We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Ranked #2 of 859 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Just Amazing”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Stunning hotel, unparalleled service, I just can't fault it. I always stay here for a couple of nights when passing through Bangkok. It's a real oasis of calm in the middle of a busy city. It's not cheap, but you do get what you pay for. I would suggest booking a room with a breakfast inclusive rate unless you don't mind paying $200 for a family of 4! However the buffet, on the terrace right by the river, provides a lovely setting and the food is top notch. There is also an excellent Jazz bar, great place to retire to after dinner. It's difficult to see how this place could be improved. Go and enjoy.

Room Tip: Make sure you book a breakfast inclusive rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Passpatout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBangkok, Communications Manger at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Passpatout

Thank you very much for your kind review on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our signature hospitality and that you liked the buffet on the Riverside Terrace and Bamboo Bar. We all look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Warmest personal regards
Michael Nurbatlian
Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,517
    444
    105
    34
    24
See reviews for
740
1,796
314
529
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (611)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
83 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

An absolute must for a week-end in Bangkok, superb service...I had bought a bottle of champagne at the duty free on the way in, which the butler courteously chilled in a nice ice bucket. Forced myself to make it to the breakfast before 10h30am, which is simply unbeatable along the river. The rooms are great, a classy job of keeping the old touch with the latest technology; and the Miles Davis cd provided just created the chillax atmosphere, i was aiming for. Yes the pool gets crowded, but late afternoon it is the best place to recover from the excesses of the night before. The river boats ensure you can move around quickly and mostly for free, up and down the river; which is far more pleasant than the taxi. Bravo MO

Room Tip: Full river view was good...,the only little point was that my room smelled a bit of smoke, which dis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarcoPolo2604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBangkok, Communications Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear MarcoPolo2604

Thank you very much for the wonderful review on TripAdvisor, I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the butler service and exotic pool atmosphere. I will certainly share your kind words with all our team. We all look forward to welcoming you back to “La Grande Dame” soon.

Kind regards
Michael Nurbatlian
Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Level Contributor
94 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Like every year, we stay at least once at the Mandarin Oriental in Bangkok. It was another perfect stay. We have booked this time premier room and have received a nice upgrading to a Mandarin room. Fantastic. In the past years, we have noticed, that the service was a bit going down, however this time, it was again on a absolute top standard. People still remembered us from last time. We have enjoyed the BBQ, Thai Food in the Thai restaurant, nice complimentary Yoga Sessions. Also very recommendable is to have a drink in the lobby before going for dinner. Just so relaxing to sit there and have a look at the other hotel guests and visitors. We have stayed before also a few times at Pensinsula and I know, that many people prefer the Pensinsula because it is a bit cheaper. However, Pensinsula does not have the atmoshere and history of Mandarin Oriental and if you are looking for a traditional hotel, go to Mandarin!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBangkok, Communications Manger at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Henry S

Thank you very much for reviewing Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok for a second time, and delighted to hear you enjoyed the exquisite dining options. Thank you for your recommendation and we all look forward to welcoming you back to “La Grande Dame” soon.

Best regards
Michael Nurbatlian
Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermosa Beach, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Wow ... My wife and I recently spent 3 nights at Mandarin Oriental in Bangkok and were blown away by the beauty, elegance, and luxury of this classic hotel. The service was off the charts and it has an old-world charm and elegance of a bygone era. Its location on the river provides for beautiful vistas and excellent access to other attractions in Bankgkok. The restaurants are all world-class and we particularly loved the gourmet breakfast buffet. We also enjoyed the Bamboo Bar and the Oriental Spa. This is most surely one of the finest hotels I have ever stayed in !!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanFromHermosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBangkok, Communications Manger at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear AlanFromHermosa,

Thank you for sharing your Mandarin Oriental experiences on TripAdvisor, I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the beauty, elegance and luxury of our Hotel. Please do let us know when your plans bring you back to Bangkok. I would be delighted to assist with the details of your stay to ensure another wonderful experience at “La Grande Dame”.

Kind regards
Michael Nurbatlian
Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We only stayed for one night, but it was trully memorable. We got picked up at ethe airport by a fully uniformed driver, hat included. We were received and ushered to our room where they did the registration. The hotel was just by the river where we enjoyed a very nice meal. The serviuce was amazing and everyone was eager to help.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gizmoguycdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stayed with our 3 kids for a combined 7 nights, over two distinct periods. I had last stayed at this hotel 25 years ago with my parents, and remembered the hotel fondly. Coming back, I was not disappointed. The level of service is extremely high. All staff are very attentive, from the cleaning service, room service, front desk, concierge, veranda restaurant staff, etc. The ambience is very homely and welcoming, and the scent of lemon-grass that pervades the hotel is most memorable and inviting. The quality of food is very good - I wouldn't say Michelin or even top London standard, but nonetheless very good and varied. The Veranda buffet was particularly liked by our kids.

For me, the Casa Havana shop immediately outside the main lobby of the hotel is a real treat and something that would pull me back to re-visit Bangkok. Clearly, it's well liked by others - there is a Thai Chinese businessman that comes to the shop each day - between 9am and 5pm - seven days a week to smoke cigars, play video games on his Samsung smart phone and eat and drink. What a way to spend your life! I suspect he must be a bit of a legend at the hotel, as the staff seemed to treat him like the King of Thailand himself.

As regards constructive criticism, the bathrooms are a bit dated. There's no steam shower and the shower pressure is not as good as it could be. Also, the entertainment system was a little difficult to navigate and the number of channels restricted. Also, it's a bit of a schlepp to go from the hotel to the gym - you have to cross the river in a river-boat, which can put you off the idea of going to work out on a holiday. Further, the quality of the steam room, sauna, etc in the men's locker-room was a bit 80s in style - a pre-fabricated plastic steam room was not up to the standard of the rest of the hotel.

We did go visit a few other hotels - the Sukhothai and the Peninsula. The Sukhothai tries too hard and fails to deliver, plus it's located in the heart of the business district, as opposed to the riverbank-site where the Mandarin is located. The Peninsula is a level down from the Mandarin Oriental.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lewis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

I have been to The Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok several times before (Bamboo Bar, two times for Thai Cooking School and of course high tea. This however was my first time as a guest, and from the moment your arrive you realize why year after year this is consistently rated as one of the best hotels in the world - if not the best.

Service is always with a smile and you are whisked away from your mode of transport upon arrival to your room in no more than 5 minutes. That's service. No fussing with paperwork and other time consuming details, this is all done in your room as your bags are delivered.

Our room on the 8th floor of the River Wing was flawless. Spacious, comfortable and elegant. Both the bedroom and bathroom provided ideas and dreams for what I would like to have in my home.

The Veranda was lovely for lunch, Ciao for cocktails and the Terrace at Sala Rim Naam provided for an enjoyable night out with visiting friends for my birthday - outstanding food and service. Our favorite pastime was of course the pool and prior to departure we had High Tea in the Authors lounge.

I look forward to a return visit to The Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok. While I've stayed at other MO locations - this one truly is the Grand Dame.

Room Tip: Enjoyed our 8th floor room overlooking the pool and the River of Kings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RandyRively
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Dusit
The Siam
The Siam
#1 of 859 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
The Peninsula Bangkok
#7 of 859 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,261 reviews
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#21 of 859 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Address: 48 Oriental Avenue, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom , Bang Rak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#1 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#2 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1876 and ideally located on the banks of the Chao Phraya River, Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, has been an inspiration to a host of world-renowned writers from Joseph Conrad, Somerset Maughamto Wilbur Smith and John Le Carre. Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok boasts an international reputation for splendid service, style and grace and facilities including eight restaurants. The hotel's private teakwood shuttle boats provide daily access to the world famous Thai Cooking School, the hotel's Thai restaurant, the award-winning Oriental Spa and Health Centre located across the River; as well as the nearest skytrain station (SaphanTaksin) and River City Shopping Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Mandarin Oriental, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Oriental Bangkok
Oriental Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing