We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Place for Swimming Lessons”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers
Ranked #70 of 887 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Overall things were fine although the rundown exterior and stale-looking lobby. Great staff and great service. They have a great view of the river and provide the free shuttle boat service from the hotel to the pier that connected to the sky train (Bangkok's subway). So I took the boat to get to the sky train in the morning and taxis at night. Taxi is relatively cheap but Bangkok traffic is very very bad especially during the rush hours. It's much faster to travel by the sky train or MRT (another form of Bangkok's subway, this one is actually running underground). The Shangri-La has a better location which is right by the sky train.

The Royal Orchid Sheraton has two pools, the old one in the garden (nice ambience if you're not looking to really swim, good for reading and relaxing) and the nice modern one overlooking the river.

A few things that I wasn't happy about this place was the swimming lessons provided by the hotel. I was on a business trip so hoping to get a nice rest by the pool overlooking the river after the long day, unfortunately, the swimming lessons with the instructor shouting or kids screaming turned me off. I had to remind myself that I was staying at the 4-star hotel, not the public recreational spot. Failed to enjoy the pool, I proceeded to the sauna. The sauna located inside the locker room which again, looks pretty much rundown. The shower rooms were flooded, ran out of soap and towels (there was an empty shelf which supposed to be filled with clean towels). The wet and slippery floor was too dangerous. In the sauna chamber, I happened to step on a few nails...urrrgg. So my advice is to stay away from the sauna.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank euro2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina_Liu, Hotel Manager at Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2011

Dear euro2006,

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed the location, convenience and facilities of the Royal Orchid Sheraton. It is great that you brought up the MRT which is the city's underground subway system located only minutes from the hotel by car. Oftentimes, this is a forgotten option as opposed to the overground skytrain BTS system, also minutes away from the hotel by shuttle boat.

Unfortunately however, you mentioned that the pool area was not as relaxing as it should be due to noise from swimming lessons given to children at that time. The hotel does not officially offer swimming lessons at either of our 2 swimming pools but our lifeguards or pool attendants may have been over zealous in taking care of the kids swimming and ensuring they had fun. The team has been reminded that they need to be mindful of other guests in the area and we apologize to you for any disturbance caused. As for the sauna, while we were not aware of any dangerous conditions as guest safety is of utmost priority, we do do thank you for your feedback and would like to assure you that plans are in place to upgrade the facility. Moreover, the team has been reminded to keep a better eye on maintaining the area for guest enjoyment throughout the day. We hope that you will return to see the improvements made. Lastly, we are a bit surprised to learn that you found the exterior of hotel to be rundown as a complete renovation was completed on the hotel facade by first half of last year in 2010. If there is anything in particular that you can highlight for us, we would love to learn more in order to address any needed areas.

Having mentioned that the staff and service were great during your stay, we hope you are also confident in our commitment to addressing your concerns as brought to our attention and thank you once again for your review.

Sincerely,

Tina Liu
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,676)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,656 - 2,662 of 4,677 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2011

Stayed at the Royal Orchid Sheraton for 4 nights from the 28 April to the 2 May 2011 as part of our Bangkok, Chiang Mai and Krabi holiday this year.

We stayed in a Towers Executive Room and so we were able to enjoy the club facilities. The location of the hotel was good with excellent views of the river which was an area we wanted to try. However there is not much in the immediate vicinity of the hotel, particularly at night but we have stayed in Bangkok before and enjoyed relaxing by the river. The free boat shuttle takes you to the Sky train and from there you can access the rest of the city however the last shuttle back was about 10:00 p.m. The two swimming pools were very good.

The room was slightly smaller than expected but had excellent facilities and the club facilities with the free evening drinks were also very good although the hors d'oeuvres were a little bit lacking. Staff were very friendly and efficient.

Drinks in the hotel were very expensive but we found a Thai bar on the opposite side of the river called “Be my Guest”, use the local ferry at 14 Bahts return for 2, strangely this was shut on Saturday and Sunday. We also did the evening dinner cruise on the river and the hotel is next to River City where the boat disembarks from, we last did this in 2007 and thoroughly enjoyed it again .River City itself closed by 10:00 p.m. as did the couple of restaurants and bars in there.

Bangkok was very hot and humid as it was the rainy season so being by the river was an advantage, we normally visit in Feb or March when it is far less humid. Will definitely return to Bangkok again but now that we have done the river will probably stay in the Silom area as there is more to do at night in the immediate vicinity. However if you want to stay by the river this is a good choice.

One thing I will never do again is fly with Thai airways who treated us abominably

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gensi52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2011

This hotel was poor for its grade. Staff need to be more attentive!
Views from room beautiful.

Room Tip: All rooms are river views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Inkabijou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina_Liu, Hotel Manager at Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2011

Dear Inkabijou,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay at the Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel &Towers.

I regret to learn that you did not find our team to be attentive during your visit and apologize for any inconveniences caused. This is certainly not the level of service we are reknown for and endeavor to deliver to our guests. If you can contact us directly, we hope to learn more about any particular incidents experienced and will take the needed steps for improvement.

We certainly hope to have the opportunity to restore your confidence in our services and will do our best to take better care of you in the future.

Sincerely,

Tina Liu
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2011

We were very surprised that the hotel had large entrance and lobby, kind staff, clean and large room. We stayed 5 nights, almost stayed morning and late night. We enjoyed this travel in Bangkok.This travel was our honeymoon, and the hotel add excellent memory to our travel.

Location is good. We used shuttle boats at Saphan Taksin station. Seven-eleven convenience store is near the hotel. We bought souvenir at the hotel shopping floor.

If we go to Bangkok again, we would like to stay this hotel again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emiemi_u_no
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina_Liu, Hotel Manager at Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2011

Dear emiemi_u_no,

We are delighted to learn that you chose the Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers as the venue to celebrate the special occasion of your honeymoon while visiting Thailand. Congratulations!! It is good to know that some special memories have started here and we hope that you will return so that we can help to create even more for you then.

Sincerely,

Tina Liu
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2011

We were first time visitors to Bangkok and really felt we had chosen well in booking this hotel. From the moment we arrived, we felt welcome and the guidance we received from the staff was excellent in terms of where to visit, what to do etc.

The view from the room was mesmerising - watching the river traffic day and night. The room was well decorated and comfortable albeit not huge. Nevertheless all the usual amenities were there. The pool area looked inviting but we didn't have time to lounge about (so much to see and do!). The hotel has a boat shuttle which is worth going on just to get a quick feel of the place. There is also a public ferry stop just around the corner which is very handy for getting to places up and down the river. There is a large shopping centre next door which you will find useful if your time is limited.

We dined in the Thai restaurant within the hotel complex and it was a superb evening. Unfortunately my husband got muddled with the currency and didn't leave much of a tip for the waiting staff (who were excellent) so if anyone is feeling generous, add a bit on to make up for our mistake! We also dined in the cafe and again the food (which had more of an international feel to it) was just fine.

All in all it was a very pleasant short stay (two days) and next time, I will definitely stay longer!

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LoveFrenchWine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina_Liu, Hotel Manager at Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2011

Dear LoveFrenchWine,

As a first time visitor to Bangkok, we are delighted that you chose to stay by the riverside and experienced the vibrant life on the Chao Phraya river! With the limited time that you mentioned, it does sound as though you familiarlized yourself well with the surrounding area. However, there is much to see in this culturally rich city and we hope that you will return to experience more and to try our salt water swimming pool which you mentioned missing!

Sincerely,

Tina Liu
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2011

I stayed during a conference in this hotel. the location of the hotel is very nice and the view from the tower rooms are just amazing.

The italian restaraunt is average but the thai restaraunt is just brilliant!!!

Major shopping malls are about ten minutes away by cab and cabs are easily available. Good choice to mix business and shopping in Bangkok.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tarun1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2011

A beautiful lanscaped hotel sorrounded by river (my room was river facing). Wonderful buffet breakfast with lots n lots of varities to relish upon. Their ferry to the other side of the river was also quite an experince.
The staffs are also very hospitable.
Keep up the good work

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rajutamang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Millennium Hilton Bangkok
#125 of 887 in Bangkok
5,603 reviews
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#22 of 887 in Bangkok
8,546 reviews
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers

Address: 2, Soi Charoen Krung 30 | Bang Rak, Bang Rak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#44 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#45 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#53 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#63 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: $81 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers 5*
Number of rooms: 726
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the legendary Chao Phraya River with exquisite views, we offer a pleasant combination of warm Thai hospitality and world-class service in a modern setting just minutes from Bangkok's business districts, entertainment, and attractions. Enjoy the refined style and modern comforts of a relaxing riverside hotel. Take time out at our two pools or book a spa treatment, discover exciting cuisine in our restaurants and bars, or experience memorable events in 22 unrivaled function rooms. All 726 of our spacious guest rooms and suites boast spectacular panoramic river views. Revel in the warm, calming, and contemporary ambiance of these well-appointed accommodations with a subtle Thai style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Splitty, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel And Towers
Sheraton Royal Orchid
Sheraton Bangkok
Royal Orchid Sheraton Bangkok
Bangkok Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing