We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best hotel in Bangkok” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of COMO Metropolitan Bangkok

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
COMO Metropolitan Bangkok
Ranked #19 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Milan, Lombardia, Italy
1 review
“The best hotel in Bangkok”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

The Metropolitan Bangkok is superior when it comes to service, spa and dining. I was hesitant to leave the hotel to explore Bangkok because I loved my experience so much.
The design of the hotel is gorgeous from the spacious rooms to the world class spa. The staff are professional and the General Manager, Jorge, went out of his way to greet us and to ensure that we had everything we needed for a memorable stay.
Chris Miller of Nahm created the most incredible meal I have ever had - definitely the most superior dining experience in Thai cuisine around the globe. This is a must for anyone visiting Bangkok. We also loved the Maitre' d, Troy, who ensured we had the best dining experience.
Breakfast and lunch in Glow was extraordinary. The food is healthy light and delicious. You feel energized rather than depleted after every meal.
We took advantage of the spa, amazing gym, olympic size swimming pool and yoga studio! What more could you ask for from a hotel?
We will be back! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JorgeMonje, General Manager at COMO Metropolitan Bangkok, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Ciao Christina, greetings from your home in Bangkok! Thanks a lot for your compliments to Chris and Troy, I'm sure they will be happy to read and know.
We are very grateful for your very kind comments, it makes us happy to know you have enjoyed your stay and appreciated every single thing that makes Metropolitan and all our COMO Hotels what they are, the things that you've mentioned service, spa, dining are of the utmost importance to all of us and probably what really makes us a top hotel, every single thing that it is difficult to capture in a picture, so your comments are especially relevant and welcomed.
Please let us know should you be visiting Bangkok again, we would be happy to welcome you back and meanwhile anything you may need, happy to be of assistance.
Warm regards, Jorge Monje.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,888 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,312
    450
    92
    20
    14
See reviews for
164
915
217
226
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed three nights at the Metropolitan and had a great time. It's centrally located but set back from the main road, so seems much quieter than you'd expect in Bangkok. The service is outstanding - as others have noted, the General Manager, Jorge, makes a point of greeting guests personally, but other staff we dealt with were efficient and helpful, even for tricky requests like following up with the airline when I lost my bag. The Metropolitan rooms are spacious and comfortable. The toiletries are great. And the restaurant, Nahm, is something special - well worth a meal there even if you're staying elsewhere. All this for an incredibly reasonably price for a five star hotel, even by Bangkok's standards. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Weeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JorgeMonje, General Manager at COMO Metropolitan Bangkok, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear The_Weeks, greetings from all of us at Metropolitan, thanks a lot for your visit it really means a lot to us that you have enjoyed your stay and the company and service of our team.
We will share your compliments with all of them, I believe you have described us really well, I always have the feeling of Bangkok fading back the moment you enter the Metropolitan, indeed a serene and quiet corner, right in the middle of this bustling city.
We are as well privileged to be home to Nahm, David Thompson's renowned Thai Restaurant, all the effort and love going on behind the scenes, definitely make for a very special experience.
Please let us know if we can be of any assistance, we would be really happy to welcome you back soon.
Warm regards, Jorge Monje
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
61 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

Conveniently located, very professional and attentive service, good taste design and food selection. The front desk responded to needs with flying colors. Very quiet hotel, despite being very central and next to one of the busiest thoroughfares in the city.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NY008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JorgeMonje, General Manager at COMO Metropolitan Bangkok, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Dear NY008, Kind regards from us all at Metropolitan Bangkok.
It has been a pleasure to have you staying with us, thanks a lot for your visit and very nice review.
Happy to know you have enjoyed your stay, we are a quiet and peaceful property but as you mentioned, right at the center of it all and with in easy access of Bangkok's main areas and attractions.
Please let us know if we can be of any assistance, we will be delighted to welcome you back very soon. Warm regards, Jorge Monje.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battambang, Cambodia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

With modern minimalist interiors, located on Sathorn Rd in the heart of Bangkok's embassy district and walking distance to Silom nightlife. The strongest suit is adjoining nahm restaurant, arguably the kingdom's best take on royal Thai cuisine, and well worth a destination in itself. By contrast, the hotel's own Glow restaurant has fine bakery and fresh pure fruit juices, with attentive service. (We sadly missed a raw meal dinner guest chef promotion Glow offered during the annual Vegetarian Festival.) The hotel also has a very eager to please GM, both the best bathrobes we've encountered anywhere (light terry interior with cotton exterior shell, but not too heavy for the tropics) and definitely the best hotel toiletry line bar none: Shambhala. I rarely buy these kinds of products after hotel stays, but was won over. Bathrooms massive marble, but lack power points (presumably for safety reasons) so electric toothbrush charging will be in the living room, as hair drying. And a swim in the pool is magical, nestled like an oasis amongst towering skyscrapers.

Room Tip: Go for the mid level Metropolitan rooms, for even larger space. Most rooms very large, but there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Globetr0ttingG0urmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JorgeMonje, General Manager at COMO Metropolitan Bangkok, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Globetr0ttingG0urmet; I'm sure you would have enjoyed our Raw Food Promotion, it was just spectacular.
Warm regards from us all at Metropolitan, we have enjoyed very much having you with us and would like to thank you for your visit and this very nice and detailed review.
We will share your compliments with our team, special thanks from everybody at Nahm, indeed a very special thanks on behalf of our Nahm team, a huge amount of dedication and effort goes into preparing this very unique Traditional Thai Cuisine, happy to know you think so highly of it.
Hopefully our COMO Shambhala products will keep your memories alive back at home till the time we welcome you back.
Meanwhile please anything you may need, let us know, Warm regards, Jorge Monje
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

My wife and I like the Metropolitan because it's clean, modern, efficient with two fantastic restaurants (innovative Thai and healthy cuisine) and an excellent spa. So it always fits our needs, no matter whether we're there for a healthy detox or an outrageous retox. Jorge and Ms Thiwaporn always take good care of us.

Room Tip: to me they're all quite good, except for the ones wedged into the corners
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stew808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JorgeMonje, General Manager at COMO Metropolitan Bangkok, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Stewart B, definitely, Bangkok and the Metropolitan make for a perfect retox and detox combination.
I have never thought about it that way and the comment really made me laugh, thanks a lot. I would like to thank you, as well, for your visit and your very kind comment.
Looking forward to have you back, yet again, soon. Warm regards, Jorge Monje
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

The thing that stood out for us in this hotel is what the new general manager Jorge is trying to achieve. For the first time in a hotel chain, certainly one this size, we were at first surprised that the GM was greeting us upon check in. Jorge genuinely welcomes you to the hotel and offers his service and business card should you need his assistance. You'll also see him at breakfast talking to guests, offering information and general conversation. I'm sure this type of approach will take some guests by surprise, however it's a welcomed change. We stayed in a king room and it is huge, great if you're staying for a longer period. The BTS is within walking distance with lot's of eating out options along the way. We had dinner at Nahm and I highly recommend it if you enjoy Thai food with a difference. I'll post a more detailed review of the restaurant separately. Lastly, the breakfast at Glow is small compared to big hotel buffets, but the quality is the best and the fact that you can order a la carte from either a traditional or healthy choice menu is another welcomed addition. We tried three options on the healthy menu and all were super tasty and an excellent departure from bacon and eggs. They were also running a raw food lunch/dinner promotion which was gold.
For the price of this hotel you'll struggle to find better service, room size, breakfast and gym. And a GM who genuinely cares for his guests.

Room Tip: King size is massive for longer stays in Bangkok
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NIFT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JorgeMonje, General Manager at COMO Metropolitan Bangkok, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear NIFT, warm regards from your home in Bangkok.
All of us at COMO H&R and at the Metropolitan think of guests as friends coming home. It means a lot to us that you have felt that way.
We do care as you mentioned, about many other dear and important things, love for food, wellness and the culture around us, which is easily reachable via BTS or subway.
Yes, I thought that Raw food was a very interesting and indeed surprising experience, many of our guests were blown away by it and it was rawfully good!
It would be very nice to welcome you back very soon, please let me know if we can be of any assistance. Best, Jorge Monje
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
737 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

Next door to two other famous hotels in this hectic non stop city. The level of service is outstanding, supper fast and efficient and of course with that lovely Thai politeness. My room was spacious although a bit minimalist - but that's the look for the Metropolitan. Big bathroom, nice touch is free internet and fresh coffee in the room and complimentary paper and fruit. Just the sort of things that make you feel well treated and want to come back. Great swimming spool and spa, very stylish hotel. Even an ipod player in the room and CD's and videos to borrow. All in all a great 5 star hotel and a bargain. Excellent General Manager who was there to say hello at check in - you can always tell a well run place by the details.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank JNWSuisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JorgeMonje, General Manager at COMO Metropolitan Bangkok, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear JNWSuisse, we are looking forward to have you back very soon.
Happy to know you have enjoyed your stay with us and hope you had a nice trip to "non stop" bangkok, interesting city indeed.
We are without a doubt a little peaceful and serene corner, yet right on the middle of it all.
On behalf of all of us I would like to thank you for your visit, anything you may need in the near future please let me know, happy to be of assistance.
Looking forward to see you soon, warm regards. Jorge Monje.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#25 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Le Meridien Bangkok
Le Meridien Bangkok
#12 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,328 reviews
Sukhumvit
Adelphi Forty-Nine
Adelphi Forty-Nine
#4 of 849 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#18 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to COMO Metropolitan Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about COMO Metropolitan Bangkok

Property: COMO Metropolitan Bangkok
Address: 27 South Sathorn Road | Tungmahamek, Sathorn, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Sathorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#18 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#24 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#28 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#33 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — COMO Metropolitan Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
COMO Metropolitan Bangkok is a 169-room 5 star hotel defined by subtle, contemporary design and intuitive, polished service. The Met Bar, a stylish lounge-like bar, serves a comprehensive selection of martini cocktails. Nahm restaurant serves Thai cuisine from award-winning Australian chef David Thompson whilst 'glow' focuses on an nutritious COMO Shambhala Cuisine. Relaxation is available at COMO Shambhala Urban Escape, comprising Asian-inspired treatments, a gym, Yoga studio and outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your COMO Metropolitan Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropolitan Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Metropolitan Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Metropolitan Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing