We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must be a joke!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Montien Riverside Hotel
Ranked #260 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Ankara, Turkey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Must be a joke!”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

First; it is quite far from the city centre. You have to take a cab to go to the ciy. If you want to spend your time in the centre, skip this hotel. What's more, the rooms are oooooold. Even the TVs in the room were at least 15 years old. I wanted to have a bath, when i tried to turn the tap on, the tap was in my hand! The terrifying thing was about the hygien! They don't even clear the slippers. They were obivously used before by someone else. While checking out, they checked everybody's room and they said a woman guest staying in the hotel has taken their slippers and they wanted the slippers back!!!!! They are reusing them and without cleaning!!!! horrible!!! It was so shame that they let that woman be into such a humiliating situation. Only good thing about here was the scene and the breakfast. This hotel definitely isn't worth 5 stars.. IT is soooooooooooooooooo old!!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Burak E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soros C, Director of Sales at Montien Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Burak E,

Thank you for your comments after your recent stay at the Montien Riverside Hotel. We are a 4 star plus hotel and we are well located on the banks of the Chao Praya river with very pleasant views from all our guestrooms. Our hotel has easy access to any part of Bangkok via the expressways with 2 entrance/exit only 8 minutes rom our hotel. We provide daily regular free bus shuttle to our Montien Hotel Bangkok in the city centre with stops at Skytrain station along the way to our hotel in the city. It takes only 10 minutes to get to the city from our hotel. We also provide regular free shuttle bus services to Asiatiques the Riverfront, a new shopping and restaurants area located on the riverside only 10 minutes from our hotel.

Our guestrooms are presently being refurbished and we have started to replace our televisions in many of our 462 guestrooms and suites. Our hotel's room amenities are for use by in house guests and we assure you that our guestrooms slippers are washed before we offer them to other in house guests.

We are happy to know that you enjoyed the scene and the breakfast, and we hope that you would return to try the facilities and services above that we offer to our guests.

Yours sincerely,
ANDREW LOW
General Manager
Montien Riverside Hotel Bangkok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    277
    136
    32
    20
See reviews for
106
263
50
80
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jabiru
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

The hotel itself is quite nice, mainly catering for tour groups,so if you are touring by yourself it is a little out of the way.
.My dissappointment came when i left a Led Lenser torch in the room, I phoned within a few hours to arrange to get it back but was told even though no new person had been put in the room, they could not find it. Very light fingers on somebodies behalf!!!!!!!
And do not print anything on the hotels printer it will cost you 40 baht a sheet even though we had free computer access. We printed 3 sheets120 baht a whole ream of paper at Big C is 99Baht

Room Tip: Do not leave anything behind as you will not get it back
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jabiru61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soros C, Director of Sales at Montien Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Jabiru61,

Thank you for your feedback after your recent stay at the Montien Riverside Hotel, Bangkok. The Montien Riverside Hotel caters to conference and corporate incentive groups and individual travellers whether on business on leisure. We are very well located on the banks of the Chao Praya river and easily accessible to any part of Bangkok via the expressways, the entrance/exit are only 8 minutes away from our hotel. We provide free shuttle bus to our Montien Hotel Bangkok in the city centre and to skytrain stations along the route to our city hotel. We also provide free shuttle bus to Asiatique the Riverfront (a new night shopping and restaurants area) which is 10 minutes away from our hotel. In other words, the individual traveller is well taken care of in terms of his transportation needs when he stays at our hotel.
We screen our Housekeeping staff very thoroughly before employing them and they are all trained to report any left items to the Housekeeping department for safekeeping and return to the guest when they asked for them. Please contact the undersigned at email address eamriver@montien.com and give us some information on your left item and we assure you that we will check thoroughly our guestroom and give you a response.
We would like to confirm that our printing charges are in line with some of the 4 and 5 stars hotels in Bangkok.
We look forward to your next visit so that you can try our services mentioned above.

Yours sincerely,
Kitti Kedutat
Executive Assistant Manager
Montien Riverside Hotel Bangkok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
157 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We enjoyed every moment of our stay in this hotel.We liked Thai Hospitality which was quite evident the moment we entered the hotel Lobby. Very friendly and co-operative staff. We had a warm welcome from them. Room was spacious and clean. View of the river from our hotel was fabulous. We had a great time in this hotel. I recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NeerajVic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayutthaya, Thailand
Level Contributor
57 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed at this large hotel during our Chao Phraya River kayak trip from Nakhon Sawan to Phra Samut Chedi. The hotel was very conveniently located for us as it was at paddling distance from our final destination. We were kindly received on the pier of the hotel by the management; our kayaks were taken care off and the nice guest relations officer checked us quickly in, so that in a couple of minutes we found ourselves in our rooms with a superb view over the Chao Phraya River.

As this is an hotel of a 5-star chain, it has of course all the commodities what you can expect from such luxury hotels. It has different restaurants and offers even an evening dinner cruise. The number of TV-channels in the room could well be improved, as we found the choice a bit restricted; and a larger screen would also be a pleasure.

The swimming pool is large and the gym is very well equipped. The breakfast buffet was much varied and the coffee was excellent. No complaints about the service; room, bar and restaurant service were excellent.

We used the hotel's Internet offer and we have to say we got value for our money. We went as we came, accompanied by the personnel until we hit the water again at the pier in the morning.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ayutthaya-History
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tehran
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Location's ok and u can get wherever u want by hiring a speed boat (come on guys! u're travelling and u have to splurge a little! Being a Scrooge only spoils ur travel ! It's also the fastest way to go inside the city ) / View is great / Hotel pool's ok / They have free shuttle service to their sister hotel around the day and also a free service to Asiatique the Riverfront night bazaar ( Don't miss it , a must-do ) / Yes, room was a little tired, but view overshadowed it and considering what we paid, it was super fine! ( room was always clean and spotless) / Nice hot shower , spotless tub / Breakfast was plentiful and the taste couldn't be better ( we went to Banyan Tree for a breakfast and they weren't much better - Though their Vertigo Grill & Moon Bar is to die for !) / Who says staff in Montien Riverside isn't efficient ? They helped us book a nice day tour to Ayutthaya with competitive price and all was handy when we needed anything / All in all , we had a very pleasant stay in this hotel and will be back for a 2-night stop over next year when we'll be heading to Samui .

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sia1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 16, 2012

big hotel with alot of rooms. Beautiful riverside view but this hotel is not luxury much. I don't like their buffet, not much dish to taste. I have a rainny night so this hotel quitely boring. We only have a drink in bar with live boring music.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caty P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed here 3 nights sept 11 2012,paid for a package which included a very tired corner room with view over a swamp and this package also included "club" facilities, however; when we went to use the "club" it was just another room to drink tea or coffee. You can imagine our disappointment at this as we had the idea the " Club" would have had snacks and drinks during the day. We spoke to the catering executive manager and asked what indeed we had paid for; to be told that the "club" was simply a meeting point for business, we however were not told this at the time of booking, we were then offered a meal for two in the "cafe" restaurant. We decided it would be rude not to take the manager up on his offer, only to be further embarrased when we explained we were there at the bequest of the catering manager, all menu's were then removed from the table and then replaced with a special's menu of which the Manager and waiter of the restaurant in view of other diners informed us we could only have one meal; which was chicken and rice. Due to this embarrising situation we declined their offer and left the restaurant. Our advice do not book this hotel, as there are far better hotel's in BKK and with far better service, we have no intention of ever staying at this hotel again, so you have been warned of the service you can expect.

Room Tip: There are no good room's.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lolly57_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soros C, Director of Sales at Montien Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear lolly57_11,

Thank you for your comments about our hotel's facilities and services during your recent stay at the Montien Riverside Hotel, Bangkok.

We wish to explain that you had paid for our special package at B2574 net per night for one Deluxe Corner room for 2 persons including breakfasts and Internet access for 2 nights. We have only one Deluxe Corner room on each floor of our hotel which overlooks the river.

You had paid Baht 3,900 net for your 3rd night stay which included breakfasts and Internet access as well. You had then asked our Director of Sales and Marketing if you could have some additional benefits and he decided to offer you the use of our Club C Lounge. He had also decided to offer you our signature Montien Chicken rice meal at our Cafe restaurant. He informed our Guest Relations Manager to advise our Cafe service staff to receive you and offer you the Montien Chicken rice.

We wish to add that we value the patronage of all our guests and we will always endeavour to provide the best services to all our guests once they have checked into our hotel.

We sincerely regret that you have not been satisfied with our hotel's facilities and services. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to be of service to you. Please contact me when you have decided on your next visit to Bangkok so that we can offer you some additional benefits to make your stay more pleasant and comfortable. I look forward to personally welcome you back to our hotel.

Yours sincerely,
ANDREW LOW
General Manager
Montien Riverside Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Al Meroz Hotel
#270 of 858 in Bangkok
90 reviews
AETAS bangkok
#71 of 858 in Bangkok
2,015 reviews
Sathorn
AETAS lumpini
AETAS lumpini
#51 of 858 in Bangkok
2,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Royal River Hotel
#540 of 858 in Bangkok
357 reviews
Silom
Montien Hotel Bangkok
Montien Hotel Bangkok
#381 of 858 in Bangkok
857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montien Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montien Riverside Hotel

Property: Montien Riverside Hotel
Address: 372 Rama III, Bang Khlo, Bang Kho Laem, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#175 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#181 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Montien Riverside Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 462
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Montien Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montien Riverside Bangkok
Hotel Montien Riverside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing