We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$23
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/11/21
Hotels.com
$23
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/11/21
Agoda.com
$18
View deal
Booking.com$23
Priceline$23
Travelocity$23
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (659)
Filter reviews
666 results
Traveler rating
119
281
172
53
41
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
119
281
172
53
41
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
272 - 277 of 666 reviews
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I really enjoyed our stay at the Grand China. It had an old world feel about it like it would have been very much the grand hotel 30 years ago. Although a bit old and dated now I would rather stay here than a chain 5 star hotel in where you could be in any city in the world. I was there with my husband and 3 young boys 6, 8 and 10 and were in a huge family room which had 2 separate sleeping areas. 1 huge bathroom with big bath and shower. All very clean. We were on the 16th floor with great big windows overlooking the city. We could see the river and bustling markets below. Buffet breakfast was included and was great. We took the kids to the Revolving restaurant on the 25th floor one night and they loved the experience. Very spectacular city lights views. Food was good but overpriced when compared to what cheap alternatives are available but I'm glad we ate there. Other nights we walked along the streets of China Town and literally ate on the pavement at one of the street restaurants. No problem with cabs. The concierge offered to hail us one and made sure he put the meter on for us. 50 THB to the MBK centre (less than $2AUD) - gave him another 50 as a tip seeing it was so cheap. The staff were excellent especially the concierge staff - they were always friendly - saying hi to the kids. One grabbed my 6 yr old when he jumped out of our tour car at the hotel entrance as there was cars going left, right and centre and made sure he was safe. Breakfast staff were lovely. The lady checking off our room no's remembered who we were every morning and gave us a beautiful smile and hello. One of the girls brought my son his hot chocolate over to the table automatically as she remembered him making one the day before. Air-conditioning in the room was great - slept very well in the beds. 2 bar fridges which we filled up with bottled water. Didn't have time to use the pool so i can't comment on that. Diverse mix of nationalities and locals staying there which I loved. We stayed in a lovely resort in Phuket but 9 out of 10 people were Aussies and if you hadn't have left the resort (which of course we did) you could have been on the Gold Coast or Hamilton Island. I have travelled heaps around the world and much prefer character and authenticity when on an adventure holiday which is what this was.
I should add the location wasn't that near any of the tourist attractions but as we had private tours booked every day (see my Thai Tour Guide review - could not recommend highly enough)so it didn't matter.

Room tip: Family room on 16th floor is great. Room 1602 I think - will have to check with the kids!
Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AnneM823
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

BEWARE OF THE LIMO DRIVERS OFFERING TRIPS, CHEAP HOTELS AT AIRPORT AND OVERPRICED TAXI TO AIRPORT, WORKING NEAR THE CONCIERGE. COMPLAINED TO HOTEL AND DID NOT GET A REPLY. DO NOT TRUST THESE PEOPLE.
Apart from this problem i enjoyed my stay at the Grand China princess in Bangkok. The hotel is clean with a great location, The revolving restaurant is worth a visit on the 25th floor and the rooms are clean and spacious. There is a Chinese restaurant on the 1st level which is nice food and cheap.

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul1304
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

This hotel wasn't very nice and nothing like the pictures. The staff were very helpful and did everything they could. Its a very old hotel and we did not feel very safe. Its a shame the pool is so unclean and small as bangkok is a very hot place. Like i said the staff were great but We won't stay again.

Date of stay: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brooke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

It is 2 years since we last stayed at the Grand China.Last year we had to cancel due to the floods.We have been many previous times.
While we received the same good service from all of the staff we were very sad to see the state of the place.Surfaces in the Lobby bar were very dirty and we saw staff just brushing off tables with their hands,not a cloth,as patrons left?There seems to have been little maintenance done over the past couple of years with threadbare cushion covers and the carpets need a good clean.The Coffee Shop still serves great tasty food but the chair covers are a disgrace and my shoes were sticking to the floor in places as we walked around the buffet.This remained the case for 4 days so not much cleaning going on here either!There has been a complete renovation of the Revolving Restaurant ,which is lovely, and it appeared that the 15th floor had been also done(only saw the corridor).I hope they dont stop there.In the past I have been happy to stay because of the location in the heritage area and great shopping in Chinatown,not being put off by old,while it was well looked after and clean.There no longer seems to be that sense of pride in the place and things will have to improve before I would stay again or recommend.Such a shame,not too much Grand about the place any more.

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank famwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

After reading a number of mixed reviews for this hotel we were worried. However, happy to say we very much enjoyed our time at the GCP. We stayed in a family room for a week. While the room and bathrooms were a little tired, they are large and clean. Plenty of room for my two teenagers, and my husband and I loved sleeping in the king size bed. Best thing of all, everything worked - aircon, toilets, tvs, plenty of hot water. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Buffet breakfast was generous and fresh. Great views from the roof. Yes, the pool is a little small but it was clean and for the amount of time we spent in it, met our needs just fine. We loved the location. Easy 10 minute walk to the river and relatively close to everything else. Strongly recommend a visit to the Tiger Temple near Kanchanaburi. But make sure you go in the morning to have breakfast with the monks. That way you will beat the heat and large number of afternoon tourists. Washing, feeding and playing with full grown tigers was amazing. Can't wait to return to Thailand. Will definitely stay at the GCP again.

Room tip: Ask for a room on a higher level to get best views of the city.
Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ctweaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews