We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value For Money.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Ranked #2 of 851 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
“Value For Money.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

After staying at the other hotel for 4 nights, I knew that a change was in order. I called AX Platinum Travel and booked by final night at Mandarin Oriental. Wow, what a difference!

The deluxe room for a Sunday night was at $420 which I upgraded to a suite for an extra $125.
This included an $85 dinner credit for two and up to $68 for breakfast. This deal was also available on a standard room at $179.

So, assuming use of the allowances, the net standard room would have been a cost of $26.

This AX package, which included a room upgrade if available at check in and a 4 pm late check out can't be improved. This was especially appreciated since my flight was at 4 pm and the check out time for the others is 12 pm.

Why stay anywhere else?

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RudyattW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBangkok, Communications Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear RudyattW,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, we are delighted to hear that you had a fantastic time at “La Grande Dame”. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warmest personal regards
Michael Nurbatlian
Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,080 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,481
    438
    103
    34
    24
See reviews for
732
1,778
310
523
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (605)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Tampa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed here in March 2013 and what an awesome stay it was.
Our BMW limo driver was the first impression of what was to come and he was great(I feel terrible not being able to recall his name). He shared so much about the city and country enroute to hotel.
At the hotel the service we received was impeccable. We were assigned a room that was due to an error on my part when booking. Of course it was not the room we desired and in no time it was sorted out and we were led to our lovely Mandarin room(everything about it was great). Since we were celebrating our wedding anniversary, it was also acknowledged by means of a delicious 'Love' mini cake among other delights.
The food was the best we've had on our entire trip(we also spent 4 nights in Phuket). From breakfast to dinner was always super palate pleasing.
This is a very beautiful and elegantly appointed hotel, but my goodness the staff was just top
notch. Excellent service with a smile until the moment we hesitantly said goodbye.
I cannot wait to return to this little piece of heaven. Absolutely spectacular staff and hotel.
Thank you! thank You!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happy15_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
60 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

There is alot of love about the Mandarin Oriental in Bangkok. Even though there are numerous new hotels in the City these days which offer a much more convenient locations around Siam, the Mandarin Oriental makes up for its somewhat far location from the shopping area and gives you an experience that cannot be found anywhere else in the City. I returned for a second time after 5 years, and it is still awesome!

Location:-

The hotel is located along the Chao Phraya river, the closest BTS station is Saphan Taksin, which is about 6 stations of 20 minutes from the main shipping area around Siam. There is a ferry shuttle every 5-10 minutes back to the hotel and the ride is about 5 minutes. It is very convenient and a lovely experience to ride the ferry each morning. I do recommend taking the BTS as Bangkok traffic is notorious and taxi drivers refuse hire all the time. Given the location, at times it is not easy to get a taxi. If you like open-aired market, the biggest and newest night market, Asiatique, is about 15 minutes by ferry from the Saphan Taksin station. you just line up with others at the pier there.

Rooms:-

We booked into Deluxe room this time on the river wing, stayed on the 9th floor, with good views of the river, of course, beside what looks like to be the French Ambassador's house. every morning as you wake up you see the river bustling with traffic, this river has hundreds of years of history and it seems like you can imagine the way of life it was in Bangkok during those days. Very interesting. The rooms are spacious, 40 sq meters, in a colonial style. Given the age of the hotel the rooms are very well maintained and clean. Modern with Denon stereo system and couple of jazz CDs which was a nice touch. Bathroom is very nice. Beautiful tiles and layout. Showers are great, and bath oil and salt for you if you wish to take a nice bath. It was very comfortable. I did stay in a Premier room last time at the Garden Wing which was like a duplex. I thought the Deluxe room is nice enough. One complain though - internet is NOT complimentary! At 642 Baht a day, this seems unreasonable, given most hotels now offer free wi-fi in Bangkok.

Service:-

Excellent. This hotel lives up to the Mandarin Oriental brand name and provides consistent and top notch services. Special note to the girls working at breakfast, it was 36 every day and the hotel was really busy, they were still running around with the long-sleeve uniform with smiles of their faces all the time. Professional, efficient, courteous. Perhaps the Management should give them new uniforms before they have a heat stroke!

Restaurants:-

There were no less than 6 restaurants at the property. Had the Thai food at Sala Rim Naam's terrace of the other side of the river (which you take their ferry for a 2 minute ride - lovely!) Food was great and not expensive comparable to similar thai restaurants in the city. Bottle of wine with food for two was 3,900 baht. Breakfast was good, we had the buffet both days by the river. It was very busy though, if you arrive late expect a table inside. But then given the Easter weekend it is understandable. Also had a burger by the pool, which was good. Was disappointed that The Bamboo Bar was full after our thai food dinner on the first evening and the Author's lounge was closed for a wedding on the Saturday where I wanted to have tea. Both were really beautiful spaces.

Pool/ Gym:-

The pool was renovated around 5 years ago and is excellent. Larger that before, perfect for swimming laps. Also, from dawn till dusk, it offers good sunlight during the whole day. It was crowded though and we were lucky to get a tanning bed by the main pool. The gym is great as well, with steam/ sauna/ jacuzzi inside the changing room. My wife went to the Spa which was excellent.

Overall I strongly recommend this hotel for anyone who wants to relax in Bangkok for a few days with the closest experience to a resort on an island, but definitely not for those who would spend little time at the hotel and wants a good location by the shopping districts. For me, it was just what i needed!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nelson204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

I've stayed at the MO in Bangkok a couple of times now and whilst everything is very good, it's lacking in a few areas. The monsoon season made things quite difficult with going across the river to the spa / health club as there wasn't always adequate cover. The only other comment is that rooms which are similarly (or lesser) priced at the Peninsula and Sukhothai (at which I've also stayed several times) are much nicer and larger... the MO feels quite hectic and busy always whereas the other two are more discrete, which is what I prefer. Finally, whilst I'm fine with this, a lot of people have complained about the hard beds at the MO. Apart from that, everything else was great. I would say service and staff at all three are equally good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quiet_Traveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moss, Norway
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Staying at the Oriential for three nights in March 2013. Top luxery - book the "arrivel in Style" from the airport in a BMW 730L limo. Very good rom with a butler outside and a exellent breakfast just a meter from the river.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larsen1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBangkok, Communications Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Larsen1951

We are delighted to read your wonderful review on Tripadvisor, regarding your recent stay at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok. Thank you for your recommendation and we all look forward to welcoming you back to “La Grande Dame” soon.

Sincerely yours
Michael Nurbatlian
Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

The Mandarin Oriental Bangkok is a superb hotel. The level of service is amazing, the staff is very kind and they are so helpful. The rooms are beautiful, the view's are amazing, the bed's are soft and the bathrooms are very elegant. The restaurant's are fantastic, the food is gourmet and they are always opened. The bakery is a major hit at the hotel. The spa is perfect, they are kind and the spa rooms are very large and pretty. The gym is great. One thing, you have to pay a large price for wifi which is a bit unreasonable. Overall, amazing hotel!

Room Tip: Views are good from 2-5 floor. AC is amazing on 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alex K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBangkok, Communications Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear ARK52501,

I am delighted to read how much you enjoyed your recent visit to Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok; in particular the friendliness, hospitality and service provided by our compassionate colleagues. I am glad your enjoyed the gourmet cuisine and culinary delights at the various outlets. Thank you for your constructive feedback, I have shared this with our management team for further consideration. I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the very near future.

Best wishes
Michael Nurbatlian
Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

There were a few minor glitches but this is an extraordinary hotel -- one of the world's great properties -- and you should stay here if at all possible. And even better if your stay includes a Tuesday when management hosts a cocktail reception for guests.... What distinguishes great from good is how the problems are addressed. Mine were minor (like A/C setting not left as promised) but service recovery was wonderful.... I was assigned an ordinary room which was well appointed and very comfortable. I can only imagine what an upgrade or suite might be like! My butlers were very helpful and attentive -- especially when I didn't feel great and opted to stay in one evening.... What I remember most were: the great guest relations staff who made my stay special; how delicious the breakfast spread was overlooking the river (including the best hotel croissants I have EVER tasted [even in Paris] and best crafted cappucinos this side of Italy!); how delicious every morsel of food was at every restaurant in the hotel that I ate at; the beauty and peacefulness of the adult pool; and the extraordinary staff who remembered me and my needs and preferences from one day to the next!... While I hardly think of myself as a feminist, I must confess that one of the things I loved best about this hotel is that it's general management has been entrusted to an extraordinary English woman. I am confident that the guest experience will get even better under her stewardship!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank winemaven8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBangkok, Communications Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Winemaven8

Thank you very much for your TripAdvisor review. I’m delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay including the management cocktail, guest relations and culinary delights. I will certainly share your kind words with all our team. We all look forward to welcoming you back to “La Grande Dame” soon.

Best regards
Michael Nurbatlian
Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Dusit
The Siam
The Siam
#1 of 851 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
The Peninsula Bangkok
#8 of 851 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,195 reviews
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#20 of 851 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Address: 48 Oriental Avenue, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom , Bang Rak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#1 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#2 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1876 and ideally located on the banks of the Chao Phraya River, Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, has been an inspiration to a host of world-renowned writers from Joseph Conrad, Somerset Maughamto Wilbur Smith and John Le Carre. Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok boasts an international reputation for splendid service, style and grace and facilities including eight restaurants. The hotel's private teakwood shuttle boats provide daily access to the world famous Thai Cooking School, the hotel's Thai restaurant, the award-winning Oriental Spa and Health Centre located across the River; as well as the nearest skytrain station (SaphanTaksin) and River City Shopping Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Mandarin Oriental, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Oriental Bangkok
Oriental Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing