We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Metropolitan By Como , Bangkok”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
COMO Metropolitan Bangkok
Ranked #17 of 879 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Excellent hotel, outstanding service by all the staff. Superb spa facilities which was offered the best massage I have ever had. Di Inge in Nahm is a must the best Thai Cuisine I have ever had.
Pool area great for morning but by early afternoon pool is in shade so good time to start exploring.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
Thank MichaelwEnglish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JorgeMonje, General Manager at COMO Metropolitan Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Dear MichaelwEnglish, we hope you have had a great start to this 2013, happy to have you staying with us and we are very grateful for your visit and very kind review.
Wellness and Cuisine are two of the pillars of the experience at all our COMO H&R and of course at the Metropolitan, it means a lot to us that you have enjoyed both, your treatment and your meal at Nahm, a very special and traditional Thai cuisine.
It would be nice to see you again on this 2013, please let us know if we could be of any assistance at anytime, warm regards from us all. Jorge Monje

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,996)
There are newer reviews for COMO Metropolitan Bangkok
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,082 - 1,088 of 1,996 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2013

I have been heard of this hotel for long years but this is the first time I stay in it. It is just beside Banyan Tree and Sukothai and kind of bit far from sky train station Sala Daeng. However I think it is very decent in terms of the decoration and services. The room is quite clean and nice (and very large indeed). It was sad that we couldn't make a reservation at the Thai restaurant Naum (?) which is a Michelin 3-star restaurant in Metropolitan. There was no group tourists (as what I could see) therefore the whole hotel is just very quiet - which is important for me.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
2  Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JorgeMonje, General Manager at COMO Metropolitan Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Dear Chris S, we are glad that you finally decided to stay with us and very happy to know you have enjoyed your stay.
We are only sorry you didn't have a chance to have a meal at Nahm, a very special and popular Thai cuisine. Nahm has been recently voted Top 50 restaurant in the world in the San Pellegrino list, early reservations are really recommended and needed as the restaurant is fully book most nights and many nights on advance, lunch time is usually a bit easier and available most days.
We would be happy to hopefully have you back, don't hesitate to let us so we can assist with Nahm reservations and any other thing you might need.
Warm regards and thanks a lot for your visit and very nice review. Jorge Monje.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

This is our favorite bar in Bangkok. We have been looking for cocktails with thai twists using thai herbs and thai fruits. Met Bar has done it best with average price compared with other nice restaurants and hotel bars/ lounges in Bangkok. Tom Yum Martini is the best: with creativity + genuineness from the bartender!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pat c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JorgeMonje, General Manager at COMO Metropolitan Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Dear Pat C, greetings from all of us at the Metropolitan by COMO, Bangkok.
Memories are made of tastes, smells, music...we really hope that your Tom Yumtini brings you back many happy memories from your trip to Thailand and this exciting Bangkok.
Thanks a lot for sharing the experience and for your visit and please would you like any of our recipes don't hesitate to send me an email. Warm regards, Jorge Monje.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We booked the Metropolitan Hotel because we were keen to try David Thompson's cuisine at in-house restaurant Nahm. We booked several months in advance through hotels.com but on arrival found that none of the requests we had made on that site were accommodated. The children were not in an adjoining room, nor in twin beds and we did not get the king bed we requested. The night duty manager was unhelpful but we managed to sort out our issues the following morning. Apart from that our 3 night stay was terrific. I loved the healthy breakfast options and the bedding was perfection. The only real drawback is the location of the hotel. Although it is near Lumpini Park, which is good if jogging is on your agenda. It is quite far from the central shopping region and even further from the major attractions. The restaurant Nahm was quite good but didn't exactly meet our expectations since it is often sited as one of the top 50 restaurants in the world. Our set menu had almost all of the courses delivered to the table at once which did not make for a relaxed dining experience. Most of the food was sensational but not all. It is extremely spicy.

Room Tip: Do not book a city room, they are tiny and have very small beds
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JorgeMonje, General Manager at COMO Metropolitan Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Dear SuzSydney41, greetings from Metropolitan Bangkok, on behalf of all of us I would like to thank you for your visit and for your detail comments and feedback.
Please accept our sincere apology, we are sorry about the inconvenience during your stay and that we might not have been able to solve them better or faster. It really means a lot to us that you have enjoyed your stay, our gorgeous beds and great breakfast.
I only wish we would have been of more assistance and more informative, in fact the hotel location is quite central and with great access to all major areas and attractions in town, both sky train and subway stations are less than 10 minutes away and at most times taxi transfers are quite comfortable.
Regarding Nahm, it is indeed a very special Thai cuisine, very traditional and hardly cook any more, due to the difficulty and elaboration of the dishes, some of the dishes are extremely spicy as we follow the original recipes, again our team guidance and advice would have been of the most help and importance, once again sorry about that.
Please anything you may need from Bangkok, let us know, we would be happy to welcome you back very soon. Jorge Monje

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We loved this hotel

Very modern, amazing breakfast (very healthy) where they had everything from their own homemade nutella and peanut butter + scrambled egg with tofu etc (+ all the normal english breakfast stuff of course)

pilates and yoga sessions - amazing!

I did a pilates session as soon as we arrived, followed by a swim which did that I didnt get jet lagged at all.. bliss..

We were here for a few nights before heading over to mandarin oriental but preferred this one (bonus: this one is also a lot cheaper!!)

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrs-HJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JorgeMonje, General Manager at COMO Metropolitan Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Dear Mrs HJM, greetings from your home in Bangkok.
We are a great wellness hotel in Bangkok, from our location to the design, our treatments and COMO Shambhala amenities, our food. Everything contributes and has been thought to calm and relax, most of our guests refer to Metropolitan as an oasis in the city and we are very privilege to have many of them coming back once and again.
We are really happy you have enjoyed and value our services, thanks a lot.
Looking forward to have you back very soon, warm regards, Jorge Monje

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

My partner and I spent 2 nights here over New Years Eve and we were so glad we chose the Metropolitan. From when we arrived at the hotel to when we left the service was excellent and the staff made every effort to make our stay comfortable, welcoming and hassle free. We booked a Metropolitan room which was vast and the bathroom was pretty big too. The small touches of leaving a basket of fresh fruit every day in your room, delivering a paper to your room and checking each evening whether you needed anything were what made this hotel extra special. The breakfasts were the best I'd ever had in a hotel (and we travel a lot) with a huge choice of fresh fruit, cold meats and cheese, pastries and on top of that a menu of cooked dishes. We would without doubt stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank London_UK_Essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JorgeMonje, General Manager at COMO Metropolitan Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Dear London_UK_Essex, it has been a pleasure to welcome this 2013 together, we really wish it will be a very happy one for you and your family.
Thanks a lot for your visit and your very kind review, we are really happy you had a good time and very nice memories of your trip and Metropolitan.
On behalf of our team at Glow, our health focused restaurant, I would like to thank you for your comment on our breakfast, it is definitely far away and different to the offer at most and more traditional hotels, but one of the highlights of the day at the Metropolitan and all our COMO Hotels, glad you had enjoyed.
Please anything you may need from this bustling city or us, let us know, happy to be of assistance and looking forward to many more celebrations together. Warm regards, Jorge Monje.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Like any long term relationship, there have been highs and lows with The Metropolitan Bangkok but as in all good relationships, you turn a corner after some time and you are excited and wow'd like the first time you met.
I am a long time fan of this hotel and I am thrilled to write that it is going through a renaissance. I strongly urge you to stay and experience everything I have loved about this property since the beginning.
The great things remain - spacious, understated though well-appointed rooms, helpful and friendly staff, a fantastically delicious breakfast, amazing food by chef Chris Miller, complimentary yoga, a great pool and of course Nahm restaurant serving impeccable Thai food (Nahm in London has a Michelin star).


The breath of newness however is due to a new, very visible and very affable General Manager who has brought in new vigor, life and energy to the property. What was mediocre before has been refined and reworked and my stay this time was faultless. It was a fantastic way to start the year!
The Metropolitan is not your conventional 5 star hotel. If you are looking for a glitzy lobby bar, a pimped up hotel room or a bustling, overcrowded pool area then I suggest you stay elsewhere. This is a great value, understated design hotel that deserves a strong, loyal base of devotees.


Try it - truly fantastic..

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chairmansozz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JorgeMonje, General Manager at COMO Metropolitan Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Dear Chairmansozz, warm regards from your home in Bangkok.
Nothing better at the Metropolitan that the many, great friends, regular guests that we are very privileged to welcome every single day. it is you and our very nice team that make a difference and create a very unique and special atmosphere at the hotel.
We are very grateful for your friendship and loyalty and we are very happy to be engage in a long term relationship.
As you've mentioned, not your conventional 5 star hotel, but a great quality, value relax and uncomplicated experience:
Looking forward to have you back very soon, warm regards, Jorge Monje

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#30 of 879 in Bangkok
6,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#18 of 879 in Bangkok
8,397 reviews
Silom
SO Sofitel Bangkok
SO Sofitel Bangkok
#22 of 879 in Bangkok
4,223 reviews
Silom
Le Meridien Bangkok
Le Meridien Bangkok
#12 of 879 in Bangkok
3,559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to COMO Metropolitan Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about COMO Metropolitan Bangkok

Address: 27 South Sathorn Road | Tungmahamek, Sathorn, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Sathorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#16 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#24 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#28 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#33 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: $123 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — COMO Metropolitan Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
COMO Metropolitan Bangkok is a 169-room 5 star hotel defined by subtle, contemporary design and intuitive, polished service. The Met Bar, a stylish lounge-like bar, serves a comprehensive selection of martini cocktails. Nahm restaurant serves Thai cuisine from award-winning Australian chef David Thompson whilst 'glow' focuses on an nutritious COMO Shambhala Cuisine. Relaxation is available at COMO Shambhala Urban Escape, comprising Asian-inspired treatments, a gym, Yoga studio and outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your COMO Metropolitan Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropolitan Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Metropolitan Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Metropolitan Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing