We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Words fail me”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Ranked #2 of 859 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Huntly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
217 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Words fail me”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

This hotel has been paid every compliment possible..but it is so good it's hard not to love it..no wonder so many very old people return year after year..the attention to detail is mind blowing and every experience special..the history is what sets it apart from its main rival across the water..we stayed in both on the same trip and they are both very special hotels..which would I return to..impossible choice..go to both and try to decide for yourself

Room Tip: Corner room overlooking the river was spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geordie2666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBangkok, Communications Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Geordie2666

Thank you very much for your TripAdvisor review regarding your recent stay at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok. I am delighted to hear that you had a wonderful experience with us. Please do let us know when your plans bring you back to Bangkok. I would be delighted to assist with the details of your stay to ensure another magnificent experience at “La Grande Dame”.

Warmest personal regards
Michael Nurbatlian
Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,517
    444
    105
    34
    24
See reviews for
740
1,796
314
529
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (611)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Bayern, Germany
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Offer you a timeless unforgettable experience in the elegant & famous white colonial Author's Wing (from 1870) of the legendary Mandarin Oriental Hotel in Bangkok! Feel like Graham Greene or Somerset Maugham in this wonderful garden pavilion for Tea Time or as Drink!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johanna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBangkok, Communications Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Johanna H

Thank you very much for your wonderful review on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the afternoon tea at our “Author’s lounge” and were seduced by the atmosphere of this iconic venue. We look forward to welcoming you back to “La Grande Dame” in the very near future.

Sincerely yours
Michael Nurbatlian
Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights on a 3 for 4 offer. This hotel is utterly amazing. We had a river view room which was gorgeous, spotlessly clean and full of lots of nice touches. The room was serviced at least twice a day.

Breakfast on the terrace is well worth a visit, stunning views and a vast selection of choices. Pool areas are really lovely with drinks served to you and little snacks throughout the day,

The King of Bahrain was staying at the hotel the same time as we did, so if it's good enough for Royalty, it's definitely good enough for us!

The only tiny gripe that I have is that they charge you to use the wifi, I don't really expect to pay for this when spending a LOT of money on a hotel, but that really didn't detract from an amazing stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elmozza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBangkok, Communications Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Elmozza

Thank you very much for your wonderful review on Tripadvisor. I am delighted to hear that you had a fabulous stay, and enjoyed the breakfast along the “River of Kings’. Thank you as well for your heartfelt recommendation! We really look forward to welcoming you back to “La Grande Dame” in the very near future.

Sincerely yours
Michael Nurbatlian
Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

I have been staying here for 18 years. It has always been outstanding. Some nice upgrades, but simply the benchmark for a global 5 star hotel. The subtlety of the high service has to be seen to be believed. If you can only stay 1 night in Bangkok, then stay here.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank chingsoiwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBangkok, Communications Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear chingsoiwan

Thank you for posting an excellent review and for being a loyal guest at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok for the past 18 years. I am delighted that you consider us as one of the greatest hotels in the world and pleased to read that our team has consistently exceeded your expectations over the years.

Thank you for recommending our iconic hotel and we all look forward to welcoming you back to ‘La Grande Dame’

Warm regards
Michael Nurbatlian
Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Fantastic hotel.Cozy room in the garden wing. Old world charm with exceptional service. Fabulous food at the riverside terrace. Beautiful floral decor and Secret garden by the pool. Courteous and obliging staff. Honesty highly commended. My wallet which was left behind in the room was found intact, untouched even though housekeeping team had been to the room!

Room Tip: The garden wing -Views of the tree lined driveway/ entrance :). but no view of the river :(
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MahimanG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBangkok, Communications Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear MahimanG,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor, It was a pleasure to read how much you enjoyed your stay at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok; from the exquisite floral decorations, the elegant cuisine to the exotic gardens surrounding the swimming pools. We all look forward to welcoming you back to “La Grande Dame” soon.

Warmest personal Regards
Michael Nurbatlian
Communication Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Most hotels talk about 5 star service, the MOB delivers!

I just got back from 1 week in Maldives & then spent another in bangkok, my favourite asian city & my first time to Mandarin Oriental.

Service is impecable. For one, alot of hotels talk about having a personal butler for the room but in every case I have found the butler does nothing more then push you to buy expensive dinners & excusions. A true butler looks after you & the room. Everytime we left the room at MOB the room was serviced, 4 or 5 times a day, it didnt matter, when we came back, they had tidyed up. The room staff were impressive.

The restuarant & bar staff were great as well. And the fact that you had to wear long trousers at night & a jacket in the restaurant might come as a shock to my fellow Australians but the MOB is a high quality product & the last thing anyone wants to see is shorts & thongs in the bar.

We got a 4 night special where the last night was free & I thought it was a very good deal.

I thought the food was incredible & the prices reasonable.

Limo to airport was also very good & reasonable price.

I have been to Bangkok at least 10 times & this is the best hotel I have stayed at so we will be going again.

Room Tip: we booked 4 nights & got the 4th night free plus they gave us a free upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBangkok, Communications Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear John K

Thank you very much for reviewing Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok on TripAdvisor. I’m delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you found our colleagues warm service impeccable. Thank you for your kind compliments regarding the butler, restaurants and bar service. We look forward to welcoming you back to ‘La Grande Dame’ in the near future.

Warmest personal regards
Michael Nurbatlian
Communication Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tongeren, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed 4 nights at the Mandarin Oriental. It's breathtaking ! The staff are so very nice and always helpfull and friendly. Everything was taken care off, even in the smallest details. The food was more then delicious and the breakfast at the river bank terrace was refined.
Room service came several times a day, water bottles were refreshed every time, and every day we got fresh fruits.
Just unforgettable !

Room Tip: Bed mattrass is fairly hard
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lieve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBangkok, Communication Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Lieve H,

Thank you for reviewing Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok on TripAdvisor, I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed the restaurants as well as the room service with the fresh fruits. I look forward to welcoming you back in future.

Best regards
Michael Nurbatlian
Communication Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Dusit
The Siam
The Siam
#1 of 859 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
The Peninsula Bangkok
#7 of 859 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,260 reviews
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#21 of 859 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Address: 48 Oriental Avenue, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom , Bang Rak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#1 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#1 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#2 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1876 and ideally located on the banks of the Chao Phraya River, Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, has been an inspiration to a host of world-renowned writers from Joseph Conrad, Somerset Maughamto Wilbur Smith and John Le Carre. Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok boasts an international reputation for splendid service, style and grace and facilities including eight restaurants. The hotel's private teakwood shuttle boats provide daily access to the world famous Thai Cooking School, the hotel's Thai restaurant, the award-winning Oriental Spa and Health Centre located across the River; as well as the nearest skytrain station (SaphanTaksin) and River City Shopping Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Mandarin Oriental, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Oriental Bangkok
Oriental Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing