We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If cash isn't an issue stay here- its where East meets West.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Ranked #2 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
159 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“If cash isn't an issue stay here- its where East meets West.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

This hotel is PERFECT.Its how all hotels should be ...from the minute you arrive they make you feel important.
The hotels has a history that you can not buy....and its worth the executive charges they make.Its expensive but not overpriced.
Breakfast is wonderful.....especially at the waters edge.
The Gym is very good and free stretching after exercising.
The Rooms facing the water are just GREAT and make you feel that you have arrived.
Its a people watching hotel.
The Hotels car limo service is top class and is a must if you want to get around the city and isnt expensive.
Wonderful location.
Get the hotel to arrange for you to get VIP tickets and Limo to the Thai boxing...so very exciting.
Their Chinese restaurant is wonderful for food ...its expensive but so easy to eat and a few yards and your in your room after an exciting and exhausting day in the city.

Room Tip: Pay as much as you can afford for your accommodation....the views are PERFECT....and the standards m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Readytoburst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBangkok, Communications Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Readytoburst

Thank you for posting an amazing review on TripAdvisor, highlighting your experience on each aspect of “La Grande Dame”. Also thank you for appreciating our hotel’s 136 years of history.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, soon.

Warm regards,
Michael Nurbatlian
Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,027 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,435
    433
    102
    34
    23
See reviews for
718
1,761
305
513
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (598)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Upstate NY
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

Ok, I'm a Marriott kinda guy"........, but this place from top to bottom is super-duper and tip-top. A clean, quiet river view room. A great river side breakfast, nice entertainmaent in the Bamboo Bar. I will be back, and soon!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank twostick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Male
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

Stayed 5 day in early November. Reception on arrival was superb, room extremely nice n comfortable. We eat in all outlets except Normandie - we could not because we did not have dinner jackets. First night we are joined by two business associates and we decide to try the Chinese Restaurant (excellent in all aspects). Before going for dinner we decide to allow our friends to leave all the shopping bags they had in my room, to be picked up after dinner. As the doors of the lift were about to close a guy runs in. Does not say a word to us until we ask him, seeing his Mandarin Oriental lapel pin, if the company has other hotels in Thailand. Rather than replying to our question the guy steps outside the elevator blocking our passage and asks our friends to provide identity cards in order to be allowed to get into the room. At first we did not understand what he meant, since his spoken English was poor and anyway we were expecting an answer to our question; eventually we gave the cards and he told us we would find them at the reception. It took us only 2 minutes to leave the bags and immediately went down. The same guy saw us coming out of the lift and ran outside the main entrance and into the building on the other side of the front yard. He came back after a few minutes with the cards, without bothering to tell us why they had ended up in a different place and they were not left at the reception as we were told. According to him it is hotel policy etc etc: i read all that is written in the room or on the website regarding having guests in the room and there is no mention anywhere of such policy.
F.f. To last night. We had dinner in the seafood restaurant (superb). Both of us being smokers and having had an espresso to close our meal, we decide to go on the terrace for a puff. We tell the lady that we just want to smoke ad do not require drinks: she tells us that we are not allowed to stay there unless we order something and that there is a smoking area in the garden......and this is after having paid over 300 USD for dinner for 2 pax.
It is absolutely true that this hotel is one of the best in the world......but this should actually mean being the best also where courtesy to the guests is concerned.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
7 Thank Giuseppe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco usa
Level Contributor
143 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

The Mandarin Oriental has a sense of history and authenticity that the competitors lack. The lobby impresses from the outset, with giant teak lanterns overhead and wildly extravagant floral arrangements. Service from doormen, to checkin to bellstaff is personal and welcoming. I prefer the garden wing rooms...which are lower in terms of overall floor, but have a full-on river view, and many have sleeping balconies. All these rooms, however, I find have smaller bathrooms where 2 people staying together fight over bathroom space and suffer somewhat cramped showers. Larger rooms in the newer tower can solve that problem. Because it's an older property, it is somewhat of a warren of hallways and spaces. It is what it is. But among those hallways are some nice shops worth some browsing time. Among the bars and eating places, I find the Author's Lounge very old-lady tea room, and not appealing. The Normandie French fine dining is impressive, and frankly the terrace restaurant and bar while casual is lovely in terms of a riverside meal with the warm breezes blowing by. I found the Terrace food so so, but the breakfast buffet perfectly adequate. Take the every 5 minutes ferry ride over to the other side of the river to the spa, or the Thai cuisine restaurant, which I found delicious. There is some construction in the pool area right now...which people may object to. Frankly, the pool is not a feature here...it is surrounded by vegetation and feels buried between buildings. As for the perennial battle between the Peninsula and the Oriental....the Peninsula has a more anonymous resort feel. The public spaces are more impressive, the terrace and pool area especially. You get a spectacular view of the river, and the pool is stunningly beautiful and open to the scenery. The bar is a pokey closet and not appealing. I find the service less welcoming. So, if standard luxury resort feeling is important to you, then go for the Penninsula. The ferries going back and forth or so frequent, one side of the river or the other isn't important. However, the food is much better at the Mandarin, and is had much more of an authentic environment, not to mention warmer service. My choice is the Mandarin.

Room Tip: I like the Garden Wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ajwsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

Having been a visitor to this Grand Dame twice, I swore to myself I would return no longer as a visitor, but as a guest. And so my partner and I booked ourselves a room for two nights and three days to attend the South East Asian Write Awards which was held at the Royal Ballroom and to celebrate my partner's 35th birth anniversary. Arriving at the hotel by taxi, we were greeted with warm and genuine smiles and greetings, followed by offerings of fragrant flowers. We were then ushered to our room which faced the French Embassy and the famous Chao Phraya river. Upon entering, we saw our King sized bed swathed in Thai silk and bed linens that felt like it had a million thread count. It seemed like they knew why were staying at the hotel because from the moment we changed our clothes to something more comfortable, the new Executive Chef Stefan Trepp, together with an assistant and our floor butler, we were given a table of sumptuous fruits, a delicately carved Watermelon etched with our names on it, fine chocolates, French macaroons, a Dragon boat made from white chocolate, strawberries which were hand dipped in both white and milk chocolate and a chilled bottle of Champagne!
We then decided to take a dip in their two swimming pools and explore the facilities of the hotel. It was difficult to leave the hotel as there were so many activities and restaurants to experience. Their offerings continued on with more gifts, such as two birthday cakes, fresh flowers and more fruits! Our room was regularly kept clean even if we didn't ask them to make our room. Everyone knew our names and everyone treated us like VIP guests. We realized that all the guests of the hotel were treated the same way. That's what we loved about MO Bangkok, consistently impeccable service and professional care was given to all guests. This hotel truly deserves to be at the top of the list of Tripadvisor's best ranked hotel in all of Bangkok.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robbie_Francisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBangkok, Communications Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Robbie_Francisco

I am delighted to read your review and thank you for taking the time to write such an elaborate feedback. I am also pleased to know you had a wonderful anniversary celebration and our colleagues exceed your expectations throughout your stay. I will certainly share your kind words with all our team. Thank you also for capturing some great pictures of the hotel!

We really look forward to welcoming you back to “La Grande Dame” for the 4th time in the very near future.

Warm regards
Michael Nurbatlian
Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

- Very well maintained facility with friendly, efficient staff and top-notch service
- The check-in was easy, quick and smooth. They quickly ushered me to my room where they did the registration. Thus, I didn't have to stay long at the reception
- I was staying on 7th floor and there was even a floor butler dedicated to lead the service on that floor
- The location-by-the-river makes it really unique, charming and special. Also, it would take a boat ride to go to the gym which can be an experience in itself. However, it also means that you may have to wait for 5-10 minutes in the dock to get the boat (for a very quick 5-minute trip across the river). Hence, if you're type of the person who likes to go for a quick run at the gym right before it closes, then it can be a challenge for you. However, all you need to do is to properly time your visit to the gym (and also the gym trip can be rather challenging i fit rains or too cold outside since the boat is open)
- The boat service also takes you to the closest BTS station. I haven't tried it yet.

Overall, highly recommended to stay when you are on leisure or romantic getaway in Bangkok. However, while this hotel is still quite close from city center (e.g. Central World, MBK, etc), you would still need to rely on taxi to get around. In other more locally centralled hotel, it can be convenient to take tuk tuk, BTS or to walk due to the location. Also, I don't think there are many options to dine anywhere near the hotel.

Room Tip: My room has river view..which is great. But I think all rooms have this view. But make sure you ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eas_Bandung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

Last December we had an opportunity to stay at one of the classics of the world - first hotel in Bangkok, celebrating its 135th anniversary - Mandarin Oriental. Check-in was painless, done in our room by an experienced person. Room, with river view, was lovely, well appointed (with little office) and with lovely personal touches that awaits guests (beautifully smelling fresh flowers on your bed, for example. Service is immaculate, Christmas tree was one of the most beautiful I have ever seen, and the hotel is, obviously, the place to be seen in. Every evening there were people going in and out to and from different functions held at the hotel. My only gripe - some stuff could be a bit more profficient in english but they are working on it I was told. Dinner on the river terrace is a must with plenty of boats going up and down, beautifully lit. Hotel is a must if you can afford it. It is a Grand Dame of hotel industry worldwide. Next visit to Bangkok will, surely, see us there again.

Room Tip: River view, the highest floor you can afford.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeZub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
The Peninsula Bangkok
#8 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,134 reviews
Dusit
The Siam
The Siam
#1 of 849 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#18 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Address: 48 Oriental Avenue, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom , Bang Rak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#1 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#2 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1876 and ideally located on the banks of the Chao Phraya River, Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, has been an inspiration to a host of world-renowned writers from Joseph Conrad, Somerset Maughamto Wilbur Smith and John Le Carre. Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok boasts an international reputation for splendid service, style and grace and facilities including eight restaurants. The hotel's private teakwood shuttle boats provide daily access to the world famous Thai Cooking School, the hotel's Thai restaurant, the award-winning Oriental Spa and Health Centre located across the River; as well as the nearest skytrain station (SaphanTaksin) and River City Shopping Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mandarin Oriental, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Oriental Bangkok
Oriental Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing