We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Deserves every single award and more” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Ranked #2 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
northern italy
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Deserves every single award and more”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

Have been there some years ago with big expectations as this hotel is considered one of the best in the world. Well, didn't get disasspointed, as what we found was more than we expected.
Once you enter the Mandarin Oriental Bangkok, you feel very welcome, everyone seems go out of himself to make your stay memorable. Surely one of the best service I had during my stays around the world.
Thank you very much !!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank popa7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,027 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,435
    433
    102
    34
    23
See reviews for
718
1,761
305
513
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (598)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

From the moment you walk in, you feel the care and attention the staff pay to every aspect of your visit. Setting the staff here aside from other luxury locations in Asia is not just the abundence of staff, but their competence and proactivity - anticipating your next desire, and always ready to help. We had a conference there for a week and were very well looked after.
The rooms - whilst they look old wordly; as opposed to other established historic hotels of similar grandeur, it has been well kept up to date with all the bells and whistles you'd expect from a brand new build.
The breakfast by the river was extensive and fantastic, albeit pretty warm! The other restaurants were fantastic - and there were so many places to eat and drink we barely touched the surface.
A quick boat trip across the river takes you to the gym and spa - the gym is really well equipped and of course you get the headphones, towel and cold water before your workout then a cold shot of juice and cold towel after - it really is amazing.
The overall location is really convenient - either walk to shops, take a taxi to Silom road or even take a boat to the main terminal. And being on the river, the views from much of the hotel is fantastic by day and night.
There's so much competition among great hotel - and money stretches so far in Thailand - however for $400 or so a night it's hard to beat The Mandarin Oriental when you want to revel in the lap of luxury.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travis J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBangkok, Communications Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear travj1234,

Thank you for taking the time to share such detailed feedback with us following your recent stay at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok. I am delighted to read how much you appreciated your time at “La Grande Dame”. I am pleased that you enjoyed the culinary delights at the hotel, and the caring hospitality offered by our passionate team, resulting in memorable experiences being created for our guests.

Please do let us know when your plans bring you back to Bangkok. I would be delighted to assist with the details of your stay to ensure another wonderful experience at “La Grande Dame”.

Sincerely,
Michael Nurbatlian
Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Level Contributor
93 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

We have stayed several times before at the MO in Bangkok. For us, it is one of the best hotels in the world. Whenever arriving at Bangkok airport, one of the MO representatives are picking us up with the limousine and you already feel at home. In the 30 minutes limousine ride to the hotel, you can refresh yourself with cold towels and some ice cole water. When you arrive at MO, you can feel the history already in the lobby. The rooms are very nice. We have stayed at superior and deluxe rooms and also had the pleasure in staying in premier rooms. The rooms are not brand new, but they are quite spacious. Make sure when you make a reservation, that you mention if you prefer a smoking or non-smoking room. We had also treatments at the SPA which was fantastic. The gym is also quite good equipment and relatively new. The pool area is exclusively for hotel guests and there are plenty of chairs and cabanas. Again, same friendliness of the staff and it is just so relaxing lying at the pool, drinking some complimentary cold water and some appetizers. For breakfast you have the choice between the buffet or breakfast at the Verandah restaurant. Very nice breakfast buffet, however, I suggest to to go Verandah restaurant. Food is served and you have also a great choice. Even if you order eggs, fruits etc., it is not more expensive than the buffet. But this is personal, if someone prefers buffet, fine, we liked the breakfast at Verandah more, as more personal and not that crowded. We love the MO BKK and are looking forward to the next stay in 2013.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Henry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBangkok, Communications Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Kahim

Thank you very much for posting an outstanding review on trip advisor. I am pleased to read you had a wonderful time during your return stay with us, and that our team managed to consistently exceed your expectations. I have shared your comments with our team and they are delighted to know about your excellent feedback on service, breakfast and pool experience and overall hotel atmosphere.

We really look forward to welcoming you back to Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok in 2013.

Kind regards
Michael Nurbatlian
Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

When travelling for pleasure (rather than work) I would normally stay a smaller luxury boutique hotels - I don't as a rule like the larger properties. However, on a recent trip to Bangkok when I could not arrange accommodation at my previously preferred Bangkok hotel I decided to try the Mandarin Oriental. In a word a fantastic experience with great service.

Room Tip: I took a junior suite - it was excellent and came with a butler who was extremely helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GDMAUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBangkok, Communications Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear GDMAUS

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, following your recent stay. It was a pleasure to have you visit and I am delighted to read you had a fantastic experience at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok. I will be sure to share your kind words with all the team; regarding the exceptional services our colleagues delivered throughout your stay.

When your plans bring you back to Bangkok, please do let us know.

Sincerely,
Michael Nurbatlian
Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

The Grand Old Dame used to be (by far) my favorite hotel in the world. Sadly, since the departure of long term legendary hotelier Kurt Wachtveitl, standards are noticeably slipping. And continue to do so.

The great river-front location and history of the property is still evident of course- however service and general 'feel' around the property is not as it was.

Here's hoping the senior management of the Hotel Group realize what's going on before its too late.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CGM62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBangkok, Food & Beverage Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Mr. McAleer

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent restaurant experience and I was delighted to have the opportunity of speaking with you in person to better understand your concern and reach a resolution.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you and your guests back in the very near future.

Thomas Kinsperger
Food & Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

I have just returned from my 4th visit to The Oriental having stayed overnight with 3 friends who hadn't visited before. It's sometimes difficult to make a recommendation but not with this hotel, they consistently exceed my expectations and my friends experienced the 'wow' factor. Our rooms were on 3rd floor and had balconies with river view - perfect for watching the world go by. We ate a la carte on the terrace at the Thai restaurant on the opposite side of the river and it was superb. The following morning the buffet breakfast again riverside was a great way to start the day before heading to The Grand Palace on a long tail speedboat,

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda0203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBangkok, Communications Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Linda0203

Thank you very much for posting an excellent review about your experience and 4th visit to Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, on Tripadvisor. I am happy to read that our team consistently exceeded your expectations and you really enjoyed the majestic views and culinary delights.

We all look forward to welcoming you back for your fifth stay with us next year.

Kind regards,
Michael Nurbatlian
Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

Fantastic hotel with the best service anywhere I have ever stayed, all the staff are excellent and can not do enough for you. Nothing is to much trouble. We stayed in the river wing with a full river view. The restaurants are all good, but you do have to dress appropriately. If you are going to splurge do it here, worth every penny.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MillierBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
The Peninsula Bangkok
#8 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,134 reviews
Dusit
The Siam
The Siam
#1 of 849 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#18 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Address: 48 Oriental Avenue, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom , Bang Rak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#1 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#1 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#2 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1876 and ideally located on the banks of the Chao Phraya River, Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, has been an inspiration to a host of world-renowned writers from Joseph Conrad, Somerset Maughamto Wilbur Smith and John Le Carre. Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok boasts an international reputation for splendid service, style and grace and facilities including eight restaurants. The hotel's private teakwood shuttle boats provide daily access to the world famous Thai Cooking School, the hotel's Thai restaurant, the award-winning Oriental Spa and Health Centre located across the River; as well as the nearest skytrain station (SaphanTaksin) and River City Shopping Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mandarin Oriental, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Oriental Bangkok
Oriental Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing