We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
COMO Metropolitan Bangkok
Ranked #25 of 889 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 24, 2013

We were blown away by how nice it was especially since its not ridiculously expensive. A truly 5 star experience. Great little jacuzzi and steam room too! Nahm was also fantastic and the breakfast was unbelievable.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pookierama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jann H, Manager at COMO Metropolitan Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Dear Pookierama, We would like to send you our warmest regards and a big thank you. We are very grateful for your visit and very kind comments, our team will be very happy to read your compliments.
We are glad that you liked our Glow with a la carte with a very creative selection of traditional or more health oriented dishes, combined with a very curated small buffet offer, with fruits, juices, dairies, pastries and a home made selection of spreads, we really care about our food at Metropolitan and we are very proud to have been voted the Top 3 breakfast restaurant in Bangkok as per the guests in tripadvisor.
Should you need anything from Bangkok and of course when you may be planning a new visit, let us know, happy to be of assistance. Warm regards, Jann Hess.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,043)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

871 - 877 of 2,043 reviews

Reviewed December 24, 2013

What was a previously cool hotel with a five star quality appears to have lost its edge. It's looking somewhat worn these days and the staff (for which it previously prided itself on) are less attentive. The Met bar was deserted when I popped in for a drink so don't go there to make friends!
This time I had a City room which is adequate for the solo traveller but not for a couple - too small. Some nice touches though; a cafetiere, fruit plate on arrival and of course Como toiletries which may be an acquired taste for some give their pungent aroma. The spa is comfortable and the steam and jacuzzi were welcome. Would I stay here again. At the right price but for approx £80- 100 a night you can find better in Bangkok.

Room Tip: The City room is good for solo travellers only
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mished
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jann H, Manager at COMO Metropolitan Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2013

Dear Mished, greetings from us all at Metropolitan Bangkok, we really appreciate you visit and your review. We would like to thank you for your valuable feedback, we will share and discuss with our team and we hopefully would be able to improve on your suggestions. We really apologize you have not been fully satisfied with your stay, nothing we would have liked more.
The Metropolitan is a well established hotel in Bangkok and we are among the top hotels in the midst of the newly acquired hotels in recent years. We put a lot of effort to keep the infrastructur well maintained and we've renovated our rooms in 2012. We feel sorry we could not fullfill your expectations. Our Met Bar is busy at certain times and of course there is huge variety of bars around us and especially Silom Road area.
We would recommend to book our Metropolitan Room, we only have a few City rooms, where you stayed, which are similar size to any superior room in the city but still with a nice and large side sofa, while the Metropolitan is probably the largest in town in their category, 54 sqm, and at not much rate difference, indeed a great value for money. All of them fitted with large windows and lots of natural light.
Once again, we are very sorry we could not meet your expectations overall, but we think the Metropolitan by COMO Bangkok offers a great value for money with a very attentive and personalized service and outstanding contemperary design.
We would like to thank for your stay, we have enjoyed having you with us, we would be more than happy to welcome you back and show our best hospitality, please make sure to let us know of advance and we will make sure to take very good care of you. Warm regards and happy New Year , Jann Hess

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

went there , and was personally greeted by the delightful Spanish General Manager ; not much is wrong with this place, although Bangkok itself is still a mystery to me in its attractiveness...but everything was friendly , well appointed, clean and efficient..recommended...

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jimmhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jann H, Manager at COMO Metropolitan Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2013

Dear jimmhk, we are very happy to read you had a nice experience at Nahm and during your stay, really grateful for your visit and hopefully we will welcome you back in the near future.
We think the Metropolitan is a great value hotel with a lot of attention to many important matters, warm attentive service, facilities, good food, wellness and providing a very good base to enjoy and explore Bangkok, close to it all but yet feeling so apart and peaceful.
Please anything you might need, let us know. Warm regards and a happy New Year! Jann Hess

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

We stayed here for one night at the end of our trip and thought it was a great hotel, particularly for the cost. We had an upgraded Metropolitan room, which was stylistically very nice. The staff were incredibly helpful. The pool was very nice, we went for a morning swim and were the only guests there. The food at this hotel is fantastic. Nahm is well known and spectacular (we had been several times before and are consistently impressed), but we found that the breakfast in Glow was also exceptional. We ordered from the a la carte menu, but the buffet also looked very good. The only down side is that it is a bit of a walk to transport, but that did not affect our short trip.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tkl112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jann H, Manager at COMO Metropolitan Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2013

Dear tkl112, greetings from all of us in Bangkok and a heartfelt thank you for your great feedback. We have enjoyed having you with us and we are very happy to read you had a great stay and good memories overall from your trip to Bangkok.
I hope we were able to communicate properly, as you have mentioned our location. Silom Road night live and shopping areas are a short walk away (10min) and as you probably saw and even used, the skytrain BTS, is just before arriving to Silom (Sala Daeng Station) which gets you in touch with every major are of interest in the city, sightseeing, shopping, night life with the premium that hardly any location is as quiet, peaceful and organized as Metropolitan's. Lumpini subway station is as well a 5/10 minute walk in our same road. Another great thing about Sathorn and Metropolitan's location is that is probably the most central to all of the different areas, so they are all within a short and easy reach, while you would be in everyone of the extremes at any of the other popular hotel locations. Most of our guests enjoy our location because of the quick connection to all important sights and at the same time away from it all and have a quiet and relaxing surrounding.
Hopefully we will have the chance to welcome you back very soon and assist with a few good suggestions to keep discovering this wonderful city. Let us know if we can be any assistance, meanwhile receive our warmest regards and best wishes for 2014. Jann Hess

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

I spent 3 nights at the metropolitan....and I have to say it was probably the best experience I have ever had in a hotel anywhere in the world.....I don't say this because of the simple stylish rooms or the service or even the food offered at Nahm downstairs....but because of the simple human touch of real empathy and Compassion shown towards myself and my wife that went above an beyond.
I had a surgery whilst in Bangkok that ended up being more complicated and painful than I was originally told. Resulting in great difficulty walking. Once back at the hotel we received nothing but assistance and care....we were upgraded with no issue and shown extra attention...
It seemed to me that all the best traits of the Thai culture and also the hotels culture were on display in authenticity and in honesty....I cannot say enough about how I felt..and I will most definitely be recommending the metropolitan to all friends and family going to Bangkok
And will be most definitely be returning there myself.
Once again a heartfelt thank you to all staff at the metropolitan hotel
for your service, care and attention shown towards myself and my wife
You went above and beyond.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jakemack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jann H, Manager at COMO Metropolitan Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2013

Dear Jakemack, Greetings from the Metropolitan by COMO, Bangkok. In behalf of all us a big thank you for your visit and your very generous comments.
We've shared with our team and they will be delighted to know you had enjoy your time with us in Bangkok. Our goal is to offer always a personalized and attentive service like in a holiday resort. We have enjoyed reading you estimated our assistance and attention during your stay. We would love to welcome you back, as you know Bangkok is a very interesting and ever changing city, plenty of things to do and discover and the Metropolitan a great base to explore it all and them to run away from it in a very peaceful atmosphere.
Any assistance you may need on advance, let us know. We wish you and your family Merry Christmas and a happy New Year! Warm regards, Jann Hess.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

We don't normally stay in 5 star, but as a treat this was special as this was the last night of near 6 week holiday. Our booking included an upgrade to the spacious and well appointed Metropolitan rooms and as we were travelling with our two adult children, the hotel provided adjoining rooms, with access door: huge double for us and twins as requested for them.
After being shown to our rooms we asked the exceptionally helpful staff member* where we could buy a cake as it was our daughter's birthday the following day. Without hesitation he asked if the hotel could provide a cake with their compliments. They delivered as promised a delightfully presented cake with candles in her room at the time of our choosing, so that it was waiting for us when we returned from the pool.
* When we mentioned that we had a very late flight we were asked what time we would like to check out, and the staff member was happy to grant us a 4 hour extension to the normal late check out time. All the staff were most courteous and helpful. We found that the Nahm restaurant was booked out, so Pomchai, one of the other staff members suggested a number of restaurants in the near vicinity and allowed us to use their computer to read about each before making the booking for us. We were made to feel that nothing was too much trouble.
The facilities within the hotel were of a high standard and the breakfast was exceptional.

Room Tip: The hotel is well set back from the main road, so noise is not a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Possum_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jann H, Manager at COMO Metropolitan Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Dear Possum_Traveller, I would like to send you our warmest regards and a big thank you, we are very grateful for your visit and very kind comments, our team will be very happy to read your compliments and feedback.
We are a also perfect spot to stay with a family, a bit set back from the main road and but still very close to all Bangkok attractions. There are a few kids attraction not far away from our location. All Bangkok attractions are easily and comfortable reachable by Taxi, Skytrain or Metro just a few minutes away from the Metropolitan. We are happy to read that we were about to exceed your expectations. Traditionally, we rely on a personalized service and flexibility and we are happy you have estimated it. I will share your comments with our team and they will be greatful.
Please tell us if you may be planning a new visit, let us know, happy to be of assistance. Warm regards, Jann Hess.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights in Dec 2013. Really great service - got an upgrade as it was our honeymoon and they even provided some chocolates and bubbly to welcome us. Pool is lovely, food is great and especially at Nahm. Can easily get a taxi, tuk tuk to anywhere in Bangkok if you want to see the sights rather than walk around the neighbourhoods. Really comfortable stay.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Ssclep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jann H, Manager at COMO Metropolitan Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Dear Ssclep, We are very happy to read you had a nice experience at the Metropolitan and during your stay! We are grateful to read you estimated our service and extras.
Our team will be very happy to read your comments and compliments, really glad they were of assistance.
As you have mentioned Metropolitan it is a great value hotel with a lot of attention to many important matters, warm attentive service, facilities, good food, wellness and providing a very good base to enjoy and explore Bangkok.
Please let us know if we can be of any assistance for your next visit to Bangkok. We will be very happy to have you back and spoil you again with our great service. Warm regards and all the best for 2014. Jann Hess

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#37 of 889 in Bangkok
6,643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Le Meridien Bangkok
Le Meridien Bangkok
#12 of 889 in Bangkok
3,656 reviews
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#21 of 889 in Bangkok
8,622 reviews
Sukhumvit
Sukhumvit Park, Bangkok - Marriott Executive Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to COMO Metropolitan Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about COMO Metropolitan Bangkok

Address: 27 South Sathorn Road | Tungmahamek, Sathorn, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Sathorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#24 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#24 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#28 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#33 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: $131 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — COMO Metropolitan Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
COMO Metropolitan Bangkok is a 169-room 5 star hotel defined by subtle, contemporary design and intuitive, polished service. The Met Bar, a stylish lounge-like bar, serves a comprehensive selection of martini cocktails. Nahm restaurant serves Thai cuisine from award-winning Australian chef David Thompson whilst 'glow' focuses on an nutritious COMO Shambhala Cuisine. Relaxation is available at COMO Shambhala Urban Escape, comprising Asian-inspired treatments, a gym, Yoga studio and outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, MrandMrsSmith, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your COMO Metropolitan Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropolitan Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Metropolitan Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Metropolitan Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing