We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Astera Sathorn
Nearby Hotels
$129
$110
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$127
$115
Oriental Residence
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Peninsula Bangkok(Bangkok)
$254
$206
The Peninsula
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$152
$101
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$166
$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Shangri-La Hotel Bangkok(Bangkok)
$183
$152
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$127
$117
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dream Bangkok(Bangkok)
$72
$63
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$152
$77
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$619
$465
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (792)
Filter reviews
792 results
Traveler rating
109
440
186
45
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
109
440
186
45
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssaphan taksin stationswimming poolthe riverinstant coffeerecommend this hotelbusy roadbeds were comfortablethai dishesgood sizethe bell boyfree wififloating marketfitness centerairport transferlocation is greatdefinitely stay here againgrand palace
Filter
Updating list...
152 - 157 of 792 reviews
Reviewed February 9, 2013

The breakfast was the only highlight of our stay here.
The rooms as such are quite unremarkable.
The air conditioning was ancient, really lousy and hardly seemed to work. It was uncomfortably warm even with the AC set to 18 degrees :|
The shower trickled water at a very very slow pace and occasionally decided to leak some luke warm water, with no hot water to talk of.
We checked in around midnight here, and when we informed the staff that there was no hot water, we got some callous answers and the technician who was sent up seemed to mutter that this was how hot it usually got and stalked off.
Would not recommend this place.

I am sure in this city overflowing with hotels, better hotels should be easy to find.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aceanindita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

This is our 2nd time staying here, the last time was 3 yrs ago. We chose to stay again mainly because of location, price, and our knowing the neighborhood. We are a bit disappointed this time. We are in a 2 bedroom suite because we have 2 kids and needed space. The carpet is filthy and gross, the hot water is hit or miss, the kitchen has NOTHING in it but a kettle for hot water. The bathroom walls have some mold and it just isn't clean. The beds are comfortable and the staff is friendly and the breakfast decent. Next time in Bangkok, unless they renovate we will stay elsewhere.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank annehinds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Stayed as a couple for 1 night on 05 Oct 2012 in standard double room. The hotel is aging and could do with renovation. The bed was comfortable, there are some free munchies in your room, flat screen LCD, balcony (needs a good scrubbing) tub in the bathroom, bathroom slippers were quite welcoming, however the a/c was not cooling well in the night and I had to call someone at 1 am who tried his best, but not much luck. I asked for another room, but found the cooling to be no better there too, so decided to let the night pass. In return the hotel did not agree to throw in breakfast or anything else for the inconvienance caused. The Saphan Taksi BTS is within walking distance, however for the money spent (breakfast not included), the pool does not open before 9 am, which was not at all conveniant when I could have had a dip at 7 am or so, there are better options to seek.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SANJ13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

The Astera hotel is located 1 block away from the canal boat and the Sathorn Train Station so it makes an excellent base for exploring Bangkok.

The rooms are basic but are clean, modern and have A/C, TV, fridge, safe, kettle and complimentary bottled water, tea, coffee and snacks. The staff are friendly and very accomodating toward guest needs. Beds are a bit hard, but tolerable.

We paid $5.00 extra for the breakfast (booked through Agoda) and thought it was an good deal. Choice of eggs done any way, fresh fruit, cereal, hot foods such as french toast, pancake, bacon/sausage, etc. and breads. Nice assortment to suite any taste.

Room Tip: The Hotel does not have signage if walking from the train station, therefore you could walk past it. The building is only a block from the station and is on the right side of the road just off what looks like an ally way. If you have walked more than a block, you have passed it. The hotel is a pale yellow color. It took us just over an hour (1 hour and 15 minutes) to take the train from the airport to the hotel. Dont bother taking a taxi.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

As most the reviews say the hotel is a little tired but it is clean, the pool is nice and the staff are so helpful. Great customer service makes all the difference in this hotel and they will go out of their way to help. They played with our 8 month old daughter endlessly and when another hotel reservation let us down one member of staff let me use her mobile for free to call other hotels. Great value for money and the location is great for the metro and skytrain and the ferries to a lot of the top tourist spots. If you are looking for something comfortable without spending too much this hotel is perfect.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chloe N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews