We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice but expected more from 5 star”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
COMO Metropolitan Bangkok
Ranked #18 of 851 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice but expected more from 5 star”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

Rooms were very spacious a bit full but overall nice and clean. Hotel was a little out if the way and any taxi we got didn't know where it was. We were giving directions. Breakfast was ok, plenty of choice but expected more from a 5 star. We were on honeymoon and they did give us a free bottle of champagne with chocolates which was a nice touch.
Staff were friendly - overall pleasant experience.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaineor19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JorgeMonje, General Manager at COMO Metropolitan Bangkok, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear Elaineor19, greetings from Bangkok and the Metropolitan. We hope you have had a wonderful honeymoon and would like to thank you for your visit and stay.
We are glad you have a pleasant stay and I would only liked that we have been able to communicate a little bit better, the hotel's locations is really good and getting more centric every day, there are plenty of things to do and great dining and bars within walking distance plus easy access to major areas in town by taxi, sky train or metro. Happy you have managed your way around.
We would be delighted to have the chance to welcome you back soon. Warm regards, Jorge Monje.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,917 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,334
    456
    93
    20
    14
See reviews for
168
930
219
231
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ayrshire, Scotland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights as part of our honeymoon in early January and although there's absolutely nothing wrong with the hotel, all the 5* reviews on TripAdvisor don't match the reality.

We stayed in a City Room and instead of the cool and contemporary design we were expecting, we found the room to be quite stark, uninteresting and not very comfortable with an extremely hard bed.

On the plus side, the service from all staff was excellent. The breakfast buffet was of a high standard and always fully stocked no matter what time you tturned up.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gliv81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JorgeMonje, General Manager at COMO Metropolitan Bangkok, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear gliv81, regards from us all at the Metropolitan. It is good to read you back at home and we hope you have had a very nice honeymoon.
Thanks a lot for staying with us and for giving us your feedback, we will share with the team and I'm sure they would like to know you have enjoyed their service.
I'm sorry you have not enjoyed your City Room so much and wish you could have stayed at one of our Metropolitan Rooms which are probably the largest on their category in Bangkok. But please accept our sincere apology for any inconvenience.
Anything you might need from Bangkok, please let us know, happy to be of assistance. Warm regards, Jorge Monje.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on the last night of our holiday. On arrival, the hotel seems very impressive - the entrance has a clean, modern design; immaculately-dressed staff whisk away your luggage; there are even MacBooks available to use.

However, our room was much less impressive. We booked a 'city room', which was not described on Expedia as being very different to the other rooms - however it is very small, the smallest room we had anywhere on our trip. Although sold as a room for two it appeared to be designed for one (for example there was a bedside lamp but only on one side). Another issue was, we'd booked a non smoking room but it smelt of cigarette smoke. It also seemed a bit dated and, even with all the lights on, quite dark. Overall we felt rather that we'd booked a 3 star room in a 5 star hotel. There was nothing seriously wrong with it and if it has been in London or New York I'd have thought it was fine - but in Bangkok there are better options at this price.

One other problem - the taxi the hotel provided us to take us to the airport refused to use the meter and tried to charge us three times the proper price.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexs76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JorgeMonje, General Manager at COMO Metropolitan Bangkok, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Alexs76, greetings from Metropolitan and this amazing bangkok. We are very grateful for your visit and detailed comments.
I'm really sorry we have not meet your expectations and on behalf of all of us I would like to offer our apology. I'm very sorry that you may have left with this impression considering that Metropolitan is one of the best valued hotels in Bangkok, as you can see in most of the other reviews.
Our Metropolitan Room is probably the largest on their category and price range on the city, at a minimum of 54 sqm and most of our inventory, sorry you didn't have the chance to stay in one of them, I'm pretty sure you would have like it. It is true that our city rooms are much smaller but so it is the rate, and still both offered a great value, as you have mentioned, if only this was London or New York.
I'm equally sorry about the taxi experience, Metropolitan doesn't provide or has any arrangements with the local taxi companies and we just called them on your behalf and yes try our best to explain, address and provide all the needed information both to driver and guests. We do keep register of taxi license and plaques in case any incident might happened.
By all means the taxi driver is required to use the taximeter and you should have probably walk down should he refuse to use it. Nevertheless we are very sorry for all the inconvenience and we hope the comment, a very good one, might be of used to future guests traveling to Bangkok.
Though most of the people, including taxi drivers are beautiful and professional, incidents like this do happen.
Once again our sincere apology and warm regards, Jorge Monje.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

I agree with the many excellent reviews posted on this site by travellers who stayed at the Metropolitan. I had no complains whatsoever. The staff never say 'no' to anything. They will try and try again.

On two occasions, I tried to ring local mobile numbers of friends and I couldn't get through. I went down to the Front Desk to ask their help and they readily dialled the numbers for me. One of those calls was made with a female staff's own personal mobile phone.

On the day I checked out, I asked one staff at the Front Desk to help me retrieve some photographs which had been used to make glass paperweights with. The vendor at Mah Boon Krong shopping mall had delivered the paperweights the night before but failed to return those photos. I gave details to the staff and left for the airport.

I'm glad to report that she retrieved the photos and sent them to my home address which I received today, all within 2 weeks of my return.

This may appear to be a little thing. But little things make a big difference.

I would definitely return to the Metropolitan Hotel in future and would certainly recommend it to others.

Room Tip: I usually prefer a room facing south or east (I never sleep with the blinds drawn). But due to the d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aprofessionalbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JorgeMonje, General Manager at COMO Metropolitan Bangkok, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear aprofessionalbum, I definitely agree with you, little things make a huge difference! We are very grateful you have taken the time to share these experiences which we have already shared with our team, they send their regards and were happy to read your comments and appreciation.
Hopefully there would be no request too little for us and looking forward to be of at assistance at all times.
We would be delighted to welcome you back some time in the future. Warm regards, Jorge Monje.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

This is our third stay at this wonderful hotel and we are still loving it every time. From the wonderful Ian who serves us every morning and chats with us at breakfast (, my favorite meal, )always imparting interesting information on anything that interests us and more.,the fabulous sheets , nice sized rooms and total service. Can't be happier to make this our home stay each time we pass through Bangkok. The food in Glow is always delicious if you like clean , tasty food. Nahm an excellent restaurant within this complex is exceptional but a little to chilli hot for me. The beautiful Spa, pool and facilities , including great smelling soaps and creams. It is within walking distance to the sky train but far enough away from the noise and pollution of downtown. We just met Jorge the new GM and we look forward to even more fabulous service as he seems so motivated to keep this hotel special. Lovely stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in a king room and found it spacious and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JorgeMonje, General Manager at COMO Metropolitan Bangkok, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Sally K, it has been very nice to have you back with us. Glad that you had felt at home once again, we also love having all of you around and being able to share a few stories and smiles.
It definitely makes our day.
Thanks a lot for the detailed comments and explanations, you have described very well what makes Metropolitan "special", it is indeed a lovely hotel that in my opinion, as yours, offers great quality and a very good value.
Please anything you may need from Bangkok, let us know. Looking forward to meet and have you back soon. Warm regards, Jorge Monje
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

Spent 3 very comfortable nights at Metropolitan BKK in nov'12. First visit there and I found the service excellent and detailed. Always greeted with a smile from the moment you step in. Not the biggest or newest hotel but the staff and ambient more than makes up for it. very comfortable vibe and the unique COMO fragrance helps to calm your mind after a crazy day running around exploring the city.

It also helps that it is convenient and within walking distance to the skytrain. Very good value for the rates and the size of rooms. A studio room has its own seating area + sleeping area + a huge bath. Very very comfortably sized to relax after a long day out before retiring to bed. Breakfast is very enjoyable with the many cooked traditional or healthy options. Will definitely be my first choice again in BKK. Do check out their offers online for even better rates.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olammmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JorgeMonje, General Manager at COMO Metropolitan Bangkok, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Olammmm, regards from your home in Bangkok. We hope you have started this 2013 full of smiles and are looking forward to have you back soon this year.
Thanks a lot for your visit, it means a lot to us that you have enjoyed your stay and found the Metropolitan calming and relaxing, it is indeed a great place to retire to after a busy day exploring or working in Bangkok.
We are a great, quality little hotel and as you've mentioned a great value for money at a great location in this very interesting city.
Thanks a lot and warm regards from all of us, Jorge Monje
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

we enjoyed our stay in the Metropolitan (new year's eve, 3 nights). good location, very kind people, excellent rooms and facilities.
a bit sad the pool is not sunny on the afternoon (only on the morning) due to a high building close

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xavier b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JorgeMonje, General Manager at COMO Metropolitan Bangkok, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Xavier B, we are happy to know you have enjoyed your NYE celebrations in Bangkok and at the Metropolitan. We hope the good memories will keep you smiling all year long.
It has been a fun and interesting holiday season full of activities in Bangkok and in the hotel.
Thanks a lot for your visit and your kind review, we hope to have the chance to welcome you back soon. Kind regards, Jorge Monje
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#26 of 851 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,026 reviews
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Le Meridien Bangkok
Le Meridien Bangkok
#12 of 851 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,365 reviews
Sukhumvit
Adelphi Forty-Nine
Adelphi Forty-Nine
#4 of 851 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Silom
SO Sofitel Bangkok
SO Sofitel Bangkok
#16 of 851 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to COMO Metropolitan Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about COMO Metropolitan Bangkok

Property: COMO Metropolitan Bangkok
Address: 27 South Sathorn Road | Tungmahamek, Sathorn, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Sathorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#17 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#24 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#28 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#33 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — COMO Metropolitan Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
COMO Metropolitan Bangkok is a 169-room 5 star hotel defined by subtle, contemporary design and intuitive, polished service. The Met Bar, a stylish lounge-like bar, serves a comprehensive selection of martini cocktails. Nahm restaurant serves Thai cuisine from award-winning Australian chef David Thompson whilst 'glow' focuses on an nutritious COMO Shambhala Cuisine. Relaxation is available at COMO Shambhala Urban Escape, comprising Asian-inspired treatments, a gym, Yoga studio and outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your COMO Metropolitan Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropolitan Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Metropolitan Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Metropolitan Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing