We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“business trip felt like holidays”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Ranked #2 of 879 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Even though I spent a week for business, I felt like being on holidays. Breakfast at the terrace is charming, with great views of the river. The food is excellent and the service impeccable. The rooms are nice with a touch of "colonial" and the library and pool add to a relaxing feeling. The conference rooms are good, yet it is one of the rare hotels that managed to adjust the aircon from freezing to pleasant. Didn't even leave the hotel on the free afternoon and just enjoyed the serene setting of the hotel. Well done.

Room Tip: try to get a room with river view
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mayaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,284)
There are newer reviews for Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,921 - 1,927 of 4,284 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2013

We recently stayed at the Mandarin Oriental in Bangkok and had a fabulous time. We were two adults and three children (8, 5 and 2) and had a one bedroom suite with an interconnecting room. The staff, in typical Mandarin style, were extremely courteous, efficient and helpful. The rooms were beautifully decorated with neutral decor with nice sizeable bathrooms and great views across the river. The restaurants/bar and pool(s) were beautiful and served delicious food and again staff were wonderful and plentiful considering this was high season. The hotel was fully booked and we were still given very individual service. The lobby is wonderfully decorated with amazing floral arrangements and I personally liked the formality of the 'no shorts after 6.30pm' and 'no swim suites in the lobby' rules. They celebrated my daughter's birthday with cake and flowers which was lovely and thoughtful. The complimentary 'Thai style' boats on the river which ferry you to various locations was a nice touch and very useful. The addition of a small but well appointed kids club was a superb bonus as one doesn't expect kids clubs in the city. Don't forget to remind guests of dress codes for your restaurants when they make reservations - my husband enjoyed wearing the pinstripe Thai style trousers in the al fresco dining area of the Thai restaurant across the river! However, a brilliant stay and we shall return (especially when the Italian restaurant reopens). Well done Mandarin Oriental!

Room Tip: All rooms have river views.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FamilyHennessy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBangkok, Communications Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Dear FamilyHennessy

It was wonderful to read how much you and your family enjoyed your stay at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok. I am delighted to learn your children enjoyed the kids club, the food and beverage and the exquisite floral decorations. I have shared your feedback with our florist team and they were delighted to hear your feedback.

Ciao, with its picturesque riverside setting, will open in early February with a new twist featuring a modern approach to classic Italian cuisine, under the patronage of Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok’s legendary Chef Norbert Kostner and Ciao’s very own, Chef Luca Casini.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back again to Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok and Ciao, in the very near future.

Warmest personal regards,
Michael Nurbatlian
Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Until my stay at the Mandarin Oriental in Bangkok, I had never stayed in a hotel where everything exceeded my expectations. We stayed in Room 1105, which had river views. The room was amazingly decorated and had fresh fruit and flowers daily. Our room included Butler Service, which was really posh for us. We never wanted for anything. Our room was attended to daily, restocking everything that had been used the day before and made up beautifully. The room's flowers were amazing. Room was decorated to perfection with modern amenities (wi-fi, flat screen HD TV,e tc.) and high end toiletries, plush robes and slippers. The Butler left us treats each evening. Some nights it was appetizer, other nights something sweet. The entire staff was exceptional and they made many wonderful suggestions that made our trip one of the best we had ever been on. We swam every morning, ate delicious breakfasts' and spent the day exploring Bangkok. Each evening we went out to a different restaurant, in most cases walking to a recommended nearby restaurant. Location was perfect and very close to public transportation. We used the river boats, buses, sky trains, which were all easily accessible from our hotel. I really did not want to leave this hotel. I hope this is what Heaven's like.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joni P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBangkok, Communications Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Dear Joni P
Thank you very much for posting an outstanding review on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to read that our team managed to consistently exceed your expectations and that you had a wonderful time during your stay with us. I have shared your comments with our colleagues and they are delighted to know about your excellent feedback regarding the service, and overall hotel atmosphere.

We really look forward to welcoming you back to Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, “your favourite hotel” in the very near future.

Kind regards
Michael Nurbatlian
Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

After a few bumps following our check in, we learned that the extraordinary GM stepped in to correct the hiccups we experienced. Let me say in this public forum that GM Amanda Hyndman went WAY beyond the call of duty. She, along with her amazing staff, worked tirelessly to maintain the Mandarin Oriental legendary hospitality.

If you do not stay here, at least go to the buffet on the river. The view is terrific, and the food is even better. Better yet, stay here and experience world class service in one the friendliest cities on Earth.

A big thank you again from us, Ms. Hyndman, and congratulations to you.

Room Tip: Ask for a room over looking the river
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmptyNestersQuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

I had a getaway with my husband in Bangkok in last December after my business trip. We both were highly satisfied with the products and services at Mandarin Oriental, a brand that we love to stay every time in our leisure trip. The service was exceptional, the staff tried their very best to accommodate every requests. Nothing to criticize. We ended our 2012 with MO with such an unforgettable experience, thank you!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Not one complaint from a world class hotel. The only quibble I might have is the evening dress policy, which is a little outdated, as I believe you can wear shorts and be stylish/smart but I understand why they have stuck with it.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D-KPG-382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Mandarin Oriental in Bangkok for 4 nights before New Years eve and could not have been happier. This hotel is exceptional. Fresh flowers in your room every day, service (from the entrance when you arrive to the butler on your floor) was superb. We ate breakfast at the hotel a number of times, dined at their traditional Thai restaurant across the river and attended a wedding in the Author's Lounge in the original part of the hotel. Every aspect of the stay was amazing. The front desk was very helpful in advising us on things to do around the city, trips to take, etc. We hired a driver for a day, and while expensive, was worth every penny. The car was beautiful and the driver was very professional and helpful. The people working at the hotel are welcoming, pleasant and incredibly good at their job. Every time you walk through a door there is someone there to bow, greet you and help in any way. Not a cheap hotel, but worth every penny spent. Beautiful place for a wedding as well.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Max A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBangkok, Communications Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear Max A

Thank you for your review, It was a pleasure to read how much you enjoyed your stay at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok; from the exquisite floral decorations, the elegant cuisine to the iconic wedding at the Author's Lounge. I am also pleased to learn you enjoyed the Bangkok trip recommendations provided by our front office colleagues.

It’s wonderful to know you left with many cherished memories and we all look forward to welcoming you back to “La Grande Dame” soon.

Warmest personal regards,
Michael Nurbatlian
Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#18 of 879 in Bangkok
8,397 reviews
The Peninsula Bangkok
#7 of 879 in Bangkok
4,428 reviews
Dusit
The Siam
The Siam
#1 of 879 in Bangkok
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok

Address: 48 Oriental Avenue, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom , Bang Rak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#1 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#2 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: $384 - $784 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1876 and ideally located on the banks of the Chao Phraya River, Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, has been an inspiration to a host of world-renowned writers from Joseph Conrad, Somerset Maughamto Wilbur Smith and John Le Carre. Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok boasts an international reputation for splendid service, style and grace and facilities including eight restaurants. The hotel's private teakwood shuttle boats provide daily access to the world famous Thai Cooking School, the hotel's Thai restaurant, the award-winning Oriental Spa and Health Centre located across the River; as well as the nearest skytrain station (SaphanTaksin) and River City Shopping Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Mandarin Oriental, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Oriental Bangkok
Oriental Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing