous shopping centres.

The hotel is located on the river and the boat is the best way to travel long distances around Bangkok i.e. to the place which is a 20 min boat ride and really cheap. The food in the hotel is above average and we would recommend the thai restaurant.

View from the room was excellent and would suggest booking a deluxe river view room on a high floor as we did. Thye even made us a nice cake for honeymoon as a surprise when we arrived home one night from a busy day in Bangkok centre, Nice Touch :-) also would suggest the hotel private car if your are going on to Hua Hin like we were as int is 2 hours away and comfort is important i.e. aircon.

On the whole there is not anything we can really say bad about this place and when we return to Thailand we probaly would stop here again or the Hilton directly over the water no difference really.

Room Tip: Book a riverview room on a high floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaptainCook2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire D, Online Marketing Manager at Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear CaptainCook2,

It was a real pleasure reading your positive feedback. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you again for praising our associates positive attitude. We like to make our guests feel special and offering a cake for your honeymoon is one of our ways to say thank you for choosing us in being part of your celebration. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you visit Thailand.

Best wishes,
Claire D.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Our sixth visit to the Orchid Sheraton, every room looks over the river, most comfortable rooms, eating and drinking quite expensive as this is a business hotel. Two superb swimming pools with many sun loungers and excellent towels. It would be helpful if you have a degree in lighting technology so that you may negotiate the room lighting controls, this is a situation we encounter in many hotels in the far east, far too complicated.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brian b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Yes, it is rather expensive, but quality and service are top-notch. When we arrived, a personal bellhop escorted us to the room, with such a hospitable and professional manner that we felt like royalty. Everything in the room was perfect; the view was unbeatable. They provided a wonderful cake for my wife's birthday. Their private dock is not unusual, but their ferry is one of the most comfortable. Yet the ferry is necessary, as the hotel is otherwise is a difficult location. We also took advantage of their tour desk for a well-run day tour.

Room Tip: higher floors have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire D, Online Marketing Manager at Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Jeffrey T,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us for your recent stay in Bangkok. I enjoyed reading your feedback and am glad you had a great stay with us. Indeed, our complimentary shuttle boat receives many praises for the service and also design of the boat. I am glad you found our services top notch and hope to see you again soon.

All the best,
Claire D.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 486 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed here with our family in April of 2013. Would I stay here again? Yes. Would I recommend this hotel to friends? YesWe were upgraded to a suite on the Club/Executive Floor, which was nice, since it had a full and a half bath as well as a separate sitting area. We had a lovely view of the Chao Praya River from our room. It was comfortable and spacious. Club access meant a free happy hour with hot and cold snacks for two hours each evening. The breakfast buffet was very good, with a good selection of Western and Asian foods. The staff was incredibly helpful and kind in all areas of the hotel.

There are two pools…one for adults and one for families. They are not large, but are okay. There aren’t a lot of pool chairs at the family pool. The gym was well equipped, but again, for such a large hotel, a small size and every time I went, I had to wait for a treadmill or elliptical. There is a shuttle boat dedicated to Sheraton guests to take them up and down the river to other boat jetties.

The chilled face cloths and water provided on these Sheraton shuttle boats were a nice touch. There are also many restaurants and massage establishments within easy walking distance of the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade to the executive floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ToonTowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire D, Online Marketing Manager at Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear ToonTowner,

It was great to read your detailed feedback for your recent stay with us. I am glad you enjoyed your upgraded suite as well as the facilities of the hotel. Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience with us. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future and wish you all the best in the meantime.

Kind regards,
Claire D.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Millennium Hilton Bangkok
#124 of 866 in Bangkok
5,368 reviews
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#19 of 866 in Bangkok
8,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
The Peninsula Bangkok
#7 of 866 in Bangkok
4,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers

Property: Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers
Address: 2 Charoen Krung Road Soi 30 | Siphya, Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#44 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#46 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#53 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#63 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers 5*
Number of rooms: 726
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the legendary Chao Phraya River with exquisite views, we offer a pleasant combination of warm Thai hospitality and world-class service in a modern setting just minutes from Bangkok's business districts, entertainment, and attractions.Enjoy the refined style and modern comforts of a relaxing riverside hotel. Take time out at our two pools or book a spa treatment, discover exciting cuisine in our six restaurants and bars, or experience memorable events in 22 unrivaled function rooms.All 726 of our spacious guest rooms and suites boast spectacular panoramic river views. Revel in the warm, calming, and contemporary ambiance of these well-appointed accommodations, featuring subtle Thai style and the Sheraton Sweet Sleeper™ Bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel And Towers
Sheraton Royal Orchid
Sheraton Bangkok
Royal Orchid Sheraton Bangkok
Bangkok Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing