We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and stunning views”
Review of Grand China Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand China Hotel
Ranked #354 of 863 Hotels in Bangkok
Avignon, France
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great location and stunning views”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Although the hotel is now a little tired I can't fault the staff and service. Everyone was so helpful and attentive. The room itself was showing signs of fatigue but was very spacious, well equipped and had the most stunning view over Bangkok.
The breakfast was very good and had a vast choice in true Thai style. The panoramic bar was very pleasant and great for an evening cocktail before venturing into Chinatown.
For me the location was perfect and but for the fatigued appearance of the rooms that I viewed I would not hesitate to rate the hotel "Very Good". Prices were average and I even managed to negotiate the room rate.

Room Tip: Get a room on the 21 st Floor and enjoy the view. My last room even had a balcony which was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicomondiale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    230
    143
    40
    34
See reviews for
107
221
34
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Pakenham, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

This is our 2nd stay at the Grand China Hotel in Chinatown Bangkok and we have found it again a hotel with great service. The hotel is showing its age with rooms and some areas needing a spruce up, but the location for good food and low cost market shopping is ideal. Our stay co-insided with Chinese New Year which was an added bonus with Yaowarat Rd closed with hundreds of market stalls. The only downside was this caused traffic chaos. The rooms are a good size with views from all. The 20th floor pool gives some teriffic views of Bangkok. The breakfast menu is broad catering for nearly all nationalities. If you want to see the hustle bustle of Bangkok then this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: Room facing Yaowarat Rd give the best views. Although have great size windows comes at a cost if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vic P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New South Wales, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We only stayed for one night as we were travelling on to Chiang Mai the next day. On arrival the reception was attentive and efficient, the bags were looked after quickly and without fuss. The room looked a little tired but was acceptable, and the view was quite good overlooking the river. The restaurant was fully booked when we arrived, but they squeezed us onto a small table which was OK. The meal was good but not as "Thai" as we had hoped (more international). The restaurant experience was a little disappointing as we thought that it was a rotating restaurant, so that we could cover the full vista of Bangkok whilst eating. The restaurant, at least while we were there, did not rotate. The staff were generally friendly and efficient, but the hotel seemed to us to lack personality, maybe because there was a lot of to-ing and fro-ing around the reception/entrance area much of which did not appear to be caused by guests. Internet access in the room is ridiculously expensive, and if you take advantage of the free usage in the reception area it is VERY slow. If you want to spend the time in Bangkok in the Chinatown area then this hotel would be fine. Even though the hotel is on a main street it was difficult to get taxis to go there because of "traffic". It wasn't easy to get a taxi from the hotel either. The only transport we managed to get after waiting 15 minutes was a Tuk-Tuk, but be warned......
Do not accept Tuk-Tuk drivers offer of 40 Baht round trips to anywhere, this is a scam that wastes your time (an hour at least) looking at and declining goods you don't want and at inflated prices. In addition, the drivers seem to get annoyed when they don't make their commission (so called petrol vouchers) and start to drive recklessly, which encourages you not to take the return trip with him whenever you get to your real destination. There are many of these drivers outside the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Me and my wife stayed there last December 2012.
The hotel is located in Chinatown, on a main boulevard, which is convenient. It's about 20min away from the Main train station (Hua Lamphong). It seamed reasonably safe walking from the station to the hotel at around 9pm even though the streets were dirty, smelly and filled with weird people selling stuff, sleeping on the curb, cooking or whateva' else. They seamed harmless, but looking back on it I'd recommend getting a Tuk-tuk instead of waling to the hotel.
The hotel is big and once I'm sure it have been a moder and even luxury building, but now, after 18 years of service and almost no renovations it seams a bit worn.
They have this weird rule for a 1000 THB deposit for the room which they give back on check-out. I've seen this elsewhere as well, but it wasn't stated anywhere on our reservation so it was a surprise for us and very inconvenient as well.
Other then that the rooms are big enough, reasonably clean (no bugs at all), but again - very worn.
The room service (the meals) was just ok, but on the good side they had a big screen TV and a security box.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank vDechev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Grand China after a recommendation from a friend. On first looks it was a great step up from a budget hotel we at previously however it was not in a convenient location and many taxi drivers refuse to drive to the area due to the traffic jams this proved to be very inconvenient and expensive. The bell boys also try to get you to pay extremely high set fairs. Instead if you must stay here ask for a metre taxi only.

The hotel staff were ok. When we arrived they had booked out the room we booked so we had to take a twin before being moved to a double the next day. The staff made it seem like a huge inconvenience however wait and housekeeping staff were friendly and efficient.

There is no free wifi in rooms and is highly expensive if required.
Stay here if you need to be near china town however if you want to see Bangkok sites this is not the hotel for you.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CMHannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

The Grand China Princess is a lovely hotel within vibrant Chinatown. Clean, quiet and modernised to today’s western standards. Massive flatscreens in your well sized room (smart tv’s so you can play your own films if you brought along your USB and connect your camera to watch your today’s footage of Bangkok), daily clean towels and sheets if you desire, a rooftop restaurant and 360 degrees turning skybar (European prices but good sushi) and an excellent indoor massage service. We arrived (01/02/2013) 2 hours prior to check in time and waited on the rooftop, at the small pool. Nobody was there, it was bliss. Yes, the pool area looks rundown and the toilet (one floor up) gave me the sensation of being part of "the Shining" (remember the film?), but I was not expecting a 5 star deluxe, massive swimming pool on the rooftop of a Chinatown hotel. If you bring along some fresh fruit juice, bought along the street, it’s a great place to relax and unwind from the hustle and bustle downstairs and your tiring flight. Plus, with this view, there’s really no need to go to the windy uptown Sirocco. Together with the enormous rainshower and constant supply of hot water, this hotel, for us, was the perfect stay to sleep away our jetlag. We always love to stay in Chinatown, just because of the good eateries on the street (try T&K!!! People always stand in line here since they serve great fish), the closeness to Hualampong station and the busy vibe. Also, the canalboat hub, Ratchawong, is a 5 minute walk around the corner to hop to the royal palace, reclining Buddha, Wat Arun etc. I do agree it’s a pity there is no internet access inside the room, unless you pay THB 500 per day, but if that’s all, why complain? And yes, the beds are very rockhard, but anyone know of a place abroad where mattresses are like home? Last time we were in Bangkok, we stayed at the Shanghai Mansion. We payed twice as much, just for pretty decoration, no flatscreen or inroom internet and more noise. Next time we will definitely stay here again. If you are looking for expat, western style Bangkok, stay in Sukhumvit or Silom, not China town. Looking for Hello Kitty to knock off bags galore on your doorstep? Join the shop till you drop crowds in Chinatown!

Room Tip: We were in 1503, nothing negative to mention. It's on a good floor, quiet and rooms are updated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bo2Netherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penshurst, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Low ceilings, tiny bathrooms (family suite for 4 grown ups share one bathroom perhaps 2mX2m), dirty surroundings (China Town), pool a joke, old wall to wall carpet.

Room size OK. Clean enough. Most staff very friendly.

Ask for a "Tuk Tuk" in the Sky Bar. Very positive experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrisMaria62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Chinatown / Yaowarat
Hotel Royal Bangkok at Chinatown
Chinatown / Yaowarat
Chinatown Hotel
Chinatown Hotel
#408 of 863 in Bangkok
202 reviews
Chinatown / Yaowarat
Check Inn Chinatown
Check Inn Chinatown
#404 of 863 in Bangkok
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown / Yaowarat
Miramar Hotel Bangkok
Miramar Hotel Bangkok
#647 of 863 in Bangkok
247 reviews
Chinatown / Yaowarat
Prime Hotel Central Station Bangkok
Chinatown / Yaowarat
Shanghai Mansion Bangkok
Shanghai Mansion Bangkok
#86 of 863 in Bangkok
2,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand China Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand China Hotel

Property: Grand China Hotel
Address: 215 Yaowarat Road | Samphantawong, Bangkok 10100, Thailand (Formerly Grand China Princess)
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Chinatown / Yaowarat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#115 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#215 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand China Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Grand China Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand China Princess Bangkok
Grand China Princess Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing