We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,969)
Filter reviews
5,969 results
Traveler rating
3,335
1,971
464
127
72
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
3,335
1,971
464
127
72
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river garden pool shuttle boat thai restaurant swim up bar the club lounge hotel boat chao phraya river view room free boat breakfast buffet our honeymoon wat arun skytrain station high floor easy access the hotel offers
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3,427 - 3,432 of 5,969 reviews
Reviewed September 18, 2011

We stayed here in Sept 11 for 3 nights - the last stop of our 3 week honeymoon in Thailand.

We had a room on the 20th floor and were upgraded as were were honeymooners. Nice size room, with fantastic views over the river.

We didn't eat dinner in the restaurant but the breakfast selection was excellent. Food and drinks at the bar in the lobby we found to be very expensive. We tended to eat outside the hotel, while exploring the city.

The shuttle bus service to the nearby Sky Train was very good - every half hour. The train was a great way to get around, given the crazy traffic in this city! Although, we found the taxi's are very inexpensive.

Pool area was very well maintained and had lovely views out onto the river.

Overall, we had a lovely stay here and it was a great finish to our fantastic honeymoon in Thailand. We would definitely return. Our only negative is the fact the hotel charge for wifi in the rooms, although free in the reception area.

Room tip: 20th floor room had fantastic views over the river
Date of stay: September 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank XshellyX
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina_Liu, Hotel Manager at Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2011

Dear XshellyX,

Congratulations on the occasion of your honeymoon! We are delighted that the Royal Orchid Sheraton was included in the 3-week intinerary for your celebratory journey through Thailand and hope that you enjoyed exploring this lovely country.

With the trip ending at our property, we do hope that our service and facilities allowed for some fond memories to be taken home with you.

In regards to the menu in our Lobby Lounge, please rest assured that the prices are very competitive amongst other luxury hotels which we benchmark against regularly. We also run promotions on regular basis for value and experience. As for complimentary internet, we offer facilties at our Link@Sheraton which includes workstations and WIFI in a communal lounge setting. Towers Rooms and room packages also include internet as well. Our reservations team will be delighted to assist in finding the most suitable plan to meet your needs.

As this was a special trip, we do hope that you will return to visit us again on many more occasions to come. All of us here at the Royal Orchid Sheraton will do our best to take good care of you.

Sincerely,

Tina Liu
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2011

We have been staying at this hotel for 20 years and have never been disappointed. Its not so much the physical hotel but the wonderful staff.
Some have been there the whole 20 years which is a measure of their commitment and the management's care.
Now that we are living in Bangkok for long periods we still visit The Royal Orchid regularly for coffees and meals and are always treated as guests..
We must mention some exceptional people.
Mr Boonmee..the concierge, is the best we have ever encountered on our many travels.
He is closely followed by Wichan the door man.
In the restaurant "etc", Sompong has overseen terrific service for twenty years and the delightful lady Nusara also in the restaurant is worth striking up a conversation with.
I have been critical of some Le Meridiens but this Sheraton makes up for all the other Starwood mess ups.
Try it.
Its also next to Rivercity Antiques complex and right next to China town.
Its location on the river also gives hours of free entertainment.

Date of stay: September 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank DTNorthCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina_Liu, Hotel Manager at Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2011

Dear DTNorthCoast,

Thank you for your loyalty over the years, not only as an overnight stay guest but now also as a local visitor frequenting our facilities!

Your recognition of our service, particularly highlighting Boonmee, Wichan, Sompong and Nusara is much appreciated. I am sure they are all happy to assist.

We value your on-going support and looking forward to welcoming you here for many more years to come!

Sincerely,

Tina Liu
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2011

We have stayed here a number of times and my last review complained that our room was on the 17th floor. This time when my wife and son Tommy booked in, we told them we prefer something nearer ground level. It seems they tend to put guests on the high floors for the views of Bangkok. Normally the 5th floor is not used. At our request they opened a room for us on it. This is typical of the attitude we find at this hotel. Everyone has a smile on their face from when you arrive at the front door right the way through until departure. Breakfasts here must be just about the best in Asia.

Date of stay: August 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina_Liu, Hotel Manager at Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2011

Dear JulianHuntley,

Thank you for your 2nd review of your most recent stay here at the Royal Orchid Sheraton.

We are pleased to know that you were happy with the room assignment on lower floor as required this time. As we aim to provide our guests with the highest level of comfort, please do let us know any particular needs you might have at time of reservation so that we can do our best to accommodate.

Sincerely,

Tina Liu
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2011

The quality of the beds the service and the views are excellent and unchanged.
Two outdoor pools and a free shuttle boat.

Room tip: stunning river views
Date of stay: August 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelpig_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2011

very friendly service, nice staff. Good, quite location at the river without being far from shopping and night life.

Date of stay: August 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TCrmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews