We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beware of front desk scam”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Montien Hotel Bangkok
Ranked #378 of 862 Hotels in Bangkok
Manika
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“beware of front desk scam”
Reviewed August 31, 2010

after staying exclusivley at Montine with big disaapaointment we were victims of front desk scam wherein they insist to swipe your credit card upong check in (even though the hotel portion was already paid)

we did NOt use the credit even once in Thailand yet when we got home there were several attempts to charge large amonts to our card. Fortunatkey our bank caught this.

When I advised Monyine of said incident they refused to consider this may have happened at their front desk

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank weekendtravelor_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

864 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    360
    232
    84
    55
See reviews for
111
283
106
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Pl
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2010

Stayed there for 2 nights on my way back from Phuket in the beginning of March.
I have choosen the deluxe room on executive floor. The room was good but the bathroom quite outdated. Love the location just at the beginning of patpong - so much going on all day and night long. Swimming pool is not too big, but enough to have a few swims. You can also sunbath there, but only untill 1-2 o'clock - after it gets all the shadow from the main building. Unfortunately they stopped their lunch buffet, which was fantastic. I liked the very attenditive staff. Generally it is a good value, but when you are there, you get a feeling, that it used to be a really classy hotel, which now urgently needs some renovations.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robertomazowiecki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco, ca
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2010

When we checked in, we were told about and even given vouchers for the 'free included' breakfast. after the second day's breakfast we were then informed that we were now responsible to pay the bill for both days! what a scam. DO NOT stay here.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ScottINSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2010

My partner and I stayed at the Montien in March for 5 nights. We were very impressed with the hotel and the facilities it provided. We became good friends with one of the guys on the concierge desk and he was able to recommend places for us to go. He also recommended a very good tailor for us to use – not one that you get taken to by the Tuk Tuk drivers and get ripped off from – but a very good tailor who we purchased many suites from and are very impressed – they came to our hotel room for fittings so it was very convenient.

The hotel is across the road from Patpong Road so might not be for everyone however it is in a compound where you cannot hear or see anything unless you want to. The hotel is very close to MBK – it was about 30 baht in a tuk tuk to get there.

Overall our stay in this hotel was very good – one of the better places to stay in Bangkok!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank m_says_hellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2010

we arrived in bangkok 6.10am and the hotel were very accomidating with the check in...normally being 2pm check in but as they were aware we had been on a long haul flight they provided us with a room to have a shower and sleep then changed us into our actual room later on. One thing to be aware they put us in a smoking room and as i dont smoke i could smell it straight away and had to phone downstairs and ask them if it was a smoking room and then they said yes..not nice!. but having said that the staff were more then helpful on the front desk but as for the breakfast staff not so much, the location is good as its across from the night bazzar in pat pong but very scuzzy area in my opinion. this definately needs to be a quick one night stop-over.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kate1022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
istanbul
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2010

First of all, this hotel is not a four star hotel,it is not more than three. Rooms are old, especially the bathrooms. Even the ded sheets are old and bad looking, they have old stains, and holes. The hotel is at the so-called city center, right across the Patpong street where it is impossible to walk or shop as 90%of the people around are prostitues and the remaining are the pimps that always smirks and teases you even if you are with the kids or couple. The worst thing is, as the hotel is right across this go go bars, every guy that picks a prostitute ends up in hotel Montien. It is obvious that the hotel does not have a policy to at least separate the floors for business and family travellers and for prostitution. For all the nights we stayed, we used to wake up arround 2:00 pm with laughter, strange sounds (!) of drunk people. It was impossible to sleep till morning and it was horrible for us as we were there for business and had to get up early. The hotel has a so-called pool, which is very tiny and unfortunately very dirty. The color of the water gets grey-green in the afternoon as there is no circulation of water. We saw cockroaches in the lobby and in the breakfast room. We have informed the staff but they were exteremely reckless like it was very normal to have cockroaches arround breakfast buffet? May be it is normal for those people, taking into consideration that they eat cocroaches too.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gezgin_Turk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2010

well this is great hotel but if today was a day in 1975 ! every thing is old in the hotel.the public areas are fine but rooms are damp and shabby.we had two rooms,in one of the A/C didn't work properly and the other one something was wrong with the electric system.our TV's remote control didn't work so we called the front desk and a somebody showed up at our room,knocked the remote against the wall and it worked ! the location is very downtown ,it's close to major malls such as Siam paragon and Siam discovery but theres a street across the hotel which is filled with bars and brothels which i recommend you to stay away ! and the neighborhood is really dirty!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RoozbeH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
The Tawana Bangkok
The Tawana Bangkok
#218 of 862 in Bangkok
871 reviews
Silom
The Siam Heritage
The Siam Heritage
#188 of 862 in Bangkok
870 reviews
Montien Riverside Hotel
#260 of 862 in Bangkok
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Dusit Thani Bangkok
Dusit Thani Bangkok
#100 of 862 in Bangkok
2,970 reviews
Silom
Narai Hotel
Narai Hotel
#209 of 862 in Bangkok
1,354 reviews
Silom
Crowne Plaza Bangkok Lumpini Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montien Hotel Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montien Hotel Bangkok

Property: Montien Hotel Bangkok
Address: 54 Surawongse Road, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#222 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Montien Hotel Bangkok 4*
Number of rooms: 475
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Montien Hotel BangkokIn Bangkok for shopping, entertainment or business, The Montien Hotel Bangkok is the ideal place to stay. Conveniently located only minutes away from sky train station Saladaeng on Silom, the underground station Sam Yan on Rama IV and Hua Lumpong main railway station. The Montien Hotel Bangkok offers all modern amenities, including high speed internet access and non-smoking rooms, complimented by traditional Thai hospitality.The Montien Hotel Bangkok is in easy reach of major shopping centers such as Siam Paragon, Central World Plaza, MBK, and Gaysorn, as well as tourist attractions like China Town, The Grand Palace and The River of King, the Chao Praya river and Lumpini Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Montien Hotel Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bangkok Montien Hotel
Montien Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing