We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still the Best service in the world”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Ranked #2 of 867 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Still the Best service in the world”
Reviewed August 5, 2007

^6 years on and we still love this Hotel,it is the only place in the world that makes us feel so special.
we are constant travellers at the luxury end of the market and yes there are more glamerous and better appointed hotels in the world,but I do not beleivanybody trains there staff in the way the orienta Bangkok seems to.
Truly amazing.

  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank JERYLEV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,631
    455
    106
    34
    24
See reviews for
782
1,834
323
541
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (619)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
UESyorkie
Level 4 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2007

What can I say about The Oriental... impeccable service (we were greeted with orchids and fresh-squeezed OJ upon check-in, every floor has a concierge / butler, wine & hors d’œuvres evening welcome reception, fresh local fruit selection in room daily, and on and on!), fantastic location, great breakfast buffet right on the river, and stylish plunge pool with cabanas. Afternoon tea at the Author's Lounge not to be missed, you'll feel like you've stepped back in time! The only drawback to the hotel is that while it is convenient to all of the tourist sights along the river, it isn't centrally located relative to the rest of Bangkok... hardly a blemish to our overall experience, which, unfortunately, only lasted three days! Despite our short stay, I'll forever be spoiled by The Oriental; no other 5* property I've stayed at since has even come close!

  • Liked — Service, service, service!
  • Disliked — If hard-pressed to say, it would have to be distance from city center.
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank UESyorkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2007

The Oriental is everything you could ever want in a hotel. I wanted to stay there indefinitely..... Words cannot express the level of service and atmosphere we enjoyed at the Oriental Bangkok. We were lucky to have a driver Mr. Richard,(Car #11) during the time of our stay. He was absolutely fabulous in helping make our Bangkok experience unforgettable.

  • Liked — View of the river from our room
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank SuzanneBoze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2007

I went to The Oriental Bangkok with my boyfriend. In total, we spent 2 nights there. We had such a fantastic time! The service was excellent, and the Hotel was full of character! It has a great buzzy atmosphere and there's something very relaxing about it even though it's in the heart of Bangkok.

We stayed in the River Wing on 11th floor which had great views of the River and part of the City. The Bamboo Bar near the lobby is great for an early evening/late night drink and i also have to say that the breakfast served on the terrace is possibly the best i've ever had!

One important thing to bear in mind is that even though i went with my boyfriend we were given twin beds. If you want a double bed you must request it.

When i first started planning my trip to Bangkok i spoke to Essential Escapes who recommended The Oriental because of its location and atmosphere. Well this certainly ticked the boxes and more some! I'm very glad of this recommendation and i will be going back.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank lovetravel3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2007

I had a very good experience in our 3 nights stay at the Oriental with wife and kid. It was one of this very rare occasions were a hotel meet our expectations. Everything from reception, to rooms, service, restaurants and bar were excellent.
There are always a few things that can be critisized, despique our request we were offered a smoking room, but they have been able to change it promptly without arguing.
The two big black points are :
1. the swimming pool does not have an area where my 4 year old son can stand on his feet (but there is a separate pool where he can butthere I can't do much)
2. the gastronomic french restaurant does not accept kids and requires suit and tie, excuse me but in Europe I visited my lot of 1,2 and 3 Michelin stars restaurants without being anoyed with this old fashion stuff.
Finally a very subjective point : I found the value for money extremely good.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — The surroundings apart from the river view
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LePoulpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2007

Having enjoyed The oriental last year we decided to return in July 2007. The booking was made through the hotel website. This was the first problem having requested a king bed we were given two twins in their Grden wing. Beware of these rooms as the bathroom is tiny with no ventalation. There is no seperate shower and if you are over five foot eight you will find yourself hitting your head on the shower or ceilng when attempting to bathe.Worse; throughout July and August there is no swimming pool as it is under construction. The entire area is covered and you can hear the construction work going on from early morning while taking your breakfast.
Finally we were upradged to a one bedroom suite. The decoration is tired stains on the sofa and cushions. There is no aircon in the bathroom and on our first night the entire system was not working so we had the engineers in the room while taking in room dining for forty five minutes. All the rooms in the River wing are so tired and shabby the Televisions must be over 20 yeears old. For this delight The Oriental is charging rates higher than any other five star hotel in the city. It is I feel very overpriced for what they are currently offering guests.
As if things could not get any worse we were incorrectly billed while taking afternoon tea in The Authiors Lounge. Five minutes later a waitress came running up to me explaining that she had given me another guests credit card! Quite unbelievable: so beware if you use your credit card to pay while at the hotel check that you are given back the correct card.
Finally one of their hotel drivers who collected us from another establishment in Bangkok explained how if I were to call him after
9 PM he could arrange sex! This was done while my partner was sat by my side in the car. This is a 100% true account..even though it sounds impossible that such a thing could happen.
We checked out of The Oriental after one night and returned to our previous hotel The Sukhothai which unlike The Oriental is still a Member of The leading Hotels of the World. This membership I feel clearly makes a difference and helps to safeguard one from what happened to us at The Oriental.
However the Duty Manager at The Oriental explained that the hotel is no longer a member of The leading Hotels of the World because they simply do not need to be they are The Oriental:
so sought after that such a prestigious membership is unnecessary. Clearly some of the management needs to
be a bit more realistic; drop the superior attitude and realize that like many well travelled guests this hotel is not what is used to be as standards are slipping dramatically. So please beware
and do not expect The Oriental to have what it once did...the sun is setting on this establishment.

  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
47 Thank RuinartTokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2007

We spent 4 nights in the Oriental. We have never experienced such fabulous service nor a more friendly reception in all our travels. Lines of charming staff all ready with a smile and a courteous bow of the head when we passed. nothing was to much for them. Fresh flowers everywhere with beautiful scent. The hotel had a charm about it, and a buzz of activity in the foyer, which was missing from some of the other hotels we visited which had felt a bit sterile. breakfast on the terrace overlooking the bustle on the river was a always a joy, as were the jazz evenings , and the dinners aboard the river boats.

Only reservations were that most rooms are smoking rooms- only two floors setasaide for non smoking. this meant that there was a slight musty smell to the room. also the spa and gym are on the other side of the river, which took away the spontenaity of using them . there were no tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms, which meant rather more tipping for room service than we would normally have done.

However these were small points and for atmoshere it was unsurpassed.

  • Liked — Friendly service
  • Disliked — romm was a bit small and had a slight odour
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank JuliaEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#20 of 867 in Bangkok
8,288 reviews
The Peninsula Bangkok
#7 of 867 in Bangkok
4,396 reviews
Dusit
The Siam
The Siam
#1 of 867 in Bangkok
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Address: 48 Oriental Avenue, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom , Bang Rak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#1 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#2 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1876 and ideally located on the banks of the Chao Phraya River, Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, has been an inspiration to a host of world-renowned writers from Joseph Conrad, Somerset Maughamto Wilbur Smith and John Le Carre. Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok boasts an international reputation for splendid service, style and grace and facilities including eight restaurants. The hotel's private teakwood shuttle boats provide daily access to the world famous Thai Cooking School, the hotel's Thai restaurant, the award-winning Oriental Spa and Health Centre located across the River; as well as the nearest skytrain station (SaphanTaksin) and River City Shopping Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Mandarin Oriental, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Oriental Bangkok
Oriental Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing