We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Modern & Comfy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Metropolitan by COMO, Bangkok

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Metropolitan by COMO, Bangkok
Ranked #36 of 823 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Modern & Comfy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Depsite many new hotels, I chose to have my 2nd stay at Met Bangkok for my 3 nights trip recently, I'm very pleased with my stay, the hotel is modern, hip, yet quiet. (very important!) Room size is very spacous, the Met room is more like a suite than just a room. I wouldn't say it's the best hotel when travelling with children, but when in the room I'd say it's safe to have toddler around as it's spacious and not having too many glass structure. The bed is HUGE! Who could resist the Como Shambhala amenities? Breakfast was extraordinary, semi-buffet with an a la carte main course, there's a choice for me, hubby & even baby. On Sunday they extended the bf time 'til 1pm which is so thoughtful! We went swimming and no more than 6 persons were there so we simply had the swimming pool all by ourselves. In terms of location it's not the centre of centre but only 10-15 min. walk to Lumpini MRT, or they have shuttle service every hour to Saladeng Skytrain which is only 2 stations away from Siam area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MamaBabaRocks111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JorgeMonje, General Manager at Metropolitan by COMO, Bangkok, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear MamaBaaRocks, warm regards from your home in Bangkok. we have loved having the three of you back!
Thanks a lot for this new visit and for your very kind review, very nice of you and it makes very happy that each one of you have enjoyed the stay.
As you mentioned all our areas are perfectly suited to families and babies, especially due to the size of our Metropolitan room, the very nice and healthy food from Glow, a beautiful pool and the peacefulness of our location and yet 10 minutes walking distance to both the sky train and the MRT.
We would be happy to have you back very soon. Warm regards, Jorge Monje.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,134
    412
    85
    18
    14
See reviews for
144
811
190
192
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We loved this hotel. Highly personalised service, friendliest staff we've ever encountered, excellent facilities. It's in the details: bottled or iced water available throughout the hotel. A tv with headphones for each treadmill/bike station in the gym; early access to the gym and pool, which is perfect for lap swimming. A quality breakfast. Outstanding rooms, replenished by housekeeping twice a day. The scent throughout the hotel and the music played throughout the public areas created an inviting atmosphere-this place 'glows', Added to this, we received personalised notes from the GM, as well as a surprise birthday cake delivered to my room for my birthday! We travel frequently, and this experience has set a new standard for hotels. Stay at this hotel. You will be surprised. A & A Hueppauff

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JorgeMonje, General Manager at Metropolitan by COMO, Bangkok, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Anna H, nothing more important to us that making our guests/friends feel at home while at the Metropolitan.
We are very grateful for your visit and it means a lot to us that you have taken the time to share this very kind review. We will share your comments with all our team and hopefully it will encourage all of us to do better everyday.
It has been a real pleasure to have you with us, glad you have chosen to celebrate your birthday with us and would love to have the opportunity to welcome you back, please if we can be of any assistance from Bangkok, let me know. Meanwhile receive our warmest regards and a big thank you. Jorge Monje
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We were in Bangkok for 2 nights and loved our stay at this hotel. On arrival we were all served a nice herbal tea which was much appreciated after our long journey from Scotland, when shown to our rooms there was also fresh fruit and water waiting for us. Decor of the room and hotel is very modern, the rooms are large and spacious and the bathrooms are great. Nice big shower and bath.

We were a group of 9 so used the hotels mini bus regularly which was a cheaper option for us than taxis. On one of our nights (a Friday night) we spent a bit of time in the hotel bar and there was a great band on, so that was really nice for some music before going out for dinner.

We had breakfast in the hotel each morning and there was a brilliant selection on the menu. From traditional scrambled egg and bacon to Thai breakfast options which were delicious. Also a selection of fruit, pastries and juices to help yourself to.

We dined in the hotels famous nahm restaurant for dinner on the Saturday and we highly recommend. But if you are looking to eat here, book well ahead and also it is quite pricey!

Located in the financial district, so quite a quiet area but is 5 mins walk from sala daeng sky train and also lumphini metro is 5/10 mins away as well. 60 baht taxi ride from MBK center.

Receptionists very helpful and looked up opening times of attractions and gave us maps to find our way around.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank saadem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JorgeMonje, General Manager at Metropolitan by COMO, Bangkok, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear blah93, happy to rear you back home and with good memories of your trip and the Metropolitan, we have enjoyed having you and the family with us, thanks a lot.
You are very kind and generous, we really appreciate you have taken the time to do this very nice and detailed review, very little to add from my side, we are very lucky to have a beautiful team of warm and talented people at Metropolitan that I believe make for a great stay, from our breakfast team, to our Met Bar and of course our Thai restaurant Nahm considered to be one of the best Thai restaurants in the world.
Thanks for the advice, yes you are right and advice reservations are welcomed and needed as as Nahm is usually very busy at dinner time but most of the days you would be able to walk in at lunch time and it is as well a beautiful experience.
We would be delighted to have you all back, please you know where to find us, should you need anything from Bangkok, please let us know. Warm regards, Jorge Monje
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

The location is stellar, literally right next door to the Banyan Tree, which is acclaimed, but now, old & tired. It works out really well if you plan on walking over to visit the breath-taking rooftop bar at the Banyan Tree though. But, in terms of 'hotel', the Metropolitan was above & beyond THE BEST in Bangkok. Location leaves you with a sense of calm in a chaotic city. And, the breakdast is THE BEST breakfast I've ever had, anywhere. Don't second guess this. If this hotel were anywhere else in the world you'd be paying over 500$ a night. Luckily Bangkok is cheap, so you can live like a king on a dime. Treat yourself & enjoy it!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chrissybatells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JorgeMonje, General Manager at Metropolitan by COMO, Bangkok, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Chrissybatells, warm regards from your home in Bangkok and all of us at the Metropolitan.
You are the best and super nice, thanks a lot for your visit and this extremely generous review.
I wish that if not 7 stars we do provide at least lots of smiles and a warm genuine service.
We are lucky to have a beautiful property, extremely peaceful but yet next door to most of Bangkok's attractions and as you mentioned we are definitely a great value, quality option when visiting this bustling and interesting city.
We will share your compliments with the team and we will be happy to share with you some of our Glow breakfast recipes.
Definitely we will be more than happy to have and welcome you back, please let us know if we can be of any help at anytime. Warm regards, Jorge Monje
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanark, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Large bed in spacious room, well-equipped bathroom. Very clean. Nice, friendly and professional staff. We were a party of 9 and made good use of the hotel's mini-bus (they call it a van), this was an excellent way for us to get around and cheaper than taxis. In a quiet district but still within walking distance of the 'buzz' or sky train to shopping areas. Good Bar and restaurant. Breakfasts were diverse and interesting. Great porridge, cold with fruit! Try the yoghurts. Hot dishes excellent too

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fingertipsScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JorgeMonje, General Manager at Metropolitan by COMO, Bangkok, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear FingertipsScotland, greetings from your home in Bangkok, we are really happy to read your very nice review. We have enjoyed having you all with us and it means a lot to us that you have good memories of your stay.
We will share your compliments with our team, specially our Glow restaurant, we put a lot of care and effort into our breakfast with plenty of healthy and creative a la carte options, which we believe makes for a great start to any day, really glad you have enjoyed.
Should you be visiting Bangkok again, please let us know, we would love to have you back and be of any assistance. Best, Jorge Monje.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I have stayed in two room types (City and Metropolitan). Both were in perfect condition, really spacious with extremely comfortable, real king size beds. Some hotels claim to give you king size, but those beds have nothing to do with these.
My back hurts after sleeping in most of the hotels, but these mattresses were awesome.

I am writing this review on my last day of my stay and I can tell you, I could not be more satisfied.
I have been here for a month and never really had an uncomfortable situation. I had only a few minor "problems" but they were sorted out in just a moment of time.
Staff is kind and polite, they really make your stay as good as possible.

Do not miss sunday brunch, and pizza (if it was enough of asian food) in the bar. Both are really nice.
I never made it to the hotels well known restaurant the Nahm, but based on the quality that the hotel represents I am 100% sure it is above the standards.

If I will come back to Bangkok I will stay at the Metropolitan for sure.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms with connecting rooms. You never know if your neighbors are polite enough to cons...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandor G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JorgeMonje, General Manager at Metropolitan by COMO, Bangkok, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear yousayimtrippin, we have really enjoyed having you with us and would be delighted to have you back soon.
We are glad that you have felt at home specially for such a long stay, it really means a lot to us and are very grateful for your stay and your very kind review.
I hope you didn't have problems getting out of bed every morning and happy you have enjoyed our team's service and the very good food, please let's make sure to have a meal at Nahm next time you are back in Bangkok, just let me know.
Looking forward to have you back and meanwhile, let us know if we could be of any help. Warm regards, Jorge Monje
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Arrived with my daughter last week for our first ever visit to Thailand, met at airport by the hotel chauffeur and were really delighted to find the hotel was even better than the recommendation we had received from friends in the UK. We really could not find fault with anything. We loved the very stark, minimal decor, the pool was excellent, had a wonderful Thai massage and fantastic food, in particular make sure you have a leisurely breakfast - we are now suffering withdrawal symptoms. A nightcap in the Met bar was greatly appreciated - helped with the jetlag! The concierge was extremely helpful both before and during our stay. Our stay at the Metropolitan was a fantastic start to our trip to Thailand and we would love to return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ogordonski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JorgeMonje, General Manager at Metropolitan by COMO, Bangkok, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear Ogordonski, we hope you are having a wonderful trip and that your stay at Metropolitan has only been the beginning to a great holiday in this magical country.
Thanks a lot for your visit and your very kind review, we have enjoyed having you both with us. A little bit worried about your withdrawal symptoms, we would be happy to share any of our breakfast recipes for you to keep the good memories back at home, please just let us know.
Happy to welcome you back soon, anything you may need during your stay in Thailand or at any other time, let us know, happy to be of assistance.
Warm regards from all of us, Jorge Monje.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
The Sukhothai Bangkok
The Sukhothai Bangkok
#34 of 823 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 stars 2,052 reviews
Silom
SO Sofitel Bangkok
SO Sofitel Bangkok
#19 of 823 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 stars 3,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#23 of 823 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 stars 4,988 reviews
Silom
Le Meridien Bangkok
Le Meridien Bangkok
#14 of 823 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 stars 2,932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropolitan by COMO, Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropolitan by COMO, Bangkok

Property: Metropolitan by COMO, Bangkok
Address: 27 South Sathorn Road | Tungmahamek, Sathorn, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Sathorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#25 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#28 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#33 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#33 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Metropolitan by COMO, Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Metropolitan by COMO, Bangkok is a 169-room 5 star hotel defined by subtle, contemporary design and intuitive, polished service. The Met Bar, a stylish lounge-like bar, serves a comprehensive selection of martini cocktails with visiting live DJs. Nahm restaurant serves Thai cuisine from award-winning Australian chef David Thompson whilst glow focuses on an organic, healthful menu. Relaxation is available at COMO Shambhala Urban Escape, comprising Asian-inspired treatments, a gym, Yoga studio and outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Cancelon, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Metropolitan by COMO, Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropolitan Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Metropolitan Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Metropolitan Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing