We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Now I like Bangkok better... :-)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Ranked #2 of 879 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 4, 2013

The location, the attention to detail and friendly service made the Oriental one of my best stays in Bangkok. Already first step into the hotel and you are greeted with beautiful smells of the many exotic flower garlands decorating the foyer... Not the biggest or the poshest of the reception lobbies but modestly elegant and welcoming. The rooms are well equipped and reflect the old charm of the hotel but the main building, an obvious addition to the historic construction, does not unfortunately do justice to the history of the place. Staff is generally friendly and the floor butlers are bending over backwards to serve you and make you feel truly special... General quality of restaurants and quality and variety of food could definitely be better and does somewhat let this otherwise very enjoyable hotel down. Overall I will certainly recommend Mandarin Oriental for business as well as private visitors...

Room Tip: Try to get rooms with a direct view of the river, views from the side wing are not bad but better th...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Okai_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBangkok, Communications Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Dear obarutcu

Thank you for sharing the experience of your stay at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the location, attention to detail and the signature butler service. Thanks again for your sincere comments and please do let us know when your plans bring you back to Bangkok. I would be delighted to assist with the details of your stay to ensure another wonderful experience at “La Grande Dame”.

Sincerely,
Michael Nurbatlian
Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,284)
There are newer reviews for Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,757 - 1,763 of 4,284 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2013

I live in Peru where people would dream of traveling to a place like Bangkok.
peru is a very special country..
we have macchu picchu.
Bangkok is a world far far away from south america.
bangkok has this super hotel.
when i arrived i was received with flowers and a special tea from bangkok.
deliciouse for my way of thinking.
the personnel of the hotel where very friendly.
they spoke perfect english.
very nicely decorated with flowers everywhere..
the hotel had its own Little boat that would take you from one side of the bay to the other.the
on the other side of the bay is the hotels spa, gym and apartments. where people can rent to stay for long time.
one night i was having dinner and there was a Fireworks display.
this was because someone staying at the hotel was getting married.
the food was deliciouse too.
i had some deliciouse spring rolls.
i love eating them every once in a while but these where out of this world.

the room was very nice too.
keep up the good work.

Room Tip: you have to have a greate view. otherwise it sucks.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SILVINA Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBangkok, Communications Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Dear SILVINA Y

Thank you very much for sharing the experience of your stay at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok! We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful time and that you enjoyed the service, facilities, and cuisine. Thank you for visiting all the way from Peru and we hope to welcome you back again in the future!

Best regards,
Michael Nurbatlian
Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

I think this hotel started the service standard by which all others are judged. This hotel gets it right. Now with Four Season and others there is keen competition but this hotel delivers when it comes to service. The hotel is looking a bit tired bit the high level of service more than makes up for it. I have stayed at this hotel many times and never ceases to amaze my already high expectations. This is the hotel to stay at in Bangkok.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VoxVolpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBangkok, Communications Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Dear VoxVolpe

Thank you for this positive review of the hotel. I really appreciate the comments about our service standards and I will be sure to share your comments with our colleagues. Thank you for recommending us and we look forward to welcoming you back again to “La Grande Dame” in the very near future.
.

Kind regards,
Michael Nurbatlian
Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Amazing check-in service.This does not happen at the front desk but you are wisked away to your bedroom and the last few formalities concluded as you settle into your room. Great room with gorgeous bathroom and view of the river and the very special treat of fresh local specific fruit in the room every day!! At turndown service a little message of the day is left on the pillows. And early morning your newspaper is waiting in your very own postbox in the room. Fantastic buffet breakfast selection combined with a fantastic location f sitting right on the waters edge, giving one a great view over the busy river. For dinners, after long and busy days out only made use of room service. The service and food was great and the order was correct everytime. We spend some time next to the pool and once again the menu was extensive, the food and service great and small extras like refreshments and fresh fruit available at all times. . Nothing was a problem and everything was delivered with a smile. We loved the hotel's water ferry taking us to and from the sky train whenever we wanted, it made commuting a joy! Overall the staff at the Mandarin Oriental Bangkok have been exceptional and we thank you for a great stay!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Al D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

I just checked out of the mandarin oriental. Don't really want to leave now as I had a wonderful experience here. Service is just impeccable. The hotel has everything you need including a great spa, lovely restaurants, nice pool, good toiletries, etc. It is just by the river, not the most convenient but they do have shuttle service to the pier which is right next to saphan taksin BTS. Coming back to hotel by taxi late at night is not a problem - just learn the thai pronunciation for 'oriental' and every taxi driver knows.The hotel has a lot of heritage and the side streets are nice to walk around for some silver and home decor items. But above all else, service is really unbeatable here. The chief concierge Chaba is in the know and extremely helpful. I will come back anytime.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank le_petit_poisson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

By far, the weekend we spend at the Mandarin Oriental was one of the best experiences ever in a city hotel.

Everything is perfect in Mandarin Oriental and there is nothing that you can seriously complain about. What really impressed us was the professionalism of the staff, in every part of the hotel and at any time. We were always welcomed by our names and we felt at home from the moment we checked in.

The check in process took a maximum of one minute and then a staff accompanied us to our room. Fantastic room, perfect views of the Chao Praya river and excellent amenities. The bathroom stands out with the earthy colors and beautiful design. There is only one minor architectural fault: the toilet is near the 2nd door (sealed one) that faces the bedroom. Ideally it should have been on the opposite side.

I've asked some special requests and everything has been arranged as expected.

We spend an entire weekend inside the hotel and another thing that stands out is the food. Breakfast is excellent and the Chinese restaurant is an absolute mast for everyone staying at the hotel or living in Bangkok. The Lord Jims' was also very good but there were a couple of things that didn't go 100% with my taste. I had the seafood in puff pastry and I have two complains. The pastry is not exactly puff pastry; it is a mix of bisquit and puff pastry. The sauce was also overpowered by the losbster bisque and it was difficult to enjoy the flavor of the individual items.

Drinks at the bamboo bar are divine and the time by the pool amazing.

If this hotel will do something more in terms of environmental management (e.g. a card for the lights) it can be an example for other luxury city hotels.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Trip_Datum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBangkok, Communications Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Dear Trip_Datum

Thank you for sharing such detailed feedback following your recent stay Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok. We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay and that you enjoyed the cuisine, service, rooms and river views. We look forward to welcoming you back for another fantastic stay at “La Grande Dame” in the future.

Warm regards
Michael Nurbatlian
Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We have been many times to this hotel, always perfect, spotless. My only criticism is the location, I don't like being there and prefer downtown rather than river, but that's my personal taste, as the place is just best of best in Bangkok.

Pay for it if you can afford it. You can expect the best, for me they have never failed so far.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shake P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBangkok, Communications Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Dear Shake P

It was wonderful to read how much you enjoyed your stay at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok. I have shared your feedback with our colleagues and they were delighted to hear your feedback.
We all look forward to welcoming you back to “La Grande Dame” soon.

Best regards
Michael Nurbatlian
Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#18 of 879 in Bangkok
8,397 reviews
The Peninsula Bangkok
#7 of 879 in Bangkok
4,428 reviews
Dusit
The Siam
The Siam
#1 of 879 in Bangkok
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok

Address: 48 Oriental Avenue, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom , Bang Rak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#1 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#2 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: $384 - $784 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1876 and ideally located on the banks of the Chao Phraya River, Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, has been an inspiration to a host of world-renowned writers from Joseph Conrad, Somerset Maughamto Wilbur Smith and John Le Carre. Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok boasts an international reputation for splendid service, style and grace and facilities including eight restaurants. The hotel's private teakwood shuttle boats provide daily access to the world famous Thai Cooking School, the hotel's Thai restaurant, the award-winning Oriental Spa and Health Centre located across the River; as well as the nearest skytrain station (SaphanTaksin) and River City Shopping Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Mandarin Oriental, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Oriental Bangkok
Oriental Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing