We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
COMO Metropolitan Bangkok
Ranked #19 of 894 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We stayed there for three days and were completely happy. It's beautiful charming oriental place, great rooms, helpful staff, everything you'd want from a hotel in Asia. One of the most fabulous hotels I've been in my life.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JorgeMonje, General Manager at COMO Metropolitan Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Dear Maryna N, greetings from your home in Bangkok, so nice to read that after your stay you still have good memories of Metropolitan by COMO.
We would love to welcome you back soon ,please let me know if we can be of any help on advance. Meanwhile we wish you a wonderful and happy 2014.
Warm regards, Jorge Monje

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,077)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

883 - 889 of 2,077 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2014

This was a quick trip to Bangkok, the first for my husband. The hotel was in a great location as we had to do a few things with the Embassy and it's literally down the road. The rooms were great. We had a bit of an extra lounge off the bedroom with a TV, perfect for when I woke up very early one morning. We had breakfast in the hotel (a la carte) which was great but the lunch and dinner at Nahm was a highlight. The food was incredible, some of the best I've ever eaten. Also the cocktails at the Met bar were great. Hotel staff helped us with a few things around town and were incredibly friendly. The gym and pool were also fabulous. Wifi was a little slow at times but I believe there were a few changes going on, so given the quality of everything else, I have no complaints. Enjoy

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheOshoneymoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JorgeMonje, General Manager at COMO Metropolitan Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Dear TheOshoneymoon, very happy to read you both have a good trip and enjoyed your stay and visit to Bangkok.
On behalf of all of us thanks a lot, very grateful for your visit and your very kind review.
Our team will be happy to read your comments, really glad you have enjoyed their company and service. I will share with all of them and especially our colleagues at Nahm, it is indeed a very special and unique Thai restaurant showcasing a very traditional and elaborate cuisine and it really means a lot to us that you enjoyed your meals there.
As you have mentioned we are right next door to the Australian Embassy and with a great location to explore every major are in the city, hopefully we will welcome you back very soon for a longer stay and anything you may need on advance, please let me know.
Warm regards and a very happy 2014. Jorge Monje.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We truly enojoyed staying at the Metropolitan last week in Bangkok. The location is away from the chaos of Bangkok but close enough to the above ground trains and taxis to enjoy what the city has to offer. The hotel service from top to bottom is top notch and in line with expectations for this part of the world. The concierge for us, was the big stand out. He helped book us into some amazing places we wouldn't have known about without him. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shaun S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JorgeMonje, General Manager at COMO Metropolitan Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Dear Shaun S, great to read your beautiful comment, really appreciated and we are extremely grateful for your visit, nice to see you have good memories of your stay and your trip to Bangkok, truly a fascinating city.
We will share your compliments with the team, especially with our concierge team, they are really warm and friendly and always willing to assist and advice.
We would like to wish you a wonderful year ahead and hopefully we may welcome you back very soon, let us know if we can be of assistance at any time. Warm regards, Jorge Monje.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

This was our first stop in Thailand on our 3 week trip. After arriving refreshed from our airbus flight from Dubai we had a terribly long wait to get through customs, well over an hour. We were greeted at the airport by a representative from the hotel who showed us to our car (you can take a cab cheaper but we had never been to Thailand so opted for a car). The trip from the airport is about 30 minutes – on the motorway.

The hotel itself was lovely, very clean and the reception staff were very welcoming. After check in we were taken to our room which was every bit as lovely as the pictures we had seen. We had 2 nights at this hotel and we made use of the gym and the outdoor pool.

Food and drinks were also lovely.

We would defiantly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jo-Graeme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JorgeMonje, General Manager at COMO Metropolitan Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Dear Jo-Graeme, greetings from all of us at Metropolitan by COMO, Bangkok, we hope you had a wonderful trip in Thailand, really happy to read you had good memories of your first stop and your stay with us.
We really enjoyed having you with us and our team would be very happy to read your nice comments, hopefully we will have the chance to welcome you back in the future, I'm sure you've realized Bangkok is an amazing city, with so much to explore and discover and gets only better the more you visit.
Thanks a lot for your visit and your very kind review.
We wish you a wonderful and very happy 2014 ahead, warm regards, Jorge Monje.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at The Metropolitan for four days in December.

The hotel is very understated and stylish, with large rooms and nice bathrooms. The gym is fantastic for a hotel gym and the pool is nice and long - though it only gets a few hours of sun in December (in the morning). It was also relatively quiet when we were there and there were no children in the hotel at all.

Breakfast, while looking a bit underwhelming is actually a real treat with a great menu of both healthy and not so healthy.

The other advantage of this hotel is that Nahm is attached to it and we probably had one of our greatest meals here - you need to book well in advance.

The one disappointment from this was the bar. They struggled to make a cocktail that wasn't overly sweet and there was zero atmosphere in there as it almost completely empty on the two occasions we tried it.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank dancemonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JorgeMonje, General Manager at COMO Metropolitan Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Dear dancemonkey, greetings from your home in Bangkok, we hope you had a great start to this 2014, from all of us please receive tons of smiles and the best wished for a very happy year.
We are very grateful for your visit and kind comments, really happy you have enjoyed your hotel and Metropolitan's great food both at Glow for breakfast and our very renowned Nahm, indeed a very special and unique traditional Thai cuisines.
Hopefully we will welcome you back soon in this new year, anything you may need on advance, please let me know, Warm regards, Jorge Monje.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Stayed here in December 2013 with family.

We got the hotel car to pick us up, given and extremely late arrival and recent disgruntled protests against the Govt.

Our pick up was in a nice new BMW 5 Series, albeit at an extremely pricey 2300THB...the taxi ride back was 800 for a very large taxi, FYI.

We had a Metropolitan Room and the staff was gracious enough to suggest checking in, in the room since our kid was asleep given the late hour.

The room itself was humongous...likely the size of a small apartment in Mumbai or any other large city. It also had sleek Asian design cues, with the obligatory dark woods against the spartan white walls. The bank of windows ran the length of the room, which allowed copious amounts of light in during the day. The large King bed was a welcome relief after a couple of days of smaller Queen or Double beds. I think this room category is the way to go, in this hotel.

Breakfast was included in our package and we had some very good meals at Glow...the standout of which was a salmon avocado open face sandwich.

We also ate at nahm, which was a disappointing experience somewhat...partly due to the rigid and snooty server (our menu cannot be changed to cater to your 3 yr old's tastes, followed by a condescending eye roll. Also took ages to get us some extra rice..come on, move it), but also due to some of the food flavors being just plain off. Maybe it was an off night.

I was also fortunate enough to get a massage while at the hotel. I have had better, I have had worse...I think most people can do better on the pricing front here in Bangkok. The pool facility was under-utilized given that the water was I cold...always in the shade of neighboring buildings...

The service level is very high...as would be expected in a top end hotel in Asia...but not taking anything away from them on the execution.

The location is a bit far from public transport but we were able to walk to BTS and MRT in about 10 min, with a 3 year old. Also cabs are available within 5 min of asking for one, so that's not a big deal.

Overall, I like the hotel and the vibe. It is hip while also providing space. The lobby isn't packed 24-7 and one can get personal attention unlike at the Shangri La or Mandarin, for example. It is a bit pricey for Bangkok but I think the Metropolitan Room is a great deal.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TooshMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JorgeMonje, General Manager at COMO Metropolitan Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Dear TooshMan, a very happy new year from all your friends at Metropolitan by COMO, Bangkok, it was a real pleasure to have you all with us and we are really happy to read you had a nice stay.
Thanks for all your good comments and feedback, really appreciate your mention on our Metropolitan Room, most of the hotel inventory and as you said one of the best rooms and better value in their category in the city.
I'm really sorry you didn't have a better experience at Nahm, please accept our apology and I will share with the team, so we can show more flexibility and provide a better service next time we may have a guests with small kids, I definitely agree with you it should have been handle much better.
We look forward to welcome you all very soon, please let me know if we can be of any assistance, warm regards, Jorge Monje

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

I recently spent three nights at the Metropolitan after not having stayed at the hotel in nearly ten years. As many regular Bangkok visitors remember, the Metropolitan is a "design" makeover of the former YMCA. Although the building was not originally designed as a luxury hotel, the Metropolitan definitely doesn't feel like tarted-up budget lodgings. The hotel opened just over a decade ago, and has a minimalist/modern "Wallpaper" style that is starting to look a bit dated. The basics:

Location: The hotel is on a quiet side-street just off South Sathorn Road. Taxis are easily available. Convent Road and the Silom shopping and entertainment area, as well as the Sala Daeng sky train station, are an easy 15-minute walk. A subway station is about a 10-15 minute walk along Sathorn. Despite the city-center location, the hotel was quiet. There is no green or garden space, and most of the rooms have views of nearby office and condo buildings.

Rooms: As others have noted, rooms are unusually large, and feature separate seating areas. The bathrooms are excellent, with large, open showers and separate tubs. The ceilings are a bit low, and the rooms have a long, squat bank of windows along one wall. While not claustrophobic, the design doesn't make the rooms feel light and airy, in spite of the big space. Bangkok was suffering a (relative) "cold" spell during my visit, and the a/c was frustratingly hard to adjust. Even with the a/c turned off, it seemed impossible to get the room temperature above the mid-60s F.

Service: The staff were uniformly friendly and helpful. A room service order arrived quickly, and was well-prepared. Khun Weera at the concierge desk was especially accommodating.

Breakfast: Although breakfast doesn't feature the copious buffets often found at Bangkok competitors, there was a decent amount of food available, as well as an a la carte main dish included in the buffet. Everything I tried was very good. Service is efficient, but the "Glow" dining room can feel more like a cafeteria than a dining room at the height of the morning rush.

The Metropolitan seems to attract a relatively young demographic - mostly couples, with a smattering of families. The atmosphere is quite relaxed, as the heat-seeking hipsters who frequented the place when it first opened appear to have migrated to newer spots.

Bangkok offers an endless number of great options in this category, and the Metropolitan is a safe choice if you want a large, relaxing room and service that's firing on all cylinders.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShiMoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JorgeMonje, General Manager at COMO Metropolitan Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2014

Dear ShiMoke, greetings from Bangkok and all of us at the Metropolitan, it was really nice to have you back and we would like to thank you for your visit and wish you a wonderful and happy 2014.
Thanks a lot for your very kind and detailed review, really appreciated. Our team will be very happy to read your comments, we will share with all of them and especially with Khun Weera, we do have a beautiful and friendly group of people at the Metropolitan that really cares about our guests, really glad you have enjoyed their service and your stay.
Looking forward to welcome you back in this new year, please let me know if we can be of any assistance. Warm regards Jorge Monje

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#33 of 894 in Bangkok
6,823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Le Meridien Bangkok
Le Meridien Bangkok
#11 of 894 in Bangkok
3,739 reviews
Silom
SO Sofitel Bangkok
SO Sofitel Bangkok
#13 of 894 in Bangkok
4,625 reviews
Sukhumvit
Sukhumvit Park, Bangkok - Marriott Executive Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to COMO Metropolitan Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about COMO Metropolitan Bangkok

Address: 27 South Sathorn Road | Tungmahamek, Sathorn, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Sathorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#18 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#24 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#28 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: $126 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — COMO Metropolitan Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
COMO Metropolitan Bangkok is a 169-room 5 star hotel defined by subtle, contemporary design and intuitive, polished service. The Met Bar, a stylish lounge-like bar, serves a comprehensive selection of martini cocktails. Nahm restaurant serves Thai cuisine from award-winning Australian chef David Thompson whilst 'glow' focuses on an nutritious COMO Shambhala Cuisine. Relaxation is available at COMO Shambhala Urban Escape, comprising Asian-inspired treatments, a gym, Yoga studio and outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your COMO Metropolitan Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropolitan Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Metropolitan Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Metropolitan Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing