We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best in the world!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Ranked #1 of 823 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
london U.K
Level Contributor
47 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“One of the best in the world!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

This was our 3rd or 4th visit to this grand old dame of a hotel! And its luxury at its best! Very comfortable luxurious rooms, great restaurants and great service! Everything a hotel should be! We stayed on their 135th Anniversary package for 7 nights and it was a great deal! I noticed there were lots of regulars staying here faces we had seen before on our previous stays and its not hard to see why! Just one gripe we had is we as ALWAYS request a QUIET room and for the first four nights it was and we slept great! However on the last 3 mornings we were woken early at around 7am by a lot of coming and going form the rooms next to us (doors banging) it seems that most guests get up early and the cleaners start at 7am! You cannot hear them once their in the rooms so sound insulation is very good apart from the fact as in a lot of hotels the doors bang quite loudly and the cleaners were obviously in and out in and out a lot of the rooms next to and opposite us!! And often the doors were left on the latch ! The Mandarin Oriental Hotel in NYC is one of the very rare hotels we have stayed that we did not have this issue!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SharonlondonU.K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,008
    388
    89
    30
    19
See reviews for
619
1,557
268
458
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (533)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

We have stayed at the MO several times and thought it was about time we posted a review. The hotel is excellent. Some 5* hotels can be nice and without fault but are a little bland, not the MO. I think when you are paying a fair bit for a hotel its really important. It's not cheap but it is worth it. The staff do that bit more(especially butler & concierge for organising trips, restaurant suggestions etc) the food is amazing, and all the little touches from fruit by the pool to the bedtime notes are lovely. Though a large hotel it does not feel anonymous.
We love the location on the river, the pools and gardens are tranquil. Its also handy for getting about by boat, a change to the busy Bangkok roads.
The gym is very good as are the classes eg yoga. Decent gym equipment too. Pools nice and cool great during hot weather.
All in all a great hotel that does not disappoint but gets better each time.
Stayed Jan 2012, April 2011, March 2010, Nov 2008.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cr135liv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todmorden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
183 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

We stayed here before our trip on the E&O train, and they looked after us very well. On our return the service was just as good, bags already in our room, and everything taken care of with no fuss.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Olive M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

Great Place very nice hotel. top class service with all the ameneties., great variety of food available in the hotel restaurant, French restaurant is very nice and amezing view of the river

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sam t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

Having lived in Bangkok for 6 years and only ever had one brunch at the Oriental, I was intrigued to stay there last August for a friend's wedding.

Quite apart from the wedding being spectacular, the Oriental is a real treat. 'Old school luxury and service with modern amenities' is written often about the top hotels that have stood the test of time, but it's completely true of the Oriental.

If being on the river in Bangkok is your thing then you couldn't do better than stay here. THe lovely and sheltered outdoor pool, the sumptuous rooms and excellently attentive staff are everything you could expect.

Just don't think you can walk through the lobby in wet swimmers and flip flops (or thongs for Aussies). Decorum rules at the Oriental.....casual attitudes don't really fit whether you're staff or a guest.

Room Tip: It's build so that most of the rooms get a view of the river....but I'd choose one looking w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShornConnery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bull Creek
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

After touring Europe for five weeks, we stayed at the Mandarin Oriental for three nights to unwind and deal with our jet lag before flying back to Australia. The service of this Hotel is exceptional, to the point you hardly have to lift your finger to press the lift button. We had a delightful stay in the Hotel, frequenting all the restaurants and only venturing out for shopping in the limousine provided. When finished we just rang for their service and they picked us up from wherever we had been.

The staff were very attentive and treated us with respect and friendliness.

We particularly had a special time at their Chinese restaurant, which we ate at several times and the progressive dinner in the hotel was a refreshing idea. To sum up, would never stay anywhere else in Bangkok, was a pure relaxing and indulgent stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MausieBullCreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

If you come to Bangkok you just HAVE to come here, either to stay (if you can afford it), or at least to have afternoon tea in the old part of the hotel. It is a very special place - not at all stuffy, but with impeccable service and attention to detail. You really could be anywhere in the world, except that the Thai staff are so wonderful that no other hotel will ever seem as good again. We have two small children, and we have always been welcomed warmly as a family. I probably wouldn't take them up to the French restuarant on the top floor, but they love the river, so to watch boats from the terrace here whilst enjoying a breakfast or dinner is simply perfect. Go (but remember not to look like a scruffy backpacker!).

Room Tip: Anything with a river view (why else stay by the river?).
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Ariyasomvilla
Ariyasomvilla
#2 of 823 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 stars 1,317 reviews
The Peninsula Bangkok
#10 of 823 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 stars 3,549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#21 of 823 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 stars 6,628 reviews
Dusit
The Siam
The Siam
#3 of 823 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 stars 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Address: 48 Oriental Avenue, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom , Bang Rak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#1 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#1 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#1 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1876 and ideally located on the banks of the Chao Phraya River, Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, has been an inspiration to a host of world-renowned writers from Joseph Conrad, Somerset Maughamto Wilbur Smith and John Le Carre. Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok boasts an international reputation for splendid service, style and grace and facilities including eight restaurants. The hotel's private teakwood shuttle boats provide daily access to the world famous Thai Cooking School, the hotel's Thai restaurant, the award-winning Oriental Spa and Health Centre located across the River; as well as the nearest skytrain station (SaphanTaksin) and River City Shopping Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mandarin Oriental, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Oriental Bangkok
Oriental Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing