We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel but needs updating!”
Review of Astera Sathorn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Astera Sathorn
Ranked #302 of 895 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed at this hotel at separate times in the last few years. I'm always remembered by the staff which proves to be a very warm welcome. I've always truly enjoyed my stay with great clean beds & a fabulous shower but this time I noticed the general wear and tear of the hotel was shabby and needs updating. There was a clump of woman's hair just outside my room and there was water marks on my room floor. I still very much enjoyed my stay as it is a nice hotel with a great location but the management need to to be careful they don't get left behind when there's better hotels out there...

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tjb38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (777)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

142 - 148 of 777 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

great little hotel perfectly situated for bts station and central pier, staff were absolutely brilliant so friendly and couldnt do enough for you breakfast was good had a great selection. I would have no hesitation in staying here again would recommend this hotel to anyone. Free beer and crisps biscuits and water every day a nice little touch to have .

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lesandjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

The breakfast was the only highlight of our stay here.
The rooms as such are quite unremarkable.
The air conditioning was ancient, really lousy and hardly seemed to work. It was uncomfortably warm even with the AC set to 18 degrees :|
The shower trickled water at a very very slow pace and occasionally decided to leak some luke warm water, with no hot water to talk of.
We checked in around midnight here, and when we informed the staff that there was no hot water, we got some callous answers and the technician who was sent up seemed to mutter that this was how hot it usually got and stalked off.
Would not recommend this place.

I am sure in this city overflowing with hotels, better hotels should be easy to find.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aceanindita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

This is our 2nd time staying here, the last time was 3 yrs ago. We chose to stay again mainly because of location, price, and our knowing the neighborhood. We are a bit disappointed this time. We are in a 2 bedroom suite because we have 2 kids and needed space. The carpet is filthy and gross, the hot water is hit or miss, the kitchen has NOTHING in it but a kettle for hot water. The bathroom walls have some mold and it just isn't clean. The beds are comfortable and the staff is friendly and the breakfast decent. Next time in Bangkok, unless they renovate we will stay elsewhere.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank annehinds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Stayed as a couple for 1 night on 05 Oct 2012 in standard double room. The hotel is aging and could do with renovation. The bed was comfortable, there are some free munchies in your room, flat screen LCD, balcony (needs a good scrubbing) tub in the bathroom, bathroom slippers were quite welcoming, however the a/c was not cooling well in the night and I had to call someone at 1 am who tried his best, but not much luck. I asked for another room, but found the cooling to be no better there too, so decided to let the night pass. In return the hotel did not agree to throw in breakfast or anything else for the inconvienance caused. The Saphan Taksi BTS is within walking distance, however for the money spent (breakfast not included), the pool does not open before 9 am, which was not at all conveniant when I could have had a dip at 7 am or so, there are better options to seek.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SANJ13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

The Astera hotel is located 1 block away from the canal boat and the Sathorn Train Station so it makes an excellent base for exploring Bangkok.

The rooms are basic but are clean, modern and have A/C, TV, fridge, safe, kettle and complimentary bottled water, tea, coffee and snacks. The staff are friendly and very accomodating toward guest needs. Beds are a bit hard, but tolerable.

We paid $5.00 extra for the breakfast (booked through Agoda) and thought it was an good deal. Choice of eggs done any way, fresh fruit, cereal, hot foods such as french toast, pancake, bacon/sausage, etc. and breads. Nice assortment to suite any taste.

Room Tip: The Hotel does not have signage if walking from the train station, therefore you could walk past it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

As most the reviews say the hotel is a little tired but it is clean, the pool is nice and the staff are so helpful. Great customer service makes all the difference in this hotel and they will go out of their way to help. They played with our 8 month old daughter endlessly and when another hotel reservation let us down one member of staff let me use her mobile for free to call other hotels. Great value for money and the location is great for the metro and skytrain and the ferries to a lot of the top tourist spots. If you are looking for something comfortable without spending too much this hotel is perfect.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chloe N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
The Grand Sathorn
The Grand Sathorn
#207 of 895 in Bangkok
374 reviews
Silom
Sathorn Terrace Apartment
Sathorn Terrace Apartment
#453 of 895 in Bangkok
41 reviews
Silom
Pas Cher Hotel de Bangkok
Pas Cher Hotel de Bangkok
#396 of 895 in Bangkok
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
Pantip Suites Sathorn
Pantip Suites Sathorn
#234 of 895 in Bangkok
574 reviews
Siam Piman Hotel
#445 of 895 in Bangkok
166 reviews
Chinatown / Yaowarat
Hotel Royal Bangkok at Chinatown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astera Sathorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astera Sathorn

Address: 143 South Sathorn Road | Yannawa, Sathorn, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Sathorn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#57 Best Value Hotel in Bangkok
#212 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: $34 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Astera Sathorn 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Astera Sathorn is less than 5 minutes walk from BTS Skytrain Saphan Taksin Station. We provide all necessary, amenities and facilities. We also provide our guest an outdoor swimming pool, separate sauna and steam room, fitness center, free wireless internet, satellite TV, laundry service , limousine service and tour arrangement to ensure your total comfort, pleasure and relaxation during your stay. Private parking is free onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Astera Sathorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astera Sathorn Bangkok
Astera Sathorn Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing