We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Bangkok”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Ranked #2 of 862 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Newport Beach, California
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
“Best in Bangkok”
Reviewed September 10, 2005

We returned to the Oriental after not having been there for 12 years. We were concerned about how it might have changed. Nothing to worry about there. The hotel was fabulous, and any changes were only changes for the better. The hotel has kept its distinctive refined atmosphere. Our room (a suite) was unbelievable and full of fresh flowers. Housekeeping was immaculate. The restaurants at the Oriental are wonderful. We had a lovely dinner at Lord Jim overlooking the Chao Phraya, and even the cafe downstairs is delicious (try the pomelo chicken salad). The Thai dance and dinenr at the Sala Rim Naan is perfect. I am not a big fan of the Oriental's breakfast buffet, although it does have a great variety. I prefer the a la carte offerings.

Have the boatman at the Oriental's dock set up a longtail taxi ride through the klongs. What an eye-opener on a beautiful and unusual lifestyle. Make sure and take in the Royal Barge Museum on the way. We also made use of the Oriental's fleet of chaffeured BMW's which will take you around town for about $25/hour. I will definitely return for a longer stay in the near future.

By the way, we stopped in at the Peninsula for a look around. The hotel has a very sterile feel in my opinion, and the decor is very standard (by the way, I am a huge fan of the Peninsula in Hong Kong). The restaurants were not nearly as appetizing as those of the Oriental. The pool at the Peninsula, however, is pretty, although the Oriental is also good in this regard. No contest, in my opinion. Oriental all the way.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank kingsroadgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,586
    450
    106
    34
    24
See reviews for
763
1,820
319
538
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (616)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 7, 2005

This hotel is the best I've ever stayed at. Granted, I don't usually stay at 5 star hotels while travelling but the level of service at this hotel is impeccable. When we arrived at the hotel from the airport, we were immediately greeted by name and given flowers as a welcome gift.
There was no need to wait in the lobby to check-in. Someone showed us straight to our room, in the garden wing and checked us in right at the room.
The room itself was spectacular with a view of the Chao Phraya river. You can also see the pool and the Oriental's spa and cooking school located across the river from the room. There is also a floor butler to take care of all your needs. Just push the button by the window and he or she comes running. They are also so thoughtful when they clean the room. I had left a book open on the sofa and when I came back in the afternoon, they had placed it just so I wouldn't lose my page!
Furthermore, the staff all seem so happy to be there and wait on you in whatever way possible. They all seem to truly enjoy their jobs.
If you are like me and don't usually stay in 5 star places because you would rather spend the money on shopping or something like that, I still suggest that you splurge and stay in this hotel at least once in your life, maybe for a honeymoon or anniversary. You are so well taken care of, you will not regret the expense and have the memories to last a lifetime.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2005

I stayed at the Oriental in Bangkok for just one night, earlier this summer. I'd loved to have stayed there for much longer.

I could go into an awful lot of detail about what makes this such a fantastic property, but if anything, it's down to the staff. Nowhere in Europe will you find hotel staff who provide such consistently high levels of service. From the moment you enter the building and until you leave, you are serviced by an immaculately presented and thoroughly trained personnel who sincerely strive to provide the highest levels of customer care.

In general, European hotel staff do not take their roles as seriously, as working in the industry is, unlike in the Far East, conceived as intermediary and poorly paid. American hotel staff tend to provide slightly better service than their European counterparts, but with that sickly veneer of insincerity, a la "Have a nice day!" At the Oriental, the service is unparalleled.

The staff apart, the hotel's bedrooms and public areas are immaculately maintained. Beautifully and expensively appointed, this is truly how a five star hotel should feel.

I had a room in the newer Garden Wing with uninterrupted views north and south along the Chao Phraya River, overlooking the pool and breakfast terrace. And what a treat breakfast it was! It's always one of the things I look forward to when staying in hotels (and how often am I let down!), and the Oriental's continental buffet was out of this world.

Such a shame I was there for less than 24 hours. This really must be one of the world's very greatest hotels!

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank worldvoyager999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2005

After three years we've stayed at the Oriental for a second time. Although some statistics rank the Peninsula better than the Oriental we did not regret our decision at all. The staff is wonderful, very proactive. The rooms are very functional and have a colonial touch. The restaurants are great. We have visited the Peninsula and did not feel very welcomed – it felt much more formal and had a barren atmosphere (this judgment might be unfair as we’ve spent just 30 min. there but we didn’t want to spend more time there. The Peninsula might be ranked higher but the Oriental is just THE hotel – and the location is better, too (if you are a tourist)

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank neuha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2005

We have just returned from a family holiday in Thailand. I scoured Tripadviser bfore we went to asertain which hotel would be the best for our family. We are two adults an 3 teenage children. We were torn between the Peninsula (lots of friends had recommended) and the Oriental. We decided The Oriental - on the basis that we had always wanted to stay there and if we didnt like it we would simply transfer to the Peninsula.Over the week our choice proved to be the best.
The level of service is unsurpassed. The staff were unfailingly welcoming and this standard was measured against other hotels in Thailand and not European service which simply does not compare.
We checked out The Peninsula to evaluate whether we should stay there on our return leg to Bangkok. They were not terribly helpful and very begrudgingly showed me their choice of bedrooms. Very swish but a touch clinical. This was our opinion of the hotel. It was all a bit cold - the views were better of the skyline in The Peninsula but the rooms did not have that special quality.
The food in The Oriental was the best food we have ever had in Thailand. This included their new hotel in Chiang Mai which we stayed in for a week. After two days we stopped eating out in other places as the food was so superlative in The Oriental. The river is vastly overrated that the hotel is located next to - and the only advantage of the location is that you are near to great shops. We particularly liked the Oriental's boat waitin for us to come out of River City (they waited 3 hours!) and when we alighted on the jetty - lo and behold the boat zoomed over to us. This was something we simply did not expect.
The difference between the hotels is that The Peninsula is new on the block and would be great for a business traveller who wants state of the art facilities in the bedroom and is not looking to stay for very long. If however, you want a memorable holiday where staff will look genuinely pleased to see you and give you frank advice on what not to do and what is a must then choose The Oriental. We were so bowled over by their service that we will be back next year.

Helpful?
8 Thank flynn7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 446 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2005

Spent 4 nights at The Oriental. Room was spacious (we were upgraded to a City View Deluxe but we had a view down the river from our balcony?). Limo had cold towels and fresh water then we were given ice cold apple juice at check in. Most impressed by the lift operators who knew which floor we were on and hit the button for our floor without being seen. Ate at Lord Jim’s seafood..yum and also on the veranda. Great breakfast on the riverfront. Disappointed we missed out on Le Normandie but they don’t take kids and despite 10yo offering to eat in I didn’t want to leave her on her own.

Transport up an down the river on the ferries was a bargain..cost about 1AUD for 3 people. Skytrain whilst a little more expensive was cool and comfortable. Chatuchuk markets were just another Asian market. Grand Temple and reclining Buddha at Wat Pho definitely worth a visit. Highlight for my daughter was the dancing at Sala Rim Naam (operates instead of the cruise during the wet season) as not only did she get a photo with the dancers but also was given a floral bracelet they had used in the dance.
Despite the pouring rain we made it across the river relatively dry due to the Huge Umbrellas carried by staff to protect you.

Oriental runs free rice barge transfers to skytrain and River City (which is not really worth a visit). One of the best 5 stars we've stayed in.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank GurusW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level 4 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2005

We stayed at various regions throughout our 10 days in Thailand in April. We always spend our last few days of any vacation at a luxurious hotel. The Oriental was definitely in that class. We stayed 2 nights and had a wonderful time. The flower arrangements throughout the hotel are magnificent. The band in the Bamboo Room is excellent. The service was beyond amazing. After saying all of that we don't think we would stay here again. This is only because we don't need this high class of a hotel to make us feel pampered. We stayed the first night in Thailand at the Shangri-La and weighing the price factors we feel the Shangri-La is more to our liking. However, if you have the money and are staying longer than we did (maybe a business trip?) then the Oriental should be your choice.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Blakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#19 of 862 in Bangkok
8,193 reviews
Dusit
The Siam
The Siam
#1 of 862 in Bangkok
613 reviews
The Peninsula Bangkok
#7 of 862 in Bangkok
4,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Address: 48 Oriental Avenue, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom , Bang Rak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#1 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#1 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#90 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#159 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1876 and ideally located on the banks of the Chao Phraya River, Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, has been an inspiration to a host of world-renowned writers from Joseph Conrad, Somerset Maughamto Wilbur Smith and John Le Carre. Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok boasts an international reputation for splendid service, style and grace and facilities including eight restaurants. The hotel's private teakwood shuttle boats provide daily access to the world famous Thai Cooking School, the hotel's Thai restaurant, the award-winning Oriental Spa and Health Centre located across the River; as well as the nearest skytrain station (SaphanTaksin) and River City Shopping Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Mandarin Oriental, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Oriental Bangkok
Oriental Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing