We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Ranked #2 of 852 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
baltimore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

We ended up canceling a different hotel reservation for the Mandarin because of the ongoing protests in Bangkok. This place is perfect and lived up to its reputation.

Since we almost missed our connection at LAX our bags didn't make it to Bangkok. Thankfully, we had a change of clothes and toiletries. Anyways, upon checking in, the front desk asked for the baggage information so they could help track our bags down. In addition, they sent up an emergency kit for people who didn't have their luggage. Toiletries, underwear etc. So genius and nice.

The location is perfect and access to the water is so convenient. Rooms were clean, views of the river and overall great. We were there for only 3 days and the staff recognized us and greeted us warmly each time. They kept us up to date on our luggage tracking and made sure it was delivered promptly when it finally arrived.

I have never stayed at a Mandarin, but this place does the name justice. I would highly recommend anyone to stay there.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jester76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBangkok, Communications Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear jester76

Thank you for your wonderful review! We are delighted to learn of your appreciation of The legendary Oriental service. I will be sure to share your feedback with our reception team. They will be delighted to know what a positive impression they had upon your stay.

Thank you for your heartfelt recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back to ‘La Grande Dame’ soon for another wonderful and exquisite stay.

Warmest regards
Michael Nurbatlian
Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,080 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,481
    438
    103
    34
    24
See reviews for
732
1,778
310
523
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (605)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

Please see separate reviews for The Cooking School and Le Normandie....

What can I say that has not already been said?
Heaven on earth quite simply...
From being picked up in the hotel car to being taken bake back to the airport...
Thank you to Mrs Hyndman and all staff for making our holiday and my husbands birthday so special...
One question, where have the bell hops at the elevator gone? Missed him!

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely but if you can get a river view you will not be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBangkok, Communications Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear cal204

Thank you for sharing your fabulous review on TripAdvisor! ‘Heaven on earth’ sounds fantastic indeed, thank you for your heartfelt recommendations. I will certainly share your kind words with the Oriental Family and our General Manager Mrs. Hyndman!

Khun Anusorn has been promoted to the position of Lobby Ambassador and is leading the upcoming team of Elevator attendants. We look forward to welcoming you back to ‘La Grande Dame’ stays in the near future!

Warmest regards
Michael Nurbatlian
Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlesey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

We stayed at the Oriental for two nights after a 10 day lay down in Pattaya and what a fantastic end to our holiday it was.

This hotel is all about service, service and service. I have never stayed in a hotel such as this but I will definitely be doing so in the future (funds allowing)

The concierge/reception staff could not do too much to assist you with anything and everything. The butler assigned to you is very attentive and keeps your room in tip top shape. This was a great place from where to explore this amazing city and we will be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBangkok, Communications Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Mark G

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave this wonderful review of Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok! I am delighted to read all the lovely things you had to say about “La Grande Dame” and will share your comments with our colleagues. Thank you again for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back again for another unforgettable stay!

Warm regards
Michael Nurbatlian
Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
746 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

This is a gorgeous hotel. We didn't stay here but came twice for a drink at the river bar terrace to enjoy the sunset. It's a million dollar experience - beautiful as the sun sets and the lights of boats sparkle on the river. Wonderful.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JNWSuisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBangkok, Communications Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear JNWSuisse

Thank you very much for your superb review on Tripadvisor and for painting a fabulous sunset drink experience. Thank you for your heartfelt recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back to ‘La Grande Dame’ in the very near future.

Sincerely yours
Michael Nurbatlian
Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

Outstanding hotel in Bkk with amazing service! Look no further if visiting this city. A note to managment though; we had booked 3 rooms through AMEX and Fine Resorts & Hotels. Our booking included a free upgrade. We were told that the hotel was fully booked but when checking Mandarin Oriental's homepage there were plenty of rooms available. No upgrade.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank PhilipLundh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBangkok, Communications Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear PhilipLundh

I am delighted to hear you had a fabulous stay at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok on your recent visit. I am pleased that you enjoyed the magical ambiance, legendary Oriental service and the culinary delights. Please do let us know when your plans bring you back to Bangkok. I would be delighted to assist with the details of your stay to ensure another wonderful experience at ‘La Grande Dame’

Kind regards
Michael Nurbatlian
Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauderdale by the Sea, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

I agree with other's, Mandarin Oriental Bangkok is really magical and fit for Royalty.
It is hard to imagine more perfect hotel. From the moment of arrival at the Airport MO staff takes over, suddenly you become the "most important" VIP ever. If it is your first trip to Bangkok, book the "smooth arrival", it is worry free service and worth every penny. A uniformed hotel staff member will take care of everything, an elegant BMW 7 limo will bring you to the hotel in comfort. You will enter in style this magical world of impeccable service.
The Mandarin Oriental is at the same time formal and elegant with attention to every detail, yet charming and comfortable to make you feel like suddenly you entered into a bygone era.
Here you are surrounded by beauty and kindness. It is a secluded paradise tempting you to never leave the hotel grounds. Fabulous Riverside location, SPA, Gym and very good restaurants serving fabulous food, help you to do just that. For your sightseeing adventures and other events ask the Consierge, they will arrange everything perfectly. You will be safe and happy.
We will be back and brag about it to oblivion.

Room Tip: We loved the Author's Wing. It is quiet and special, not hotel like. It feels more like staying...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luwrobel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBangkok, Communications Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear luwrobel

Thank you very much for your superb review on Tripadvisor. I am thrilled to hear that you had a fabulous stay, and enjoyed the legendary Oriental hospitality. I have shared your comments with our team and they are delighted to know about your excellent feedback on service. We really look forward to welcoming you back to ‘La Grande Dame’ in the near future.

Sincerely yours
Michael Nurbatlian
Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
238 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

Indeed, my stay this week was much better then last month. I wanted to go back to see whether it was a one time problem, my mood or a real problem of the hotel. My stay was much better as the entire staff and management were aware of my last comments, nevertheless the people were superb as they usually are in Thailand. Probably the last month with all the protests going around, they had somehow shocked the staff of the hotel and were not as serviceful as they should be. But this time they were exquisite.
On a bad note I still have to say that the hotel needs some real renovation, the rooms (this time in the main tower) are nice but nothing worth the ratings and the image, toilets were clean but many little details as the bath tub, the shower floor and stained joints, the curtains, the moquettes and the overall aspect show that it really is time for a serious facelift.
Also on a bad note the concierge offers way tooooo expensive services, I tried to ask their services for limos, and tours but they just over charge three or four times the normal prices you obtain by just calling yourself. This is not good.
Once again, the staff was superb, food very good but……

Room Tip: Garden Suites are still better then the main tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheGastronomist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBangkok, Communications Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear TheGastronomist

Thank you for your return visit to Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok. It’s great to hear that you had a fantastic stay and that you particularly enjoyed the ambiance and legendary Oriental service. Thank you again for your comments and constructive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back again for another unforgettable stay!

Sincerely
Michael Nurbatlian
Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Dusit
The Siam
The Siam
#1 of 852 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
The Peninsula Bangkok
#8 of 852 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,196 reviews
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#19 of 852 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Address: 48 Oriental Avenue, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom , Bang Rak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#1 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#2 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1876 and ideally located on the banks of the Chao Phraya River, Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, has been an inspiration to a host of world-renowned writers from Joseph Conrad, Somerset Maughamto Wilbur Smith and John Le Carre. Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok boasts an international reputation for splendid service, style and grace and facilities including eight restaurants. The hotel's private teakwood shuttle boats provide daily access to the world famous Thai Cooking School, the hotel's Thai restaurant, the award-winning Oriental Spa and Health Centre located across the River; as well as the nearest skytrain station (SaphanTaksin) and River City Shopping Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mandarin Oriental, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Oriental Bangkok
Oriental Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing