We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean but old and worn hotel.”
Review of Grand China Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand China Hotel
Ranked #369 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Clean but old and worn hotel.”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Me and my wife stayed there last December 2012.
The hotel is located in Chinatown, on a main boulevard, which is convenient. It's about 20min away from the Main train station (Hua Lamphong). It seamed reasonably safe walking from the station to the hotel at around 9pm even though the streets were dirty, smelly and filled with weird people selling stuff, sleeping on the curb, cooking or whateva' else. They seamed harmless, but looking back on it I'd recommend getting a Tuk-tuk instead of waling to the hotel.
The hotel is big and once I'm sure it have been a moder and even luxury building, but now, after 18 years of service and almost no renovations it seams a bit worn.
They have this weird rule for a 1000 THB deposit for the room which they give back on check-out. I've seen this elsewhere as well, but it wasn't stated anywhere on our reservation so it was a surprise for us and very inconvenient as well.
Other then that the rooms are big enough, reasonably clean (no bugs at all), but again - very worn.
The room service (the meals) was just ok, but on the good side they had a big screen TV and a security box.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank vDechev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    225
    142
    40
    34
See reviews for
107
217
34
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Grand China after a recommendation from a friend. On first looks it was a great step up from a budget hotel we at previously however it was not in a convenient location and many taxi drivers refuse to drive to the area due to the traffic jams this proved to be very inconvenient and expensive. The bell boys also try to get you to pay extremely high set fairs. Instead if you must stay here ask for a metre taxi only.

The hotel staff were ok. When we arrived they had booked out the room we booked so we had to take a twin before being moved to a double the next day. The staff made it seem like a huge inconvenience however wait and housekeeping staff were friendly and efficient.

There is no free wifi in rooms and is highly expensive if required.
Stay here if you need to be near china town however if you want to see Bangkok sites this is not the hotel for you.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CMHannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

The Grand China Princess is a lovely hotel within vibrant Chinatown. Clean, quiet and modernised to today’s western standards. Massive flatscreens in your well sized room (smart tv’s so you can play your own films if you brought along your USB and connect your camera to watch your today’s footage of Bangkok), daily clean towels and sheets if you desire, a rooftop restaurant and 360 degrees turning skybar (European prices but good sushi) and an excellent indoor massage service. We arrived (01/02/2013) 2 hours prior to check in time and waited on the rooftop, at the small pool. Nobody was there, it was bliss. Yes, the pool area looks rundown and the toilet (one floor up) gave me the sensation of being part of "the Shining" (remember the film?), but I was not expecting a 5 star deluxe, massive swimming pool on the rooftop of a Chinatown hotel. If you bring along some fresh fruit juice, bought along the street, it’s a great place to relax and unwind from the hustle and bustle downstairs and your tiring flight. Plus, with this view, there’s really no need to go to the windy uptown Sirocco. Together with the enormous rainshower and constant supply of hot water, this hotel, for us, was the perfect stay to sleep away our jetlag. We always love to stay in Chinatown, just because of the good eateries on the street (try T&K!!! People always stand in line here since they serve great fish), the closeness to Hualampong station and the busy vibe. Also, the canalboat hub, Ratchawong, is a 5 minute walk around the corner to hop to the royal palace, reclining Buddha, Wat Arun etc. I do agree it’s a pity there is no internet access inside the room, unless you pay THB 500 per day, but if that’s all, why complain? And yes, the beds are very rockhard, but anyone know of a place abroad where mattresses are like home? Last time we were in Bangkok, we stayed at the Shanghai Mansion. We payed twice as much, just for pretty decoration, no flatscreen or inroom internet and more noise. Next time we will definitely stay here again. If you are looking for expat, western style Bangkok, stay in Sukhumvit or Silom, not China town. Looking for Hello Kitty to knock off bags galore on your doorstep? Join the shop till you drop crowds in Chinatown!

Room Tip: We were in 1503, nothing negative to mention. It's on a good floor, quiet and rooms are updated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bo2Netherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penshurst, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Low ceilings, tiny bathrooms (family suite for 4 grown ups share one bathroom perhaps 2mX2m), dirty surroundings (China Town), pool a joke, old wall to wall carpet.

Room size OK. Clean enough. Most staff very friendly.

Ask for a "Tuk Tuk" in the Sky Bar. Very positive experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrisMaria62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

south wales
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Stayed at the grand china princess 2nd -4th jan ,this hotel is idealy situated for exploring the temples ,a short walk to the chao river terminal,and the hustle and bustle of chinatown.
We had a room on the 21st floor (top floor) and the view was unbelievable,
The rooms are clean and tidy ideal hotel for a couple of nights,breakfast was buffet style ,bacon omelette,toast and too much more to mention.
In all a good experience and would stay here again...

Room Tip: room 2102 excellent panoramic views over wat arun and grand palace
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank s999bodsarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Hotel location for a gateaway to the city - great however closest surroundings look bit slummy.
Rooms spacious and offer great view of city if on higher floors - rooms do have panoramic windows.
Rooms clean and tidy. superb service. Staff couldnt do more for you.
The hotel is not grand and cant compete with newer sites but provides good value for money you pay.
Swimming pool is not as big as looks on photos but still offers good views on the city as located on one of top floors on ''fresh'' bangkoks air.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jurek o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Northwest
Level Contributor
196 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Facilities
- old and tired rooms
- air conditioning adequate but requires key card to operate (tip: separate the key from the card so that the room will stay cooled by the air con if your only gone for a short period. 

Location 
- right in Chinatown and central to most of Bangkok's attractions. 
- flower market is 50 baht tuk tuk ride away (5 mins @ 6am)
- DMK airport is 300-350 baht via metered taxi
- BKK airport is 400-450 baht via metered taxi
- Sukhumvit Sol 10 is 200 baht taxi ride or 150 baht tuk tuk ride
- T&k seafood is 5 min walk away (the are the outfit with the green shirts)

Service is hit and miss
- the ladies at the front desk are great
- male staff generally indifferent unless your tipping them. 
- beware of bell boys hailing over priced cabs for you. They got us a 900 baht cab ride to the DMK airport and we told them no thanks. Dumped out luggage immediately and went on to to fleece some other unsuspecting tourist. We hailed a cab ourselves in the street and paid 300 baht.
- housekeeping is adequate with 2 free bottles if water a day (bottles must stay in room) 

Food 
- dined in the revolving restaurant on the last night because it was raining and it was a very average meal. Will not recommend. 

* If your an early bird, there is a night wholesale market that operates from 2-7am each morning right outside the hotel. This is where all the tourist vendors come to shop for their wares. Worth the visit if your a bargain hunter and stay till 8am and watch the streets transform from night to day operations. There are food vendors who service the locals and the food is yummy if your adventures enough.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mattiasdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Chinatown / Yaowarat
Hotel Royal Bangkok at Chinatown
Chinatown / Yaowarat
Chinatown Hotel
Chinatown Hotel
#415 of 858 in Bangkok
199 reviews
Chinatown / Yaowarat
Check Inn Chinatown
Check Inn Chinatown
#434 of 858 in Bangkok
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown / Yaowarat
Prime Hotel Central Station Bangkok
Chinatown / Yaowarat
Miramar Hotel Bangkok
Miramar Hotel Bangkok
#641 of 858 in Bangkok
246 reviews
Chinatown / Yaowarat
Shanghai Mansion Bangkok
Shanghai Mansion Bangkok
#87 of 858 in Bangkok
2,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand China Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand China Hotel

Property: Grand China Hotel
Address: 215 Yaowarat Road | Samphantawong, Bangkok 10100, Thailand (Formerly Grand China Princess)
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Chinatown / Yaowarat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#117 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#219 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand China Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Grand China Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand China Princess Bangkok
Grand China Princess Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing