We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers
Ranked #72 of 866 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“Very good hotel in a great location”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stayed with the family for three nights over the New Year. In summary we greatly enjoyed the facilities of the hotel and the attentiveness of the staff. We were informed that it was the first truly 5-star hotel in Bangkok - not sure if that's true but the decor would generally lead you to that conclusion. Like a number of other hotels here it has a great location beside the river and a boat stop right in front of the hotel - useful for getting uptown. River City Mall is next door but, although it has a few interesting shops (tailors, antiques and bric-a-brac) and some cafes/restaurants, it isn't the mall to visit to do all that shopping you may have planned on. Love the hotel reception area - lots of space and some lovely model Thai boats built into the wall to give some special atmosphere and a nice relaxing feel. Rooms on the SPG floor were good without being outstanding - good views over the river, everything was there and all was clean. Maybe the design is just showing it's age a little? We went to the Thai restaurant in the hotel and absolutely loved it! Three desktops in the first floor open area - usually at least one was free for internet usage. We didn't go to the pools - partly because we wanted to do the tourist bit in and around Bangkok - but thought them both to be a bit visually uninspiring - maybe again because of the age of the hotel. But they seemed to be well-patronised so they were probably fine. New Year's Eve dinner and fireworks alongside the river were spectacular. The food was unbeatable - I recall I had about 3 or 4 starter plates because what was on offer was so good! So, overall a very good hotel in a great location. Not much short of a 5 rating - just not quite.

Room Tip: Not even sure if it has rooms that don't overlook the river but, if so, always make sure you ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OliverPerth_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panita B, Public Relations Manager at Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear OliverPerth WA,

Thank you for your great review and your stay with us. I’m very happy to hear we aced our services in many ways and your family had a wonderful time here at the Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers. I will pass your kind words to the F&B team. We look forward to see you again soon!

Regards,
Panita B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,494
    1,520
    339
    86
    42
See reviews for
887
2,017
283
534
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (922)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel and 3 others in Bangkok and this is by far my favourite one. I love the fact that it is at the river and all the room have a great view to watch the passing boats and barges. The Tower Lounge offers cocktails and a wide selection of other drinks in the evening from 5:30 - 8:00 pm. There are also a range of hot and cold dishes on offer. It's the only club lounge I've visted where guests are expected to wear 'smart casual' dress and not t-shirts/shorts/flip flops. Not sure if I agree with being told what to wear when I am on holiday!
The Tower breakfast is pretty limited so If breakfast is part of your deal then the advice is to to eat in the main restaurant. It can be very busy there but there plenty of tables and guests have the choice to eat outside which is great.
I love the welcome fruit and the little white chocolate covered crispy elephants!

One problem over the years is that many taxi drivers have not heard of the property or still can't find it whenever you hand them the address card. I found that on this trip (January) by mentioning 'River City' (the name of the shopping centre next door) this helps or even mention the Shangri La Hotel as they have all heard of this hotel and it is also on the river about 1/2 mile away so atleast the drivers go in the correct direction and you can direct them after this!
A A taxi ride from the hotel to the airport should cost about 500 thai baht without the meter and includes toll fees. A taxi with the meter cost me 620 thai baht from the airport to the hotel

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UkWanderluste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire D, Online Marketing Manager at Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear UkWanderluste,

I would like to thank you for staying with us during your recent stay in Bangkok and for going to the trouble of sharing your feedback. I am delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we are now part of your favorite hotels within Bangkok. We hope to welcome you back soon in the near future,

Kind regards,
Claire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rainham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

The Club Rooms and lounge are not to be missed. The staff were so helpful, nothing was too much trouble and the Chefs should be commended for the tasty dishes served in the lounge. The hotel location was good with the complementary river boat invaluable for access to the Sky Train. Nimit on the front desk was a mind of information and really helpful. Really great hotel made even better by the staff who exceeded the standard of others we had met during our other hotel stays on our trip

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panita B, Public Relations Manager at Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Nigel H,

Thank you for your fantastic review and your recent stay with us at the Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers. I’m very glad you enjoyed most aspects of our hotel. I will pass your kind words to the front desk staffs and Nimit. We look forward to having you back with us soon!

Regards,
Panita B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful hotel. Check in fast. Large well equipped room with river view. Simple, quality, free river boat transfer. Located next to shopping centre with good restaurants and bars, easy to get taxis (make sure the meter is on) and tuktuks (need to haggle). Free fast Internet with computers in the lobby. Breakfast is amazing, such quality and variety. Pools are large, clean and have many sunloungers and towels. We stayed in five hotels on our trip and this was definitely one of the best.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dena666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire D, Online Marketing Manager at Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Dena666,

On behalf of the entire team at Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel and Towers, we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and considered our hotel as one of your favorites during your holiday in Bangkok.
We look forward to seeing you again soon,

Kind regards,
Claire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

I love the shutter boat nice there

Room is nice good view but old

Key card is not working twice

Breakfast is crowed but ok with food

Italian restaurant is great food with buffet but seems quite

Pool is great !!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PK E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panita B, Public Relations Manager at Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Papungkron N,

Thank you for your reviews and your recent stay with us. I’m happy to hear you enjoyed the view of the Chaopraya River, the food in the Italian restaurant and our pool. Please accept my apologies in regards to any inconvenience with the room key.
We look forward to having you back with us again!

Regards,
Panita B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

The hotel is great, service great and breakfast choice amazing. The location next to the Chao Phrayer is both stimulating and convenient - particularly with the complementary river boat transfer to Taksin. Recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LimassolJake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panita B, Public Relations Manager at Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear LimassolJake,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and your great review on Tripadvisor! I’m glad you enjoyed our location and breakfast. I look forward to having you back at the Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers soon!

Regards,
Panita B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

I spent quite a bit of time in my room since I was in Bangkok for a medical procedure. The food was outstanding, and the service was truly excellent. he view overlooking the river was wonderful. I highly recommend this hotel. The food was wonderful. Try the Thai Set Menu.

Room Tip: Get one overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SCOTT C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Millennium Hilton Bangkok
#123 of 866 in Bangkok
5,371 reviews
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#20 of 866 in Bangkok
8,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
The Peninsula Bangkok
#7 of 866 in Bangkok
4,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers

Property: Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers
Address: 2 Charoen Krung Road Soi 30 | Siphya, Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#44 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#47 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#53 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#65 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers 5*
Number of rooms: 726
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the legendary Chao Phraya River with exquisite views, we offer a pleasant combination of warm Thai hospitality and world-class service in a modern setting just minutes from Bangkok's business districts, entertainment, and attractions.Enjoy the refined style and modern comforts of a relaxing riverside hotel. Take time out at our two pools or book a spa treatment, discover exciting cuisine in our six restaurants and bars, or experience memorable events in 22 unrivaled function rooms.All 726 of our spacious guest rooms and suites boast spectacular panoramic river views. Revel in the warm, calming, and contemporary ambiance of these well-appointed accommodations, featuring subtle Thai style and the Sheraton Sweet Sleeper™ Bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel And Towers
Sheraton Royal Orchid
Sheraton Bangkok
Royal Orchid Sheraton Bangkok
Bangkok Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing